We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!”

La Buena Vida Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 38 Restaurants in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: On the beautiful beachfront of Half Moon Bay in North Akumal is a one-of-a-kind restaurant and bar: La Buena Vida - The Good Life. La Buena Vida always has a festive atmosphere with great music, cold beer, scenic ocean views, and good fresh food. Meals are served on the beach under shady palapas with a casual atmosphere and an appetizing menu, ranging from fresh ceviche to tasty hamburgers. La Buena Vida is a popular restaurant venue for weddings. The rehearsal dinner, wedding ceremony, and reception can all be planned by the team at Akumal Weddings. Reservations Not Required! Reservations are accepted for groups of ten or more. We accept Visa, Mastercard, Pesos, and US Dollars.
Mérida, Yucatan, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Absolutely loved this place! The staff was friendly, the ambiance was amazing, and was jut an overall fun place to go. We loved the swings at the bar under the palapa roof. It is right on the beach with a great view as well. Can't wait to go back again!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,059 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,817
    863
    216
    73
    90
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful view, amazing ceviche”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Right on the beach, relaxing spot with wood tables in the middle of the trees. We had the ceviche, tacos de cochinita pibil and the shrimp entrée. All very good, but the ceviche was just unbelievable. The service was adequate, although not very expedite, as per usual in the Yucatán. Quite cheap for what we got, and the whole experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Francisca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This place was amazing!”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

This restaurant was the ultimate beach hotspot- swings at the bar, tree houses that overlook the beach, Mayan and Mariachi performers and of course delicious food and beachy cocktails. A must go for your Akumal/Tulum vacation!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HB
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great View”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Outstanding. What a view! The Staff! The View! Chips and salsa! Mojitos! The view! WE loved it. Drinking mojitos and relaxing in the hammocks was one of the most enjoyable experiences of our vacation. I really wish we would of known of this place and set a few more hours away to kick back and live the "Buena Vida".
$4.70 Mojitos and that wasn't happy hour.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank toodrastic4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best ocean view in the bay”
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

I have been at La Buena Vida three times in the last three days, first for dinner on a Friday night when I felt in love with the place. The tables in the edge are almost on the beach and are the perfect setting for a nice dinner, the closest place to heaven where you can bury your feet in the sand, and relax like in heaven while dining. Sea food is so fresh!

Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Buena Vida Restaurant also viewed

Akumal, Riviera Maya
Akumal, Riviera Maya
 

Been to La Buena Vida Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing