We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Dinner”
Review of La Lunita

La Lunita
Reserve with OpenTable
La Lunita is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 38 Restaurants in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Romantic Dinner”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

La Lunita is a nice little romantic restaurant. Good food. On the beach. (It can get a little windy and chilly at night.) It's tucked away behind some condos, so if you blink, you'll miss it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Phill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    401
    172
    79
    35
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
166 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Here's how you avoid the previously documented pitfalls at La Lunita:”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

OK. Now to get the best La Lunita experience, go for lunch! We were served graciously today with only 2 other tables occupied- ordered chicken enchiladas with house mole sauce and cerviche. Marvelous with no pressure, gentle Carribean breeze, and 2 margueritas before lunch. Can you beat that? Especially since it's 7 degrees F in Minneapolis and we are glowing with sunshine! There's no happy hour anyway, so save that time for Buena Vida! Pics included.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ronnjonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
80 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“La Lunita Declining?”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We've dined at La Lunita often over the past 15 years. Our January visit was disappointing. The food was fine, but not memorable as in the past. The service and scenery were still tops in Akumal, however.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terrific”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

A little more up market but a fine selection of seafood. We had margaritas, beers, lemonades, fillet mignonette, calamari, spicy mussels, Caesar salad and seafood paella. Delicious! Total cost: $111.00. I have had better margaritas - a little too much salt in the bottom of the glass. The staff were not overly friendly but nevertheless were very courteous. We sat with our feet in the sand and ate by candle light with crashing waves as a musical background. The food was great the ambience lovely. We had a great night!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank vinconlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice food but...”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Great food but in order to get a table you need to stalk the people currently sitting there trying to enjoy their meal. Uncomfortable to say the least. The waiters suggest for you to just stand close and when a table gets up to sit down quickly! what about just having a line and taking turns????

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank bellamiacanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Lunita also viewed

 
Akumal, Riviera Maya
 

Been to La Lunita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing