We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best meal on our trip!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lol-Ha on Akumal Main Bay

Lol-Ha on Akumal Main Bay
Ranked #6 of 38 Restaurants in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Bar, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A view of Lol-Ha Restaurant and Snack bar from the tip of Akumal Bay. Lol-Ha offers seafood, steaks, pizza, mexican food and great burgers. It is kid friendly, casual, and has the best view of the main bay. Check for weekly live entertainment and look into our romantic dinners on the beach. Our staff will welcome you and make you feel at home. New management as of 2009. Same owners since 1984.
Cocoa, Fl
Level Contributor
124 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Best meal on our trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Couldn't be happier with our dinner! It was very Romantic on the water. The food was also great. I loved the Nachos pastor ( Nacho chips with grilled pork, pineapple, cilantro & smothered with white cheese.. very good! Dinner; prime rib sliders with brie & carmalized onions.. also good. My hubby had the Steak fajitas, & was also happy. very affordable prices too. good selection of pizza, pasta, american, & mex. good customer service too!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dreamsofriveriamaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    609
    471
    152
    45
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“The view gets the best score”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Have visited this restaurant a few times over the years. It does what you expect, you get lunch with a great view but a picnic would do that, albeit less comfortably. Presentation of food not great, taste ok, overall quite pricey for the offering, staff lovely, so all in all a nice lunch experience but don't go with high expectations and be disappointed.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nice place to eat after snorkelling”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We ate here after a tiring day snorkelling! Right on the beach, so not too far to walk. We had a simple meal of cheeseburger, fries and onion rings to share. Simple, but very nice, staff very friendly and plenty of room for sitting down. Reasonably priced as well.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DamienandDen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
150 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Beautiful food in a beautiful setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

My husband and I recently visited Akumal, Mexico and since it was "low" season many of the restaurants were closed. We had dinner one night in Lol-Ha and were so impressed with the quality of the food and the great service that we decided to go back two more evenings. We have had a condo in Akumal for thirteen years and have frequented the Lol-Ha beach bar many times but the menu available at the inside restaurant was available at the beach bar during our visit. The seared ahi tuna, the achiote chicken, and the chicken enchiladas were all delicious, beautifully presented and the service was spot on. The view of Akumal Bay is worthy of many hours on the beach but combining it with fine dining makes perfection.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bnosnews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDX
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We brought our wedding group of 40+ people to stay at the Hotel Akumal Caribe. One the main highlights of the trip was walking up every morning and meeting our guests for delicious breakfasts, overlooking the stunning Akumal Bay, served and prepared by the friendly, caring staff of Lol-ha.

We also worked with the managers, Walter and Sam, to host our rehearsal dinner and welcome dinner. Our welcome dinner was a Mexican themed taco bar. The proactive management and staff had everything completely organized, decorated (including buckets of beers on the table) and underway when we arrived. We didn't have to do a thing. Walter grilled steak, chicken and the fish we caught that day. Many of our guests said it was their favorite meal of the trip. They also offered to plug in our Ipod so we could listen to what we wanted to. Even with an open bar and thirsty guests, the dinner came in well under out tight budget. It was a great value and good fun.

This restaurant and snack bar are an ideal setting, but really it is the staff (including Luciano and Rudi) that make Lol-Ha exceptional. They really took care of our group and we felt so looked after. We can't wait to return and share our next family vacation with them.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank themalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akumal2u, Owner at Lol-Ha on Akumal Main Bay, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments! We truly enjoy having wedding groups at our property. Our staff is injected with the joy of all the guests! It's truly an honor when someone chooses our property for their special events, and we want everyone to go away with great memories!

We hope to see you back soon!

Best wishes
Laura B Wolfe
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lol-Ha on Akumal Main Bay also viewed

 
Akumal, Riviera Maya
Akumal, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Lol-Ha on Akumal Main Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing