We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lucy's Kitchen

Lucy's Kitchen
Ranked #2 of 2 Dessert in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Drinks, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“What a Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

We were so pleased with the great flat bread and awesome cocktails, we wish we would have discovered it sooner! So much better food quality and prices than the places right on the beach.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MexicoSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    58
    12
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Amazeices!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Really yummy had mango , kids had banana & toffee I think .....just the ticket! Enjoy, really yummy! What more can I say, not the best ever, but pretty good, I would come back if in the area!

Service was quick, but it wasn't busy, rainy day in Mexico!

Clean place off the main path, side posted with a board!

This is a tiny place, but lovely....pop in if in you are not far away!

Really fresh & tasty, the cones were very crispy & good too....what more do you need, lunch at the Turtle bay, ice-cream here, nap on the beach after....perfect! X

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC, anada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Delicious ice cream!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

The title says it all. Great ice-cream with a wide range of interesting flavors. A previous reviewer obviously had an unhappy experience with Lucy's ice-cream, but when I was reluctant to try it, I was overruled by my family. Many ice creams later, we were all problem-free. (We all know that even the best restaurants can have a rare occurrence of food poisoning.)

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Judy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Oh my goodness the ice cream is to die for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

I visited Lucy's after many years of coming to akumal after I heard they were under new management by one of my favorite restaurants Turtle Bay Cafe- they have once again outdone themselves. Their ice cream flavors are so varied (I counted over 20 kinds) and all made in house. With non dairy and vegan options there is no doubt everyone in your travel group will find something incredible to delight their taste buds. My favorite is the dark chocolate habanero- a must try as they also let you sample the flavors to make sure you are more than happy with your selection. If you are anywhere near akumal- you have GOT to stop by this place- guaranteed smiles all around :)

Helpful?
Thank TaraP111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Food, Great Ice Cream!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

I only went there for a quick breakfast twice and an ice cream run but I enjoyed it all. I got the skillet once and it was good, nothing crazy but no complaints :-) Our waitress was a little on the sour side but everyone else we encountered there was friendly.

Another time we got pastries and smoothies and those were delicious.. It was definitely a great idea for breakfast on the run before our Tulum adventure. Just what we needed.

The ice cream is awesome! The fresh Mint Chocolate is to die for.. I love that it really does taste like real mint. SO good! The dark chocolate habanero was pretty darn cool and the salted caramel was tasty too. Wish I had more people in my group so I could've tried more ;-)

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YCMM07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucy's Kitchen also viewed

 
Akumal, Riviera Maya
Akumal, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Lucy's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing