We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for breakfast”

Turtle Bay Bakery & Cafe
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $11
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Akumal, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great for breakfast”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We enjoyed a delicious breakfast and very hot coffee. The serving was large enough to share especially with a great smoothie.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Akumal_Breakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,602 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,028
    431
    99
    28
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Dora, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“quaint spot with great sweets”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

My husband and I had a lovely lunch here after a day of snorkeling. You sit outside in the cute village of Akumal. The people were very friendly.The food was good but the best part was the home made ice cream and pastries. We still say it is the best ice cream we have ever had. The flavor was salted caramel, yum! We took some pastries back to our hotel room, too.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ToryAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I like this little restaurant near Akumal beach. They have a nice selection on the menu, great steaks, and delicious desserts.
I have been here a few times, and I will definitely eat there again. They also have home-made ice cream!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank truetamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Not as good as in the past”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Sad to say that Turtle Bay Bakery and Cafe is not as good as it has been in the past. The spinach salad, a large serving in the past with a large goat cheese "pancake" has been reduced to a smaller serving of greens with a dollop of goat cheese. If described that way on the menu fine, but it still reads as a "pancake" size serving. Drinks are ok. Service is ok too, although one night the waiter would not split the bill for our group, which has been done in the past and is done in many restaurants in Mexico. On another visit the waitress did split the bill, so maybe the waiter was having a bad night.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank retireandtravelnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, NC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Good food, good service, good prices. We liked it so much we went back a second morning. The smoothies and pastries were to die for!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank WeLoveToTravel22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turtle Bay Bakery & Cafe also viewed

 
Akumal, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Turtle Bay Bakery & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing