We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just some complains!! but a wonderful place....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Akumal
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I liked the overall look and setup of the resort. I have no complains with regards to the location, just that there were enough bugs all around the place. Well that was an issue for me but not for my hubby. The resort had a lovely look overall. The bar tender "Angel" was an awesome guy. He always treated us with a friendly gesture and always had a smile on his face even at midnight. He did a great job!! The guys at the reception were miserable. I believe that except for some staffs many dont bother to keep a good record of their documentation. For some reason they all thought that we were mexicans and obviously if you see it that way, you can imagine the kind of attitude they would have on us. The girls at the buffet always gave us bad looks and would never offer coffee. How can you just look the people and say where they are from?
We had initially booked at Bahia Tulum, but on arrival we were sent to a bedroom with double beds instead of a kingsized bed. Since we arrived almost at midnight we complained the next day about it and as a compensation one girl(i forgot her name) was nice enough to offer us a room in Sien Ka'an with some extras such as, 3 MIN CALL & MEXICAN FIESTA TICKETS). We then accepted it and checked out of Tulum and went to the Sian Ka'an reception to check in. To our surprise we were told to go back to Tulum and check out again since they couldnot find the sheet that girl made us signed. I was so mad you have no clue. I had to argue with that guy and tell that we have already spent a day explaining our situation and finding another room. He then appologised for what had happened and after speaking to his manager sent us to our room. We thought everthing is going to be fine after this but to our surprise we had to speak at the recpetion twice about the "3MINS" phone call they offered!!! They sent us a bill for the free call they offered and we ended up paying for the extra mins i called. Well thats fine. But on the last day of our trip, while checking out the staff at the reception asked me once again to pay for the extra mins of my phone call, i then advised him that we have already paid for it and that too infront his manager. This was something i would never want to go through again!! dealing with such issues are very stressful!!
Everything went well apart from this and to our surprise we even signed up for the privilage club which i believe is not too bad. Just some extra bucks and i hope its well worth it. Lets see on our next vacation.
They had nice shuttle service and it was comfortable travelling in them. The drivers are very friendly and they always start speaking in spanish with us. We then had to explain that we dont speak spanish!! heeh, we just say Hola...
I didnt like the buffet at Sien Kaan. We always went to Coba which was an amazing buffet. Akumal and Tulum were fine as well. I found the employees at all the other places to be much friendly. We loved walking around Tulum especialy Hacienda!!
We did 2 excursions. Chichen and Xplor through xcaretexperiencias.com. We had two guides for the Chichen Itza trip, Manuelle and Carlos and they were two fun people to be with. We loved walking around the place and listening to our guides since me and hubby are both Mayan fans. But then i should say that it was toooo hot and i had to pour 3 bottles of water on my head just to cool me down. Xplor was great!! i hate heights and never go for any rides involving heights. But i went on ziplines!! wow, can you believe that?? i was at first scared to death, but then i did it. the other activites were great too.
We visited all the beaches in the Bahia Principe and had loads of fun. The a la cartes were good. We liked Miako better than anyother restaurants. As mentioned before apart from the annoying management staffs( who failed to keep a proper file system) we liked staying at Bahia and hope we will not experience this in the future since we are now privilage club memebers.....!! This was our honeymoon trip and we loved it!!
Just one more thing i would love to say... please dont try to judge people with their colour... i heard many looking at us and saying "Mexicans" and then starring as though we were aliens... we are brown skinned people from a different part of this planet!! Inbetween We met some really nice and polite dudes as well. As i said before we loved our room, the resort and the shuttle, also the spa!! but i just couldnot stand the behaviour of some folks!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Dear Guest

First of all thank you for trusting in Gran Bahia Principe Hotels & Resort and for choosing us to enjoy your honeymoon trip.

We truly appreciate your comments about your stay in order to continuously improve our service and standards. The comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are very important to maintain the quality at Gran Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an and will be taken into great consideration.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the beach and the a la carte restaurants. And we feel very concerned about your disappointing with some of our services and the perception about our staff, the problems you mentioned are totally under our standards and we have already taken action in order to meet our values again.

The management and staff extend our sincerest apologies for any inconveniences which you may have experienced as a result of the situations you have brought to our attention. You can however rest assured that we will be giving these matters the proper attention and corrective measures where necessary will be applied so as not to have a reoccurrence of such.

Once again thank you for your time and comments, hoping to have a second opportunity in a near future to welcome you again at Gran Bahía Principe Sian Ka’an.

Gracy Manzo Mendoza
Public Relations
Hotel G.B.P. Sian Ka’an

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,541)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,603 - 4,609 of 7,541 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2012

Sian Ka'an is a great resort! It’s a newer resort complex that’s been add to the large family of Grand Bahia Principe. We have seen them all, and Sian ka'an is for me the best of them. If you travel with kids go to Grand Bahia Principe Tulum. If you’re a college student go to Akumal. Has for us, we were a party of 6 adults aged from 35 to 42 traveling without are kids. We mostly spend are night out and days at the beach, so we were septic at first to book at Sian Ka'an, but very please we did. The resort is not directly on the beach but directly on a gulf club. We are not golfer but I could see that golfer must like that place, it’s really nice. The good thing is that you don’t have to golf to enjoy this nice place. The shuttle service for the Sian Ka'an is absolutely fantastic giving you access to a private beach section just for the people of Sian Ka'an. We are beach peoples and loved it! Note that we never had any problem finding nice chairs and that only Sian Ka'an clients gets a private bar, waiters services at the beach and towel service a the beach. Also, special mark shuttle for Sian Ka'an only. Sian Kan'an clients also have access to all others Grand Bahia within the complex but clients from those other Grand Bahia don’t have access to the Sian Ka'an resort, private beach and restaurants. So we party at the others and come home quiet to relax at Sian Ka’an loll...We could go eat in every buffets, every a la cartes (9 restaurants: suggest you pre-reserve before arrival), we could chose to access others beaches in the Grand Bahia complexes always with the express shuttle services from the Sian Ka'an or by small walk for the private Beach. The best beach is Akumal and Sian Ka’an. Akumal being very busy we were happy being on the private cozy beach at Sian Ki’an. There is also a buffet at the beach for Sian Ka'an clients but you can eat anywhere you want. Night Shows are also presented at Sian Ka'an but the bigger shows are at others resorts and are also access by shuttle from Sian Ka'an. So, you pay for one 5 start resort but you can play in 4 (Coba, Tulum, Akumal, Hacienda and Sian Ka’an). The other resorts, I would rate around 4 stars. Akumal is my second best. At the Sian Ka'an the pools are great and quieter. There are activities like aqua form but if you want more action you can go at Akumal. The restaurants and buffets on site at Sian Ka'an were the best for us and we try them all. The food was good everywhere but great at Sian Ka'an. Parties at the gulf club every Wednesday are really fun (lots of Canadians). It could stay open later. It’s a different crowd from Hacienda club so would of been nice to just spend the evening at the club house sometime. Hacienda is a club mix with young to old people, but mostly young. It opens really late, so for us with the time zone (Canada, NB) it was 2h00am at the opening. Nearly the time to go home!! Its would of been nice to go dancing earlier. You can also do all your shopping at Hacienda.

The room and anything’s related from building to décor was great at Sian Ka’an. It’s a new resort so everything’s new. It’s a modern style build in a jungle forest environment.
Over all, we like to try new place so probably won’t go back but if I was to got back again I would chose Sian Ka’an without hesitation. It’s a real 5 stars resort and you get real 5 stars services. I always said the staffs on a resort make a great deal of difference in the quality of a resort. We’ve been to great 5 stars resorts, with nice room and all but because the staff warn friendly, the experience wasn’t that great. Sian Ka’an has great staffs. Everyone from the cleaning service, bartenders, reception, animation, gardeners, cooks, etc…everyone was really nice to us. I was even surprise…I am Acadian, so I normally speak French but I’m fluent in English and understand a bit of Spanish. The guy at check-in heard me talk to my friends in French, so went I got to the counter he served me in French to my great surprise. The nice lady at the restaurant booking also speaks really good French…There were a lot of people from Quebec and Nouveau Brunswick on the beach….and it was great to be in Mexico. Until next time!

Room Tip: Facing the pool if you like sun on you deck, facing jungle if you want shade. Room with spa on grown...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sunyday69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan O, Gerente at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Guest

First of all please receive greetings from the Gran Bahía Príncipe Sian Ka’an; we would like to thank you for trusting in Gran Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts and for choosing us to spend your holidays.

We are grateful for your comments regarding your recent stay with us and appreciate that you have taken the time to give us your feedback on Trip Advisor.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback; it will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the private beach, your room, the transportation service, restaurants and the food & drinks. The most important for us is that you have enjoyed the service of our staff.

We would be delighted to welcome you again at the Riviera Maya!

Sending our warmest regards,

Gracy Manzo Mendoza
Public Relations
Hotel G.B.P. Sian Ka’an

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is a very, very nice resort. The design of the rooms and common areas is upscale and contemporary. Staff are helpful and smiling. Booking a la carte restaurants for supper was fast and easy.
Rooms: the rooms are very classy and the cleaning staff do a great job. We upgraded to a jacuzzi suite and loved having the private jacuzzi as well as the extra space.
Bars: All the bartenders were great.
Entertainment at Night: the entertainment team work hard to make sure you have a good time. The live band plays 6 nights a week and we enjoyed dancing to the wide range of music they played. One night of the week, there is a DJ which the younger crowd preferred and we had a great time too. The entertainment team was there every night encouraging people to join in the fun.
Pools: There are 3 pools and there was usually one that is loud and one that is quiet, so something to suit everyone.
Gym: you have to take a tram to get to the gym at the Tao Wellness Center. This is a remote building in a beautiful jungle setting. We are not the type to use yoga, pilates, meditating etc but for those who do, this would be a real treat. There are gyms on the other resorts that you can use, but a tram is also needed to get to them. A small gym within walking distance would have been appreciated.
Restaurants:
The best restaurant by far was Alux. We went 3 times and the food was always great and the service was better. Thank you to our waiters, Daniel and Roque, for making each meal a true 5 star experience.
We were disappointed with our one meal at Maiko. The room was very cold, the windows were covered with condensation and worst of all, our entrees were luke warm. Service was excellent though.
The buffet restaurant was always good and the service was great. Thanks to Ramon and our other waiters for the many cups of coffee and glasses of wine.

We went to the other Bahia resorts for meals as well.
- Le Gourmet and Don Pablo were great.
- Arlequin was great the first time we went and terrible the second time.
- Tequila had good food and service.
- The Brazilian restaurant was disappointing in terms of food and service.
- At Mikado, the chef cooks at your table. The cooking "show" and the food was very good, but it was a very hot day and all 12 people at our table were sweating, fanning themselves, wiping their faces etc. 12 at a table is crowded. If we had had a little elbow space, the heat might have been more bearable.

Overall this resort can easily transform into a 5 star with a few improvements.
- co-ordinate the music. At one point we were seated in the snack bar which had both piped in music and a live mariachi band, plus we could hear the dance music being played at the nearby the pool.
- cleaning noises. We had gas powered sidewalk cleaning outside our room 2 afternoons in a row. We complained after 2 hours the first day and it was ended soon after. The next afternoon we complained after an hour and were told that the cleaning had to be done and that there was nothing they could do. Our solutionHere's our suggestion - move te cleaning to a different area every half hour. The noise from the machine is very loud and I skipped 2 afternoons of using the jacuzzi because of this.
- inconsistent drink service in the lobby and patio area. A few times we felt invisible as we waited to have our orders taken. At other times the service was fast and friendly.

We would definitely recommend this resort if you are looking for a classy, comtempory getaway. It is quite a quiet resort, so if you are looking for a loud party atmosphere, this is not the resort for you.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Bev D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan O, Gerente at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Dear Guest

First of all please receive greetings from the Gran Bahía Príncipe Sian Ka’an; we would like to thank you for trusting in Gran Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts and for choosing us to spend your holidays.

We appreciate that you have taken the time to give us your feedback on Trip Advisor as your comments are valuable to us in order to continuously improve our service and standards.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your room in the Gran Bahía Principe Sian Ka’an, the pools, the entertainment and our food and drinks. We really appreciate you are mentioning the work of our employees as the quality of our restaurants, it really incentive and encourages us to keep working and improving day by day. We will forward your comments to Daniel, Roque, Ramon and the rest of our team.

Thank you for bringing to our attention your perception about the Maiko restaurant and the other a la carte restaurants, you can however rest assured that we will be giving this matter the proper attention. With regrets to the noise, we always try to maintain our hotel areas very quiet, we regret very much that we could not impress you with some of our services. The management and staff extend our sincerest apologies for any inconveniences which you may have experienced as a result of the situations you have brought to our attention.

We would be delighted to welcome you again at the Riviera Maya!

Sending you my kindest regards,

Gracy Manzo Mendoza
Public Relations
Hotel G.B.P. Sian Ka’an

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Went to Riviera Maya second week in Sept. This resort is part of the Bahia complex. A new hotel which opened in Dec. 2011. We went in the 'rainy' season but - trust me - 1/2 hour heavy rain per day was no problem. The hotel room was beautifully kept and mopped (we stayed in one day while it was being cleaned meticulously for over 1/4 hour). We had a rooftop room and yes, (like one person said) there were dead bugs on the exterior stairs after the heavy rainfall but, they were always swept away before the next time we used the steps. One review said that there was no privacy for the rooftop jacuzzi area. Well, grab a few blue towels from the pool area and - voila - a screen. It's not likely you will be using the tub at the same time as your neighbours anyway.
We used the all inclusive option and felt quite special. The shuttles drove us to specialty restaurants at all four Hotels: Gran Bahia Principe Akumal, Tulum and Coba.The shuttle outside Sian Ka'an drives you to your own private part of the beach with a bar in spitting distance (remember Sian Ka'an is situated across the road from the beach in a very lush area with a beautiful golf course surrounding it but it is a 5 to 10 minute drive to the beach. By the way, we used the shuttle many, many times and did not have to wait for more than 5 minutes. The shuttles even drop you off outside the specialty restaurants - don't be afraid to ask both going and coming back to the hotel. Sian Ka'an has small intimate pools and a bar/snack area in between. A very nice touch when you see people leaving their towels on lounge chairs all day at the other pool locations.
The food at the hotel snack bar was great for lunch. The buffet in the main lobby was always a pleasant variety and most of the restaurants at the other Bahia locations didn't disappoint. We had a lovely massage at Sian Ka'an spa.
One small thing. If you don't like stairs maybe you should book a ground or middle floor. We are an older couple and didn't mind it but if mobility is a problem, then book the ground.
Also, the hotel shuttle will let you off and you can walk a few steps under the bridge, wait for a few minutes maximum, and catch a collectivo (a local shuttle) for a few pesos instead of exhorbitant taxis. Just tell the desk (or the shuttle driver) if you want to go to Tulum or Playa del Carmen and they will sort you out.
If you want to see pyramids, give yourself a treat and go to Ek Balam. We went with a Mormon driver (we're not religious) and he told us all the history and it was well worth the extra dollars.
What a fabulous day we had and you wouldn't believe the carvings that they are uncovering.
Also, in Playa del Carmen I met up with a wonderful man Omar at Artes Taxco Jewelry Av. Constituyentes, Local 2, Lote 5-A Solidaridad 77710. I liked the design of two silver necklaces and he took them apart and put them back together - free of charge - and, I'll add, the jewelry was very, very reasonable.
Loved this trip.......

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bluesurfandsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan O, Gerente at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear guest

First of all we want to thank you for trusting in Gran Bahia Principe Hotels & Resort and for choosing us to enjoy your holidays. We really appreciate you taking the time to send some valuable comments about your stay, the comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are very important to maintain the quality and service in Gran Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an.

It is for guests like you who send some nice words after their holiday, that our staff finds every day the motivation and energy to keep working with a big smile. We are very happy to heart that you enjoyed your room, the food and the shuttle services, thanks for appreciating the hard work of our employees.

We hope we can repeat this wonderful experience in the near future; it was our pleasure to be at your service!

We thank you also for recommending our hotel and for advice all our future guests. It will be wonderful to welcome you again and give you the good service you already know.

Kindest regards from the Riviera Maya,

Gracy Manzo Mendoza
Public Relations
Hotel G.B.P. Sian Ka’an

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I ended up going to GBP Sian Ka'an because I was searching online for the greatest value I could get for the lowest price in the entire Riviera Maya. I stumbled upon this hotel and the reviews seemed fantastic. In low season (mid-Sept), a single occupancy room was about $80, cheaper than I've paid before in less impressive Mexican hotels without the all-inclusive. I thought the all-inclusive would be a good option for a first entirely solo trip (I've spent parts of trips alone before but never from start to finish).
I think the biggest testament that I did enjoy my stay there very much is that I'm booked to go again at the end of November. I convinced 3 other people to follow and maybe the best review I can offer is what I told them were the pros and cons of GBP Sian Ka'an.
Pros
Very quiet
None of that towel-nonsense. (We've all been to those AIs where you have to watch your towel like a hawk, worrying that someone would take it and be stuck with the fee). You want a towel, you take a towel. You want 2, you take 2. (Sidenote: clients of Sian Ka'an, don't be so lazy, please toss your towels in the hampers when you are done, don't leave them on the chairs all laid-out, giving the impression you are still using the loungers.)
Private section on the beach with quality loungers. Always a spot in the shade (at least in low season). Bar service at your chair.
Quality food in the buffet (caviar, smoked salmon, shrimp, always with a nice presentation. Some of the best food I've ever had in an AI).
Wifi broadcasting through most of the complex. Rarely down when I was there.
Premium brand drinks. Lots of choice. Great coffee.
Slippers and robes in the room
Room service
First Caribbean hotel I ever go to that does not smell a bit humid and moldy (I imagine because it's almost brand new).
Access to many restaurants in the GBP complex. Trolley transportation everywhere.
SK clients can go everywhere but other GBP clients cannot come to Sian Ka'an.

Cons
Far from the beach, but there are very frequent trolleys - never waited more than 5 minutes. (In reality, you end up walking a lot less as you are dropped off a few feet from the beach loungers and the SK part itself is quite compact.)
No bathtub. Could be a downside for some.
Almost no animation (not a downside for me)
A bit of rocks in the water (but nothing that could not be avoided and they were actually working very hard to remove them).
A little bit of bugs in the open air lobby at night. There are also some strange sounds coming from the surrounding jungle (which were more interesting than a downside for me).
1h15 from the airport (book a private transfer with USA transfers or a shuttle -if you are traveling solo like me - at BestDay.)

Looking forward to going back, with company this time. This place is great for people who like quiet, sophisticated, relaxing AIs. Probably not your best choice if you like a lively place with loads of poolside action to party it up. The clientele was mostly 30-60, couples. The ride to the beach was much less of a bother than I expected it to be, I actually enjoyed the rides, the friendly and sometimes singing drivers, saw animals, cooled down. Staff at GBPSK really seem to be happy to work there and the star amongst them is Claudia. Now here's someone who is fantastic at her job (I should know, I sort of do the same thing!). The service is excellent here.

Hasta pronto!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gaspezee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan O, Gerente at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Dear Guest

First of all thank you for trusting in Gran Bahia Principe Hotels & Resort and for choosing us to enjoy your holidays.

We really appreciate you taking the time to send some valuable comments about your stay with us. The comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are very important to maintain the quality at Gran Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the beach, food and drinks during your stay and really appreciate you mentioning our staff, it really incentives and encourages them to keep working and improving every day, we will forward your comments to Claudia and the rest of our staff.

It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you again at the end of November with your friends!

Sending you kind regards from the Mexican Caribbean,

Gracy Manzo Mendoza
Public Relations
Hotel G.B.P. Sian Ka’an

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed here for a week at the end of September and can't say enough good things about the Sian Ka'an.

It's becoming adults only November 1 and we're pretty excited about that. At a mega resort, there needs to be ONE place where adults can QUIETLY relax without putting up with parents who do not control their children. Unsupervised 6 year olds cruising the buffet is never a good thing.

We'll be back!!!

Yes, the Sian Ka'an is across the highway from the beach, but the frequent trolleys take care of that. Sian Ka'an has its own a la carte restaurants that serve outstanding food, and their buffet is clearly the best I've ever experienced at perhaps 10 all inclusive resorts.

The food.....ohhhh yessss....the food!!! Pardon me if my photos focus on food, but it was so outstanding that I couldn't stop myself.

Their staff is also outstanding and friendly.

There are also no towel games. The Sian Ka'an has its own reserved section of the beach with its own bar and serving staff. We showed up at the beach after lunch several times and had no trouble getting lounges under a palapa. In fact, if you are away from your chair for a few hours, expect the staff to collect your towels so someone else can have your chairs. YEAHHHHHHH!!

So, if you want an adults only experience, with a fabulous beach and great food, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gent47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan O, Gerente at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Dear Guest

First of all thank you for trusting in Gran Bahia Principe Hotels & Resort and for choosing us to enjoy your holidays.

We really appreciate you taking the time to send some valuable comments about your stay at our hotel. The comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are very important to maintain the quality at Gran Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an and will be taken into great consideration.

It is an honor to hear that you really enjoyed your holidays and that we could fulfill your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you once again at Gran Bahía Príncipe Sian Ka'an!

Best regards from México,

Gracy Manzo Mendoza
Public Relations
Hotel G.B.P. Sian Ka’an

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

My husband and I visited the GBP Sian Ka’an from September 30th to October 7th. We were there to golf and to celebrate our 22nd anniversary. We are a couple in our late 40s. This is our third visit to the GBP complex. We picked Sian Ka’an mainly because of the golf course right across the resort. My husband played the course when we stayed at the GBP Tulum 1 ½ years ago and he was very impressed. As a non golfer who enjoys being close to the beach I was a bit hesitant to book this resort. However I had read positive reviews on the new resort and wanted to try it at least once. After spending a week at the resort I can confidently say that I would go back to the resort without hesitation.

Grounds-The resort is beautiful and well maintained. I loved that the resort is in the jungle. I saw many different animals and exotic bugs. I was glad to have packed mosquito repellent as the rain brought out the mozzies in droves.

Room- We had a third floor suite with a roof top Jacuzzi facing the jungle. Although we did not get a chance to use the Jacuzzi, we liked our private patio for reading and lounging. From our windows we looked out on to the tops of trees and we felt like we lived in a tree house. The suite was spacious and bright. The bathroom was functional and adequate. I found the mattress to be too firm for my liking. I requested a mattress topper after the first night and the topper made a big difference to my comfort level. Our minibar was almost restocked daily. On the days that the minibar was not restocked a quick call to the front desk solved the problem.

Service- Two weeks before we arrived I email Claudia with my a la carte requests and room preference. Claudia emailed me back promptly and confirmed my dinner reservations and acknowledged my room preference (understandably room preference is not guaranteed). We really appreciated the service given prior to our arrival. During our stay we were continually surprised by the excellent service we received by almost everyone. The service at the a la carte restaurants was outstanding (at Sian Ka’an as well as the rest of the complex). Our waiters were attentive and the manager came by often to make sure our wines were topped off and that we were enjoying our meal. The front desk staff although not overly friendly was professional and efficient. I called the front desk a few times with some minor issues and the issues were taken cared of quickly. The beach is the only place where I thought the service was lacking. The bartender seemed uninterested and beach service was rare and inconsistent. We tip for good service and we went through a lot of tip money because the service was that good.

Food- We had dinners at Alux (twice), Maiko, Don Pablo, Le Gourmet, and Dolce Vita. There wasn’t a meal that we did not enjoy. The food was well prepared and delicious. Our salads were fresh and crisp and our soups came piping hot and flavourful. We noted that our steaks were always cooked to our desired doneness. Our seafood was fresh and tasty. My husband tasted many desserts and the only one he did not really care for was a tapioca dessert at Maiko. The apple tart and the chocolate dessert at Don Pablo are must haves!

Drinks- My husband drinks red wine and I drink white wine. My husband found the red house wine to be drinkable while I did not care for the house white wine. I stuck to the house sparkling wine all week. There are 2 types of house sparkling wine- one is dry and one is on the sweet side. We found the blended and mixed drinks to be good.


Golf course- The golf course is the reason why we picked this resort over others. My husband has golfed at courses that are a lot more expensive and are not as nice. He golfed 8 rounds in 7 days and would have golfed more if it wasn’t for rainy periods. He brought his own clubs and plenty of balls. Each round cost him $65 US for the “golf cart”. I met him after his golf rounds a couple of times for drinks in the club house (part of the all inclusive for Sian Ka”an guests). He plans to organize a buddies golf trip to this course next year. Hopefully the golf course continues to keep the “golf cart” fee reasonable.

Beach- The Sian Ka’an section is quite nice. The loungers are new and comfortable. The palapas offer a lot of shade. Unfortunately the nearby sand whales in the water (especially in front of GBP Tulum)are unsightly. The water was surprisingly calm for two days and we were able to take the kayak out.

Tao Wellness Centre- This facility is in real estate development around the golf course. Instead of waiting for the trolley I often just walked there as it only took 10 minutes. The workout equipments are in good working order. From Monday to Saturday there is a yoga or meditation class from 8-9AM and a high energy class such as boot camp or zumba from 9-10AM. These classes are free to guests of the GBP complex. I took a very fun boot camp workout class with Renee. Renee has a lot of personality and energy. He helped me burn off a few calories. The facility is a great additional amenity.

We had a very pleasant vacation at GBP Sian Ka’an. We felt the GBP has really stepped up their game in terms of quality of food and service. Any minor issues were dealt with promptly without inconvenience to us. Although the resort is not on the beach, the positives of the resort out weigh this one negative aspect. The resort will only get better when it becomes adult only next month. Now that we’ve experienced Sian Ka’an we will not stay at the 3 sisters resorts anymore. We will recommend the resort to friends and family without hesitation. We will continue to try new resorts but we will definitely visit GBP Sian Ka’an again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Soarfarandwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan O, Gerente at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Dear Guests:

First of all thank you for trusting once again in Gran Bahia Principe Hotels & Resort and for choosing us to celebrate your 22nd anniversary!

We really appreciate you taking the time to send some valuable comments about your stay with us. The comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are very important to maintain the quality at Gran Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an.

It is for guests like you who send us some nice words after their holiday, that our staff finds every day the motivation and energy to keep on the good work.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the food and drinks, the golf course and the beach at our hotel. Thank you for bringing to our attention your perception about the service at the beach bar, you can however rest assured that we will be giving this matter the proper attention.

We hope to welcome you back at your second home at the Riviera Maya.

Best regards,

Gracy Manzo Mendoza
Public Relations Social Media
Hotel G.B.P. Sian Ka’an

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akumal hotels
2.2 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
6.5 mi away
UNICO 20.87 Hotel Riviera Maya
0.9 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
0.8 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
5.8 mi away
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection

Address: Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250, Mexico | Cancun Km 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Akumal
#2 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#5 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#5 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
Price Range: $204 - $442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 4 outdoor pools (1 with Jacuzzi) Sun terrace with loungers and sun umbrellas BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Transfer to the beach and other facilities on the complex (at set times) Water activity centre, Beach Club with exclusive bar (at the Grand Principe Tulum) Motorised water sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby and in rooms (free of charge) 1 international buffet restaurant 2 speciality restaurants 4 Bars 1 snack-bar Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, natural wells and Mayan forest. Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and disco. Rooms 420 rooms including 4 types: Junior Suite, Deluxe Junior Suite, Deluxe Garden Junior Suite, Deluxe Penthouse Junior Suite. Deluxe Garden Junior Suites and Deluxe Penthouse Junior Suites are larger than the Junior Suites and the Deluxe Junior Suites. Room facilities: King size bed or 2 full size beds Air conditioning Ceiling fan Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Sitting area with sofa-bed and armchairs Balcony or terrace Bathroom with shower, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Bathroom amenities Bathrobe and slippers Don Pablo Collection amenities Alarm clock with iPod docking station Flat screen TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe Iron and ironing board 24 hour room service Butler service in rooms Private Jacuzzi Wifi (free of charge) Pillow menu Aroma menu Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings and anniversaries, as well as corporate incentive trips and conventions Casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with KIPPIN S.A Lussemburgo Cadempino Branch, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Sian Ka`An Golf Resort And Spa
Gran Bahia Principe Sian Ka`An Golf Hotel Akumal
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'An Don Pablo Collection Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing