We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of both world!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best of both world!”
Reviewed April 26, 2011

We stayed the week of April 16th - 23rd and had a wonderful trip. I was a bit worried since we were not right on the water but it ended up not being an issue at all. The rooms where beautiful and staff was very friendly. We would go to the buffet at 7am, then take the shuttle to the beach of the day since we have plenty to choose from. The shuttles where always coming and going so it was not an issue to get around at all. We had A La Cartes everynight and all of them where really good. Overall you get the best of both world as you are staying in a quiet and very modern resort and if you feel like doing the nightlife, you get the shuttle and go over to Coba, Akumel or the Tulum for some entertainment. For us, it was just a very relaxing week which is exactly what we went there for. I highly recommend this resort!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank CZR1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,988 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,979
    1,428
    411
    98
    72
See reviews for
666
4,974
102
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,771)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2011

My spouse and I enjoyed a wonderful week at the Sian Ka’an March 22-29, 2011.
The complex is so new, it’s still under construction. The sleek, modern white structures are framed perfectly by the lush tropical landscaping and azure sky.
Our suite featured a large bedroom and living room ( ~600 sq. ft.) flooded with natural light. A king-sized bed with crisp linens, a body-cradling mattress topper and high end pillows - soft on one side and firmer on the other - were highlights of the bedroom, while the living room featured a pullout sofa, natural wood table and counter with sink and mini-fridge. Stairs led to the rooftop terrace that boasted a huge two person Jacuzzi perfect for gazing at the dazzling starlit sky while enjoying a nightcap.
The Oasis, the complex’s restaurant, was truly that - a perfect place to relax and refresh with delicious food and impeccable service. Our servers were so thoughtful and attentive. After learning that I liked coconut ice cream, Severino made sure that I was treated with some for my birthday later in the week.
The Oasis overlooks the complex’s pool that is surrounded by plenty of chaises with umbrellas and drink service is provided in the afternoon. We enjoyed the pool tremendously as it was quiet and peaceful - perfect for a late night dip or sunrise bird watching session.
The lobby is small making checking in and out a breeze. The lobby bartenders and the bellmen are wonderful as well, providing excellent drinks and service. Jose even gave us a private ride to the beach our first day showing us a portion of the GBP mega resort that is across the bridge.
As guests of Sian Ka’an, we enjoyed 24 hour room service, a free digital safe and were able to pre-book a la cartes every night of our stay. We graciously dined at Dolce Vita, Frutos Del Mar, Mikado, Don Pablo, Le Gourmet and Arlequin, which was by far our favorite with both excellent food and service, a truly memorable experience!
Overall, our vacation at the Sian Ka’an was delightful! Some people may not like it’s distance from the beach, main resort activities or airport, the bright rooms, tile floors or the construction, but for us it was a perfect fit - luxurious and intimate with easy access to the rest of GBP as desired. Absolutely fabulous trip to paradise!

Room Tip: The Penthouse Jacuzzi Suite is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank mydogislovely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkins, West Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2011

Just got back from a week at the Gran Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an and loved every minute of it. The hotel is located on the opposite side of the highway from its sister resorts Coba, Akumal and Tulum, so it is smaller,quieter and mellower. The grounds were beautiful, the restaurant the best and the staff very friendly. From my check-in with Ricardo who set me up with my restaurant reservations, to Rosana who cleaned my room, and the staff at the Oasis Restaurant (Luis, Gabriel, Delin and all the others) it was a great getaway. I never had to wait long for a shuttle to the other resorts and had full access to their beaches, pools, bars, restaurants and night life. Definitely the best of both worlds.

I've seen some reviews complain about the construction noise, and yes there is construction going on, but it didn't bother me. I still found it to be very peaceful around the pool and on my patio. If you want to focus on the construction noise and let it bug you, feel free. Otherwise, enjoy the sun, the fun and incredible food at the Oasis and relax.

I definitely plan on going back sooner than later and would recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wvfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2011

This was my second time to the ran Bahia Principe property. Last year I stayed in Akumal, this was my first time to Sian Ka'an and I will return. Yes, this property is under construction, which has both pros and cons. Pros, there aren’t a lot of guests. There was always space at the pool (even though there are a few chairs) and always dining space. The con, well the obvious, noise. So, bring your ipod when you lay at the pool. There was some noise in the morning, but not too early. More annoying than the construction noise in the morning was the lack of black out curtains. At 5 am the sun comes streaming in… On vacation I’d rather the sun wake me up around 10 or 11. But, on vacation I’m looking for the sun, so c’est la vie.

True, the trams are necessary for going to different parts of the resort. If you want to be in the hustle and bustle of the activities, don’t stay here. If you want a slow, Caribbean pace and can relax and go with the flow, consider Sian Ka'an. Because there’s no dinner buffet, you have the option of going to an Al Carte every night. This is typically considered a plus because at the other hotels on the property you get 3 for every 7 days you are there. Remember, you can in fact eat at a buffet for dinner, you just need to travel (yes, by tram) to get there.

The property is beautiful, the staff is extremely helpful (if you are polite and not condescending), and the food is decent (depending on where you eat on the property it can be great) what more are you looking for at this price point. If you want to slow down (and if you are the type of person who can slow down), give it a try. If you are looking for up paced, constant music and entertainment don’t stay here.


My only complaint for the entire property are the smokers… Please remember non smokers are at the pools, riding the trams, and beaches too… Try to stay down wind and properly dispose of your butts.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
18 Thank safephd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2011

What a great week at Gran Bahia. All high points; access to all three resorts, a la carte restaurants each night; classy and savoury, all day buffets; fresh tasting with great variety, trolley express runs to get around, personnel courteous and super friendly.
Special mention to Jean Luc Noel. To quote him " I tell my people here to never say no
to any of our guests' requests". Looking forward to returning back.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
10 Thank p_marco16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2011

Our expectations were far exceeded! So glad we contacted Claudia (Mgr Sian Ka'an)before our arrival as she made our check in and stay smooth and worry free...booked all our tee times (12), a la carte restaraunts (8) for us and was so helpful during our entire stay. Many thanks to all the staff for thier kindness and making us feel so welcome every day. This was definately the highlite of our holiday, getting to know and interacting with the people (staff) who work so hard that we might enjoy our holiday.
Mucho Gracias Claudia, Roger, Clara, Enrique, Ricardo, Severiano, Maria, Arturo, Camaliel, Juan, Gabriel, Carlos, Hose,
Open up and get to know the other guests and before you know it you will find yourself in one big party and will really enjoy your holiday. After all don't we really want to enjoy our few weeks off a year?
Try all the restaraunts as we did... but we kept coming back to the Oasis, loved the tempura vegetables, the Chilean wine (Vino Tinto) is very good too, not to mention the incredible service.
Golf course was very good (rangers keep play moving along fairly well), Sian Ka'an is very quiet at night (for sleeping) Property immaculately clean, Wifi worked very good in room, pool and lounge areas. Pretty hard to find any complaints at all.
One thing that impressed us was the security around the Bahia properties the company has invested heavily in security personnel and believe me there is ALWAYS security within sight and sound to make you feel safe.
Lots of future plans in the works for Sian Ka'an and hope it doesn't get too pricey as we would like to give it another go next year !!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Beachpartie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2011

We stayed at the Sian Ka'an from February 14th to 21st. We arrived late at night, check-in was a breeze and took less than 5 minutes. We had booked a Penthouse suite and it was well worth the extra. The room was beautiful! Clean and simple design, confortable bed, big shower. I was worried about the construction going on the site, but the noise if far away, or done in hours you are usually outside the complex.

The pool area is very quiet and adjacent to the only restaurant "The Oasis", you can have breakfast, lunch and dinner there. Food is excellent, although choice is limited compared to the other big buffets at the Coba, Akumal and Tulum complexes. On the upside the dishes are always topped up quickly and cleaned.

Waiters also come frequently to the pool to serve drinks, since the only bar in in the main loby. We did not want to stay in a big complex, When you stay at the Sian Ka'an, you have the best of both worlds, if you want a quiet place, if you want some action, just take one of the shuttles and 5-10 minutes later you are in Gran Bahia Principe Tulum,Coba or Akumal.
Shuttles sometimes take some time to come, on average we hade to wait no more than 10 minutes. On a few occasions we waited 20-25 minutes, but remember, you are on vacation, so where is the rush?

Overall it was a plesant experience, and we will return soon!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank discoboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akumal
2.2 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
0.9 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
0.7 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
5.8 mi away
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa
9.2 mi away
Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection

Property: Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
Address: Carretera Chetumal | Cancun Km 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Akumal
#2 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#5 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#5 Spa Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 4 outdoor pools (1 with Jacuzzi) Sun terrace with loungers and sun umbrellas BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Transfer to the beach and other facilities on the complex (at set times) Water activity centre, Beach Club with exclusive bar (at the Grand Principe Tulum) Motorised water sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby and in rooms (free of charge) 1 international buffet restaurant 2 speciality restaurants 4 Bars 1 snack-bar Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, natural wells and Mayan forest. Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and disco. Rooms 420 rooms including 4 types: Junior Suite, Deluxe Junior Suite, Deluxe Garden Junior Suite, Deluxe Penthouse Junior Suite. Deluxe Garden Junior Suites and Deluxe Penthouse Junior Suites are larger than the Junior Suites and the Deluxe Junior Suites. Room facilities: King size bed or 2 full size beds Air conditioning Ceiling fan Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Sitting area with sofa-bed and armchairs Balcony or terrace Bathroom with shower, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Bathroom amenities Bathrobe and slippers Don Pablo Collection amenities Alarm clock with iPod docking station Flat screen TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe Iron and ironing board 24 hour room service Butler service in rooms Private Jacuzzi Wifi (free of charge) Pillow menu Aroma menu Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings and anniversaries, as well as corporate incentive trips and conventions Casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, BP USA TRAVEL INC, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Sian Ka`An Golf Resort And Spa
Gran Bahia Principe Sian Ka`An Golf Hotel Akumal
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'An Don Pablo Collection Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing