We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and price!”

La Buena Vida Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 38 Restaurants in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $24
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Bar, Seafood, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Kids, Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff
Description: On the beautiful beachfront of Half Moon Bay in North Akumal is a one-of-a-kind restaurant and bar: La Buena Vida - The Good Life. La Buena Vida always has a festive atmosphere with great music, cold beer, scenic ocean views, and good fresh food. Meals are served on the beach under shady palapas with a casual atmosphere and an appetizing menu, ranging from fresh ceviche to tasty hamburgers. La Buena Vida is a popular restaurant venue for weddings. The rehearsal dinner, wedding ceremony, and reception can all be planned by the team at Akumal Weddings. Reservations Not Required! Reservations are accepted for groups of ten or more. We accept Visa, Mastercard, Pesos, and US Dollars.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great location and price!”
Reviewed August 28, 2014

Great restaurant! Happy Hour prices terrific - 15 pesos for beer and 30 pesos for margaritas. Located right on the beach, great service and delicious, well priced food. Went there twice on this trip as we love the beach ar Akumal!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank EastCoastNewbie50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,965 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,759
    842
    206
    69
    89
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing views and amazing food”
Reviewed August 28, 2014

My husband and I walked approximately 2 miles from our resort to visit this restaurant based on a recommendation from a friend back home. We enjoyed the amazing view of the bay, cool ocean breeze and laid back atmosphere of the restaurant. We had the cevieche as an appetizer as well as Coconut shrimp and chicken quesadilla as main courses. The food was absolutely delicious and the prices seemed good (until we found out they do not accept all credit cards, and give the lowest exchange rate of any other place we visited.) My tip is to definitely visit this restaurant, enjoy the atmosphere but do it with pesos!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
112 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Location and Atmosphere. Tree top tables”
Reviewed August 28, 2014

I stumbled upon this place from a road trip heading south of Cancun. From the outside it looks interesting but take a seat in a swing at the bar overlooking the ocean or step just outside and climb up into the tree house tables. Once up there you can drop a bucket on a rope for more cold beers. Just a fun relaxing place to eat and drink. I have to say it was very original. I loved it here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank firehorse352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“What's not to like?”
Reviewed August 28, 2014

Really enjoyed our visit(s) to La Buena Vida and would not hesitate to return.
On both visits we ended up with ideal seating right by the wall/steps that lead down to the see.
Given the setting and the overall "idyll" of the place I didnt think the prices were too over the top. Portions were a good size and felt the service was leisurely rather than attentative, but we were happy to relax, take in the view and slowly work through our lunch & cocktails.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 2pluskids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Convenient, but...”
Reviewed August 26, 2014

We ate at La Buena Vida after a day-long trip to Akumal, and we were grateful for a nearby spot to eat. The location, on the beach, is very attractive. The food and service were less than stellar, however. Not the worst meal I've ever had, but for the $$, definitely not a good value. Bland renderings of what could be good dishes, like octopus, and even guacamole.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrianEnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Buena Vida Restaurant also viewed

 
Akumal, Riviera Maya
 

Been to La Buena Vida Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing