We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect family retreat to the beach”
Review of Playa Caribe

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Akumal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Playa Caribe
Ranked #2 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We stayed in #5 for a week over spring break and it exceeded all of our expectations. The views from the center unit were breathtaking!! We had four adults and two small children, and we had plenty of space. The extra bed in the 2nd bedroom was great for my son (5yrs), and they gave us a pack and play for my little girl. We mostly played in the pool and on the beach in front of the house. While it was rocky if you wanted to swim in the sea, it was perfect for kids to play in the sand and build castles and such. There was hardly ever anyone nearby, so we often had the beach to ourselves! We walked to town a couple of times, but it took us 15-20 minutes each way, so we often drove our rental car. We rented a van for our family and were so glad we did. We went to the big grocery store which was about 15 minutes by car and were able to save a lot of money by cooking for ourselves in the condo. Eating out in Akumal was pricey!

favorite activities outside of hanging at the condo: Akumal bay (the sea life was awesome for snorkelling!), diving on the reef, Rio Secreto (our 5 yr old did this and he was right at the age limit that I would recommend. We all were blown away at how beautiful the underground river and cave was. Excellent adventure!), Tulum ruins (we got a guide and enjoyed his explanations very much), the lagoon near half moon bay (easy walk, calm snorkeling, really cool statues!)

all in all, I was so very happy that we went to Akumal instead of a bigger touristy spot. It was great for families and very safe. A couple of us did get a little sick on the last day, but we think it was because we didn't wash all the fruit before cutting it with a knife. Beware!

Enjoy this slice of paradise. We hope to return some day. Love loved Playa Caribe!

Room Tip: loved #5 for the great views! Highly recommend the units in the center because they jut out from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank orsnowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 151 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2012

We rented unit # 10 which is the top northern unit .A fantastic view of half moon bay !! From this higher view one can see turtles and rays .Everything is excellant from the maid service that would patiently wait for us to leave to go to the pool to the office staff that made sure our visit was everything we wanted .Security at night-- Filtered drinking water The owners have outfitted the condo with everything one needs for their stay and have decorated the condo to reflect ones stay in Mexico .Pool --raked sand beach etc Also within walking distance to several restaurants
Best property on Half Moon bay

Room Tip: If you don`t mind the 50 steps to get to the top floor condos #10 #11 # 12 will reward you with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wbgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We have vacationed in Akumal and Half Moon bay several times, this was our first stay at Playa Caribe, we selected unit 11 which is a 2BR/2BA penthouse unit. We will definitely stay here again.

Playa Caribe is on the beach at Half Moon Bay, and a relatively small property. Unit 11 is the center unit on the top floor and sits well forward of the 2 other condos that floor, this layout gives you the feeling there are no other condos surrounding you.

Unit 11 is clean, spacious, and well maintained and has all the amenities you would expect. Playa Caribe has filtered water from the faucets and good water pressure. There is good wi-fi reception in this unit. There is a king bed and TV in the master, a queen bed and futon in the second BR.Two large bathrooms attach to each bedroom. AC runs great and there are lots of ceiling fans, 2 TV's with satellite-mostly Spanish language stations, and a few in English. The staff did a wonderful job and were very friendly

Yes it is a climb to get to this unit, but you will be rewarded with spectacular views of HMB from every window, even from the showers! The main patio is amazing and is where we spent most of our time when we were in the condo. From the patio we saw rays, turtles and lots of fish each day, the water of HMB is crystal clear.

The beach in front of Playa Caribe is narrow, there are 3 palapas and beach chairs, there is a small, well maintained pool area with a few tables/umbrellas. My only complaint is that the pool is located very close to an abandoned property which over the years has become an eyesore, this is my only complaint about Playa Caribe.

HMB is shallow and the water is calm, good for snorkeling and swimming, entering the bay is somewhat rocky (the rocks are smooth but slippery), water shoes recommended. Akumal offers a longer, wider beach, is not rocky and is much better for snorkeling

It is a short walk to several restaraunts, a great beach bar, a dive shop, and a convenience store. It is an easy walk to Akumal for more variety. You can also walk to Yal-Kul lagoon. We walked everywhere although bikes and golf carts are available for rental.

For groceries there is super Chedraui in Puerto Aventuras as well as Playa del Carmen. There is also a Sams Club in PDC. Akumal Pueblo (across the highway) offers some shops with really good local prepared food to bring back to your condo.

HMB is a wonderful, quiet and relaxing place to stay and we really enjoyed Playa Caribe.

Room Tip: The center unit on each floor sits forward of the other units, this gives you an unobstructed ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jojo1492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We stayed in Unit #7--professionally decorated and absolutely lovely with jungle views from the bedroom and views of Half Moon Bay from everywhere else. It felt like the bay was in the room with us...fell asleep to the sound of the waves each night. We enjoyed two bedrooms and two baths--perfect for a family. The beds were VERY comfortable. Condo conveniently located to everything you could need. We did rent a car and were glad we did for our excursion to Tulum, etc. Just made things easier.

I had debated about being on Half Moon Bay as opposed to Akumal Beach and I know we made the right choice. Akumal Beach is beautiful (white sand, blue water) but it can get quite crowded. We spent time there, but then we could always come home to our peaceful Half Moon Bay with its wonderland of easy snorkeling. While snorkeling in HMB, we saw turtles (my son followed one for at least 20 minutes), huge stingrays, tons of fish, and even a school of squid that inked us!! There was something new to see every day. Sometimes it does get rough and there is seaweed on the shore although the staff at Playa Caribe do rake it away most days. You MUST bring water shoes to properly enjoy HMB.

Our whole family thought this was our best trip ever (16 year old girl, 9 year old boy, Mom, and Dad.) Lots to do or not--up to you. Our only disappointment was our own fault. My daughter foolishly took a nice silver bracelet with her and did not lock it up in the safe. It was easy to feel so secure and safe that she didn't think anyone would bother it. Unfortunately, the bracelet was stolen from the room and has never been recovered despite repeated inquiries with Playa Caribe. Live and learn. We would still recommend Playa Caribe.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank angie550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

The staff was incredibly helpful, the rooms and the grounds are kept so clean. You are close to a restaurant/bar, dive shop, very small grocery store and a couple of gift stores, if you need more it is a 20 minute walk to the main town or you can rent a golf cart (which we did). We stayed in a ground floor "casita", (Casita Maria) very clean, no bugs and plenty of hot water. It comes with a full kitchen and if you need food, booze or whatever if you go to www.rivieramayagroceries.com and order your food before you arrive and they will have it waiting for you, fantastic!!! The only drawback was that the beach in front of our place had allow of seaweed on it but that was only because there were a lot of storms out at sea, snorkeling was not great there but if you walk down the beach maybe 100 meters, in front of the dive shop the snorkeling was fantastic.

Room Tip: Go for the casitas, if you are on a budget and want to save your money for other things, you are onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dragonlady56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Spent a glorious March Break in Akumal. We like the home away from home theme so the two bedroom, 2 bath format worked well for us and our 2 boys. We had unit #11 - which is on the top level and faces the water. The sit out is glorious, shaded, and has a constant sea breeze.

There are a lot of nice restaurants close by as well as in Akumal village and at the pueblo across the highway - all very walkable.

If you want groceries definitely ask the driver to stop at the Chedraui in Playa Del Carmen while driving in from Cancun. Have a list prepared well before so you do not miss anything. Choice is limited in Akumal and prices about 2 to 3 times more.

Half moon bay is very rocky, pack a good pair of boat shoes. The public beach in the village makes for a lovely sunrise and sunset walk and is not rocky.

Room Tip: Definitely get something where the sitout faces the water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tjmachado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Just returned after 10 days in Akumal at the Playa Caribe condos. I wish I was still there. We stayed in condo #5 and our stay couldn't be better. The condo was clean and the view of HalfMoon Bay was gorgeous. Everything you need is there at your fingertips. The location is right in the middle of the Bay. Walk out and to your left, as you are walking is Gynn Ak, a great restaurant with yummy food made by a local who is trying her best to keep the Akumal environment healthy. Her contribution is spearing and cooking Lionfish which are intent on destroying the local fish species. Next is La Lunita which has many seafood specials and great food. Keep walking and you are at Yal Ku lagoon. This is great for snorkelling. The water is clear and refreshing and the gardens are populated with beautiful sculpures. A great place when the bay is choppy. If you walk our of Playa Caribe and go left you will find La Buena Vida. Great place for happy hour (1/2 price drinks from 5-7), and some good food too. Had a blast at Karaoke and it was there 16 anniversary. Had a blast. The waiters are fast and friendly. It was kind of sad saying good bye. Keep walking and you are at Akumal bay - which is more protected but a lot busier. What a difference between the bays. It is lively and we hit Lolha a couple of times. It was great to snorkel here in the early morning before the busloads arrive. A lot of nice restaurants here. TurtleBay. La Lonceria and Cueva de la Pesquador. Great places. The people are friendly the food tasty and the beer frosty.
Back at the Playa CAribe the condo personell are friendly and work hard to make your stay a great experience. Thanks to Patricia who cleaned our condo, thanks to Augustin who helped us with places to visit and let me check into my flight and Luis who kept our beach in great shape. I would definitely recommend Akumal and the Playa Caribe.:)

Room Tip: We chose number 5 because it is a middle condo with a panoramic view. There is one of these per flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ge0man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akumal hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Akumal Caribe
Hotel Akumal Caribe
#15 of 21 in Akumal
446 reviews
0.0 mi away
Del Sol Beachfront Hotel
0.9 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Las Villas Akumal
Las Villas Akumal
#14 of 21 in Akumal
342 reviews
0.0 mi away
Luna Azul Condominiums
Luna Azul Condominiums
#20 of 21 in Akumal
53 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Que Onda
Hotel Que Onda
#19 of 21 in Akumal
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Caribe

Address: Lote 34 | Half Moon Bay, Akumal, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Akumal
Price Range: $145 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Caribe consists of twelve 2 bedroom condos and 3 studios. Generally regarded as the best on Halfmoon Bay. We have the only water treatment (RO) system that allows you to use and drink the water safely just like home. We have a pool and are centrally located to all that the Akumal area has to offer. Some of the best snorkeling is right off our beach. You will see turtles all year round right from our patio. Hope to see you soon in paradise. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Playa Caribe Hotel Akumal
Playa Caribe Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing