We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Fish Tacos Ever”

Turtle Bay Bakery & Cafe
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $11
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Delaware, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Fish Tacos Ever”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

My husband walked over to this place after snorkeling in the bay. Its a cute place that's tucked back under some trees. Very shady and cool. We both had different variations of fish tacos and all I can say is WOW. They were by far the best fish tacos we had ever had. I had the blackened fish and my husband the grilled fish. Amazing. So fresh, so flavorful. This place was also very inexpensive. We had fish tacos, chips and salsa and 2 beers for under $20 US. This is a wonderful hidden gem!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SallyJ320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,593 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,023
    428
    98
    28
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Merida
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Happy hour!”
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

First night here in Akumal and had a fabulous dinner at Turtle Bay Cafe. We had Blackened Fish Tacos, Grilled Fish Tacos and huge Cajun Chicken Sourdough Flatbread Pizza....all for happy hour half price.....two or one Mojitos ans 15 pesos Cervezas. Delish! Also their Salted Caramel and Rum Raisin Ice cream is yummy!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rojo33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level 6 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“we loved turtle bay”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

anyone staying in akumal this is a must place to visit,easy walk from ABR even at nite, we spent alot of time there during our vacation, we were able to watch football there, the staff is great.
it was a pleasure to meet Bart the owner he made us feel at home,

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank darinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Breakfast at Turtle Bay in Akumal, Mexico”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Chilequiles, best I have ever had with eggs and chicken and green salsa! Yummy! The drink menu was outstanding. We had orange juice blended with Chaya, which is locally grown and is similar to spinach!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Easy572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Columbia, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mucho yummo!”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Vacationed at Akumal Beach Resort. Made plans to go to Turtle Bay based on other reviews of guests at ABR. So glad we went there! The food was excellent. The ceviche was the best I have had. So delicious! The blackened grilled fish tacos were also the best. The staff was very friendly. I highly recommend this restaurant. If you are staying at Akumal Beach Resort it is not very far, maybe a 10 minute walk and worth it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PamelaInman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turtle Bay Bakery & Cafe also viewed

 
Akumal, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Turtle Bay Bakery & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing