We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to eat after snorkelling”

Lol-Ha on Akumal Main Bay
Ranked #6 of 38 Restaurants in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Mexican, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A view of Lol-Ha Restaurant and Snack bar from the tip of Akumal Bay. Lol-Ha offers seafood, steaks, pizza, mexican food and great burgers. It is kid friendly, casual, and has the best view of the main bay. Check for weekly live entertainment and look into our romantic dinners on the beach. Our staff will welcome you and make you feel at home. New management as of 2009. Same owners since 1984.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We ate here after a tiring day snorkelling! Right on the beach, so not too far to walk. We had a simple meal of cheeseburger, fries and onion rings to share. Simple, but very nice, staff very friendly and plenty of room for sitting down. Reasonably priced as well.

1  Thank DamienandDen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,428)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

961 - 965 of 1,428 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2012

My husband and I recently visited Akumal, Mexico and since it was "low" season many of the restaurants were closed. We had dinner one night in Lol-Ha and were so impressed with the quality of the food and the great service that we decided to go back two more evenings. We have had a condo in Akumal for thirteen years and have frequented the Lol-Ha beach bar many times but the menu available at the inside restaurant was available at the beach bar during our visit. The seared ahi tuna, the achiote chicken, and the chicken enchiladas were all delicious, beautifully presented and the service was spot on. The view of Akumal Bay is worthy of many hours on the beach but combining it with fine dining makes perfection.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bnosnews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We brought our wedding group of 40+ people to stay at the Hotel Akumal Caribe. One the main highlights of the trip was walking up every morning and meeting our guests for delicious breakfasts, overlooking the stunning Akumal Bay, served and prepared by the friendly, caring staff of Lol-ha.

We also worked with the managers, Walter and Sam, to host our rehearsal dinner and welcome dinner. Our welcome dinner was a Mexican themed taco bar. The proactive management and staff had everything completely organized, decorated (including buckets of beers on the table) and underway when we arrived. We didn't have to do a thing. Walter grilled steak, chicken and the fish we caught that day. Many of our guests said it was their favorite meal of the trip. They also offered to plug in our Ipod so we could listen to what we wanted to. Even with an open bar and thirsty guests, the dinner came in well under out tight budget. It was a great value and good fun.

This restaurant and snack bar are an ideal setting, but really it is the staff (including Luciano and Rudi) that make Lol-Ha exceptional. They really took care of our group and we felt so looked after. We can't wait to return and share our next family vacation with them.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank themalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akumal2u, Owner at Lol-Ha on Akumal Main Bay, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Thank you so much for your comments! We truly enjoy having wedding groups at our property. Our staff is injected with the joy of all the guests! It's truly an honor when someone chooses our property for their special events, and we want everyone to go away with great memories!

We hope to see you back soon!

Best wishes
Laura B Wolfe
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Location, location, location, can`t get any better. I would definetly recommed this place. Good value, great food and the staff is very friendly. Great for lunch and/or dinner by the beach!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank bluesky823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akumal2u, Owner at Lol-Ha on Akumal Main Bay, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Thank you for your review! I am so glad you enjoyed our location and food! It's a privilege to have such a great view, and it makes for a happy staff as well! I am glad it reflects through the service.

Thank you!
Come back soon

Laura B Wolfe
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We always come for happy hour every day of our vacation. We love the Lol Ha. They have great food, great waiters and their happy hour specials are super! Get the shrimp cocktail...yummo! Pizza is good too....their breakfasts rock!

Thank Teri Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akumal2u, Owner at Lol-Ha on Akumal Main Bay, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Thank you for your review! We love our regular happy hour crowd, and Lolha clients! So glad this is part of our Akumal stay!

Regards

Laura B Wolfe
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lol-Ha on Akumal Main Bay also viewed

 
Akumal, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Lol-Ha on Akumal Main Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing