We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Akumal
Reviewed December 27, 2011

You need to visit the GBP Sian Ka'an. My husband and I have been traveling throughout Mexico for the past 27 years and our December vacation there exceeded all expectations. We stayed in one of the penthouse suites of the condo-hotel and everything was fabulous - extremely roomy, very comfortable and tastefully decorated. There are no elevators on site, which we originally thought would be a negative but actually it proved to be a positive for us as we needed the exercise.

The food at all of the Sian Ka'an restaurants including the buffet is gourmet. The presentation is divine, the selection is awesome and the food is unbelievably tasty. The array of desserts is out of this world.

The best part about the Sian Ka'an is that it is rather small in size but definitely offers fringes that you won't find at comparable resorts. First of all, there is no problem walking to any place within the resort. The hotel personnel and wait staff are superlative - they are unusually friendly, accommodating and focused on pleasing. All in all, they make you feel very special. Oscar and Luis and the remaining Activities Team members are unquestionably the very best. They have an indescribable but distinguishable charm about each of them that makes one feel like part of the activities family. I'm sending a zillion kudos their way!

When you stay at the Sian Ka'an, you have extended privileges to the other three GBP related hotels. The hotels are not within walking distance so you travel by tram or shuttle. I read some negative comments about the availability of these trams but I can tell you from direct experience that they run continually and are always available within just a few minutes. After preliminary exploration of the related hotels, I found that the very best property was the Sian Ka'an in all respects. It offers a beautiful and intimate environment, excellent lodging, delectable food, outstanding service and an A Team to embrance you.

Room Tip: I recommend the condo-hotel rooms. The penthouse with the jacuzzi is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank St_MarysOhioSusanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,529)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,938 - 4,944 of 7,529 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2011

It’s hard to find any fault with the GBP Sian Kaan. We were there last January/February, just after the first phase was opened, and were anxious to see the changes. We were greeted by a large new lobby, over three times the number of rooms, more facilities and services, and the same great people running it all.

The Sian Kaan is not your typical Mexican resort. It is more refined, luxurious, and has an exclusive feel to it. No grass thatch lobbies and orange walls. Instead you have flat roofs and a white and dark wood colour theme. And they’ve tried to address any small irritants you might have with all-inclusive (AI) resorts.

- Hate playing the 'towel game'? There is a reserved section of the beach with plenty of room and a dedicated bar; no towel game necessary!
- Worried about losing and having to pay for that towel? No problem, the towels are not rationed – just walk up and grab one, or two, or three.
- Don’t care for buffets? Well, you have unlimited a la cartes. Two great restaurants on site and eleven more in the rest of the complex.
- Worried about getting cheap drinks? The Sian Kaan has a large list of premium drinks available at no extra cost (although some you still have to pay for). Bailey's on ice…yum!
- Get the shakes when you don’t have access to the Internet? The whole resort has wireless (at the time we were there they were having problems with the room wifi, but the pools and lobby worked fine).
- Don’t care for the loud music and animation crew trying to talk you into the balloon popping, belly flop or hairiest chest contests? This animation crew is more into yoga, stretching, or just chatting (although the Zumba lesson is loud and popular). In the evenings you’ll find them wandering the lobby and the Terazzo (the adjoining patio) in evening wear, just visiting with people.

And what if you like the loud music, the partying, and the contests? No problem. They are just a short tram ride away and you have access to it all. Have breakfast at the buffet where you don’t have to stand in line for an omelet or scramble for the bacon, then take a tram and hang out at the Akumal beach, then go to the Gran Tortuga or Don Pablo for dinner, the Michael Jackson show at Tulum, then return for a quiet drink and discussion about the day. And if you just want a quiet read by the pool – you have five small pools to choose from, all with bar service.

Really, the only thing missing from the Sian Kaan is the ocean views and sound of the surf. As the Sian Kaan is a fair way from the beach (other side of the highway over a bridge and up a hill), you'll usually want to take a tram to get to it. Fortunately it runs very often (supposedly every 5 minutes, although sometimes they get bunched together and it can be sooner or later).
The only complaint we would have is that if you have friends in other parts of the complex they can’t come to the Sian Kaan for drinks or dinner. We have friends who prefer to be at the Akumal area of the complex, and because we can’t have them up to the Sian Kaan we usually end up spending time at their resort. An opportunity to have guests would surely be appreciated.

We’re already talking about our next visit, and the things we didn’t get around to doing this time. A big thanks to Claudia, Juan, Patricia, the animation team (Jocelyn, Krista, Claudia, Luis and Oscar), Amelia (omelet maker extroardinaire) and everyone else for a vacation we’ll remember for a long time to come!

Room Tip: There are large villas (1-9 and 15-20) and small villas. The rooms are nicer in the large villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
35  Thank RobS56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2011

I just got back from my vacations, stayed in Sian Ka'an for 8 nights in mid - late December 2011.

Tour was sold to me as "Junior Suite". Also it was mentioned many times that Sian Ka'an is a quiet place, wich is exactly what I was looking for.

To my dismay "Suite" happened to be a studio, about a size of average room in Motel 6, may be smaller. It was also about half of size of "standard accomodations" in which I stayed during my September 2011 trip to Yukatan, in a different resort in Riviera Maya. No hot tub either. I am not sure what marketing manager thinks when he/she puts "Suit" in description, even if it is "Junior".

Just for their education here is a standard definition of what suit is:

suite - apartment consisting of a series of connected rooms used as a living unit (as in a hotel)

Very little space, curtains and faucets are very clumsy. Bed is hard.

"Quiet" promise lasted for one day. On thirsday three football teams arrived to the premises and stayed there for all weekend. 100 teenagers roaming hotel grounds made it very noisy. Also, I had to walk to reception one night and talk to them, since there was a very loud party going on under my window till 4:00 AM. I could not tolerate any longer. Ended up with head ache and sleepless night.

Tram transportation works OK, but when there are extra 100 youngsters on the ground, it happened more than once, that I had no space on the tram and had to wait, sometimes 20 minutes. When it is raining, trams also tend to be late.

Last time I sayed in Playa del Carmen and beach there is significantly better. Beach on this property suffered from catastrophic hurricane few years ago and lost quite a bit of sand. If you are not a swimmer, staying on the shore is fine. Water though very shallow, barely to your waist.. lots of corals so watch your steps.

If size of accomodation is not an issue, if you are fine with hard mattress and noisy environment, if you do not mind waiting for the tram to get to the beach and rather stay on the sand than swim - this may be great option for you. Price of package is very attractive, you will pay extra 25% for similar accomodations elsewhere.

Staff is very friendly. Very friendly, and eager to help.

Enslish speakers might find it difficult to convey exactly what they want to say if it goes beyond daily rutine. Seems like Rivera Maya can not produce good English speaking personnel fast enough... but it should change, people learn fast there.

Food in Sian Ka'an is better than in other hotels on the property. In fact it may be even better than in A La Carte restaruants. Bar serves premium drinks for free, other hotels will charge you 4-7 dollars per such a drink. Chivas Regal, Jim Bim, Cuantreau, 1800 anjos, to mention a few, premium brands available at no charge.

Property maintained flawlessly. Hotel manager, entertainment manager etc will make sure that they will do everything they can to make and keep you happy. Barman Carlos Santana (just a namesake, not the guitar player :o) is very engaging and makes his drinks strong and tasty.

If marketing subdivision will stop promoting inflated expectations and owners will keep noisy youngsters away, they should have no problem with negative or neutral feedbacks.

Wish best to this property

Room Tip: Stay away from pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Victor U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

The new Sian Kaan hotel is amazing, My new bride and I stayed there, along with about 100 of our guests. We could not have picked a more wonderful place to host our wedding or spend our vacation. The hotel staff were excellent and helped us with everything that we needed. We stayed in a Penthouse Suite and enjoyed the rooftop terrace and used the jacuzzi every morning. The views from the terrace are amazing, the perfect place to enjoy your morning coffee. The hotel has a buffet and 2 specialty restaurants, we ate in the Japanese steak house the first night and enjoyed it very much. The Alux was our favorite however, the food rivals any 5 star restaurant in the world ( I know that sounds rediculous at an all inclusive resort but it is true). That being said, you could eat in the buffet for every meal and be perfectly happy. The food was absolutely amazing. This is very important to us, when going to an all inclusive resort, I am always scared that the food will be horrible and that is as far from the reality in Sian Kaan. The hotel staff was also amazing, being that it was the second week of operation, they were definitely having issues and were extremely stressed but they never let it show. We had a million requests between the wedding and our guests and they took care of them immediately.
The waiters in all of the restaurants were fabulous and after 2 days they know you by name and have your drink order memorized. Another benefit that we did not know we had is that you can use all of the other facilities and restaurants at the other 3 hotels on the property as well. I would recommend the Sian Kaan to anyone, the perfect place to vacation or get married!!!!

Room Tip: We had friends stay in every room option and you can't go wrong with any of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WJR823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2011

Imagine our surprise when several football teams of young adolescents showed up for a few days. Special rate to fill rooms? What a zoo! You should have seen them hit the buffett en mass! And yes they did all the things kids are supposed to do. The person in management responsible for this mess should be replaced at once. The owners of the units should demand it. Kids with their families are one thing -- but kids football teams?

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank gmackplus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

We were there the first week of December, 2011, during the grand opening. We had a marvelous time, and recommend the resort highly. The service was outstanding, and special praise goes to the assistant manager Claudia, Xenon the buffett manager, and Oscar and Luiz from the animation team.

The architecture is very minimalist and modern, with a cool color palette that relies mainly on white. The rooms are simple, large, and comfortable. Our only complaint - that the air conditioning made a loud 'thunk' each time it came on. The ground floor rooms have a nice outdoor area with a jacuzzi, but won't offer much privacy until the foliage grows in a bit.

The buffet was stunning - imagine bite-size morsels laid out as a work of art. It was some of the best food we've ever tasted. Most proteins were cooked to order, and the selection of dishes was wide. The desserts tasted as good as they looked (unusual in our book), and the service was outstanding.

The pools are small, relaxing, and quiet, and there's plenty of interesting wildlife.

We are not golfers but beach enthusiasts. The shuttles to the beach were frequent, and dropped us off steps from the beach in less than 10 minutes. The 'Sian Ka'an beach' is located in front of the dive shop between Tulum and Akumal, very near the dolphin area. The ocean there has a sandy entry access, and the lounge chairs are much nicer than the ones at Tulum or Akumal, which are showing their age. Feeding the fish was lovely - drop just one bread crumb in the clear, clear water, and suddenly hundreds of angelfish were swarming, bumping into your legs like cats. The sand whales are great to sit on, and hunting for shells was fun, although you have to watch out for having your ankles bashed by chunks of coral coming in with the waves.

A snack bar is being constructed which will make the experience at the Sian Ka'an beach even better. We tried the nearby lunch buffet at La Tortuga, found it almost inedible, and opted to return to Sian Ka'an most days for lunch.

We are no experts on dolphins, but it did seem that the dolphin pool was on the small side. We thought the loud music seemed cruel to the dolphins as well as the humans.

The entertainment at Sian Ka'an needs some upgrading - night after night of the same singers singing the same songs got old fast.

We ate at a la carte restaurants every night, and had positive experiences in all of them. If you enjoy quiet luxury, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
27  Thank ATLgetaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2011

Gran Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an, was an amazing Hotel/Suites, we happened to book the Upper floor room with the Jacuzzi terrace. It is a new development and the rooms were ample, in a very modern and minimalistic style, surrounded by luscious forest and a beautiful Golf Course. It was secluded and quiet and had its own private Restaurant. The all inclusive option was great since we could play at all four Hotels: Gran Bahia Principe Akumal, Tulum and Coba, you could eat on every restaurant and use the pools and the beach and all the amenities. The only down fall was the food, you had to make reservations in advance and the food was ok, a little bland and the drinks very watery but overall it was worth the money. Transportation was provided by small trams every ten minutes and you could reach any part of the resort without walking. The entertainment was also good at the Hacienda a sort of shopping plaza with two bars and a disco. They had a band that played almost every night after nine and before they had different venues: Mexican Fiesta, electric Bull riding…etc. The resort grounds were spotless and well kept. Most employees were attentive and cordial but sometimes you could encounter some that were not so friendly or should I say, shy? Overall it was a wonderful experience. Don’t miss the Akumal Bay Natural Preserve where you will be able to rent snorkel equipment right at the diving shop and swim with the turtles, it will save you a pretty penny, you can reach it by taxi or by local bus is not too far from the hotels. Also visit the Cenotes or natural fresh water pools, there are many around the area, always to the left of the main highway on the opposite side of the Beach, visited the Cenote Azul, it was an amazing experience, of course don’t dare miss Tulum and the Mayan ruins, take your swim suit and go down to the beach, you will never encounter a sea with so many shades of blue anywhere.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank tmant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akumal hotels
2.2 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
6.5 mi away
UNICO 20.87 Hotel Riviera Maya
0.9 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
0.8 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
5.8 mi away
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection

Address: Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250, Mexico | Cancun Km 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Akumal
#2 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#2 Family Hotel in Akumal
#5 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#5 Spa Hotel in Akumal
Price Range: $197 - $438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 4 outdoor pools (1 with Jacuzzi) Sun terrace with loungers and sun umbrellas BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Transfer to the beach and other facilities on the complex (at set times) Water activity centre, Beach Club with exclusive bar (at the Grand Principe Tulum) Motorised water sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby and in rooms (free of charge) 1 international buffet restaurant 2 speciality restaurants 4 Bars 1 snack-bar Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, natural wells and Mayan forest. Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and disco. Rooms 420 rooms including 4 types: Junior Suite, Deluxe Junior Suite, Deluxe Garden Junior Suite, Deluxe Penthouse Junior Suite. Deluxe Garden Junior Suites and Deluxe Penthouse Junior Suites are larger than the Junior Suites and the Deluxe Junior Suites. Room facilities: King size bed or 2 full size beds Air conditioning Ceiling fan Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Sitting area with sofa-bed and armchairs Balcony or terrace Bathroom with shower, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Bathroom amenities Bathrobe and slippers Don Pablo Collection amenities Alarm clock with iPod docking station Flat screen TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe Iron and ironing board 24 hour room service Butler service in rooms Private Jacuzzi Wifi (free of charge) Pillow menu Aroma menu Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings and anniversaries, as well as corporate incentive trips and conventions Casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, KIPPIN S.A Lussemburgo Cadempino Branch, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Sian Ka`An Golf Resort And Spa
Gran Bahia Principe Sian Ka`An Golf Hotel Akumal
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'An Don Pablo Collection Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing