We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The food was fair.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Cueva del Pescador

La Cueva del Pescador
Ranked #5 of 38 Restaurants in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The food was fair.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

The fair was fair compared to the buffet food, which had more taste. The deserts everywhere were not very tasty.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    425
    287
    92
    36
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Really Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

This is the place we liked the most from all the restaurants in Akumal. Their fish is really fresh and well prepared. There was not a single plate that we did not enjoy.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank lcf2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindadavis10
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Back Again - Twice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

This is our favorite Akumal restaurant and had lunch here twice during our 2 week stay June 2013. Our friends and family have come to love it too so we come with a big group. The fish is as fresh as the steps to the ocean, and the service is wonderful. Try the ceviche and fresh guacamole, along with the fish tacos.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank lindadavis10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Ordered the salmon for everyone. We r a vegetarian familly.
It was delicious, service was great
Salads are ok.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lmnopies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russellville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great margaritas but be careful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Their margaritas are great and super potent so be careful! The shrimp wrapped in bacon was great and the grouper was cooked perfectly. Great atmosphere and fun waitstaff!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank aholiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cueva del Pescador also viewed

 
Akumal, Riviera Maya
 

Been to La Cueva del Pescador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing