We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum - fish tacos and mango chicken empanadas”

La Buena Vida Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 38 Restaurants in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: On the beautiful beachfront of Half Moon Bay in North Akumal is a one-of-a-kind restaurant and bar: La Buena Vida - The Good Life. La Buena Vida always has a festive atmosphere with great music, cold beer, scenic ocean views, and good fresh food. Meals are served on the beach under shady palapas with a casual atmosphere and an appetizing menu, ranging from fresh ceviche to tasty hamburgers. La Buena Vida is a popular restaurant venue for weddings. The rehearsal dinner, wedding ceremony, and reception can all be planned by the team at Akumal Weddings. Reservations Not Required! Reservations are accepted for groups of ten or more. We accept Visa, Mastercard, Pesos, and US Dollars.
Redford, MI
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Yum - fish tacos and mango chicken empanadas”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

This is a must do whenever we travel to Akumal and Half Moon Bay - it wouldn't be the same without lunch on the beach with our toes in the sand. This time - in addition to the favorites mentioned in the title - we tried the shrimp fritters and Mayan pork tacos - delicious! Add a margarita and you have a little bit of heaven! Don't miss out on this local legend - you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cornell4259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,095 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,836
    875
    219
    74
    91
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Topeka, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

A little of the beaten path but well worth the trek. Just steps from the beach, this place is an awesome way the spend a casual afternoon having a few drinks, enjoying delicious food and enjoy a spectacular view of the ocean. The staff was friendly and prompt and the fish tacos were some of the best i have had. The road is a little rough getting in and you might think you are getting lost then this little treasure pops up. And to top it all off you can sit at tables located in the top of 2 palm trees and enjoy a drink or just the fantastic view. This is our 2nd trip here and will come back next time we are in Mexico. As it's name says, this place truly is " The Good Life"

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jhawk58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akumal, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great tacos stunning view”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

The grilled fish tacos are great, and only make the view that much more appetizing. We shared chicken tacos, beef tacos but by far the fish tacos are the best!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank locogringocom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulum, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Stop”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Inside Akumal. Road was a bit torn up, but navigable. Great entry way and a lot of seating. Neat tables, swings, bar - In the sand, waterfront. Seated myself, service was a bit slow at first, but once we connected, all good. Drinks average. I had baby back ribs-delicious (order sauce on side or light sauce) as was the coleslaw/rice that came with it. Packed. Lots of Americans. Nice little shopping area nearby. I can see this becoming a regular stop. Happy Hour - 5-7; not sure if daily or fridays! Very diverse menu with apps, burgers, seafood, chicken and seafood. Top Notch Mariachi performers.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sojaxbch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mérida, Yucatan, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Absolutely loved this place! The staff was friendly, the ambiance was amazing, and was jut an overall fun place to go. We loved the swings at the bar under the palapa roof. It is right on the beach with a great view as well. Can't wait to go back again!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Buena Vida Restaurant also viewed

Akumal, Riviera Maya
Akumal, Riviera Maya
 

Been to La Buena Vida Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing