We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Cueva del Pescador

La Cueva del Pescador
Ranked #5 of 38 Restaurants in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Best seafood at the resort. Very friendly service. Make sure you booked when check in because it fill up fast.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TonyNoMoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    425
    286
    92
    36
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Margaritas. They will knock you out. The seafood is great, and the location is wonderful.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

It's is conveniently located, next to Turtle Bay Cafe, and across from the dive shop and Akumal Bay. Known for the fish and margaritas!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fantastic spot. Good food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

La Cueva del Pescador sits in a very special place in the Mayan Riviera, so location is really fantastic. Dishes are fairly simple and with no false pretenses. The ceviche was very fresh and the fish was also pretty good. Their prices are reasonable considering you are in a very expensive area, and even if they could serve larger portions, I have to say my impression is they have not abandoned themselves to the comfort of constant tourist flow. Let's hope they keep it that way...

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank arvizudop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelem
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lousy service, decent food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We loved the setting and the wait staff when we could catch their eye. It really seemed like they weren't interested in our business. The person who originally took our drink order then went over,sat down at a table, and ate his dinner. After a good 20 minutes we snagged a different person to place our food order.

Meanwhile we had completely finished off the chips and salsa that had been brought to the table when we sat down. We saw other tables being "restocked" but nobody ever came by to check on us. For dinner we had an order of shrimp brochette plus an order of mini lobsters. The food was well prepared and while not outstanding, it was above average. We were not disappointed, but in addition not overwhelmed.

We thought that the prices were not out of line, and were probably lower than many other beach type restaurants. When we got ready to leave, it took a while to call for our bill. On top of that, we finally got up and walked the bill and payment back to the kitchen area. Basically our experience was less than pleasant because of the indifferent service and we will not go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food for good price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Good food for reasonable price. My family of four ate lunch with soda for just under $40USD. Good guacamole, fish tacos, even club sandwiches. Recommended!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mattsota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cueva del Pescador also viewed

 
Akumal, Riviera Maya
 

Been to La Cueva del Pescador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing