We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still going strong”

La Buena Vida Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 38 Restaurants in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $24
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Bar, Seafood, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff
Description: On the beautiful beachfront of Half Moon Bay in North Akumal is a one-of-a-kind restaurant and bar: La Buena Vida - The Good Life. La Buena Vida always has a festive atmosphere with great music, cold beer, scenic ocean views, and good fresh food. Meals are served on the beach under shady palapas with a casual atmosphere and an appetizing menu, ranging from fresh ceviche to tasty hamburgers. La Buena Vida is a popular restaurant venue for weddings. The rehearsal dinner, wedding ceremony, and reception can all be planned by the team at Akumal Weddings. Reservations Not Required! Reservations are accepted for groups of ten or more. We accept Visa, Mastercard, Pesos, and US Dollars.
Roseville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Still going strong”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

Went here the first time maybe 15 years ago (?) and am glad to say it's still a good play to eat. Pretty breezy the day we went (after our snorkeling in Yal-Ku) so we ate upstairs with the wind-break windows closed.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank nancykinz55113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,927 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,730
    835
    206
    69
    87
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“great spot at half moon bay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

The whole setting is just gorgeous right in front of a rocky beach.They have a good selection of beers and the meat nachos is to die for.Will definetly come back if im in the area.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Slyberu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

We visited this restaurant twice in January 2014 and it's amazing. On the beach with beautiful views and great food. My husband had the coconut prawns on both occasions, and said they were the best prawns he has ever had! Very relaxing with swings at the bar and a sandy floor. This is what holidays are all about.

Helpful?
Thank Murtles55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best happy hour :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

Yes it's true not the best food. Meals are average. Although you can't go wrong with the rib appetizer ( large portion for 95. Pesos) However they have the best happy hour in Akumal . Great beach Atmosphere. Well trained & friendly staff and overall a fun place we would recommend .

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY/NJ
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Right on what a beach side meal experience should feel like”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

We found this restaurant just by chance, a turn to see 'what's there' right on the beach side road on Akumal. Turned out to be one of our favorite finds!. First, the catch of the day fish (entire fried fish), it was awesome!. The food was excellent, but on top of that, they view is priceless. Your tables are right on the beach with a nice breeze. There are regular tables, but we opted for the cool ones on the sand, and had our own hammocks. The also had fluffy bag seats, which are perfect to enjoy a drink or two. All of them are in the shade under palm trees and huts. Since we are planning on going back to Cancun soon, and Akumal is by far one of the best beaches, we will make sure we stop at La Buena Vida again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travel_soup_4thesoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Buena Vida Restaurant also viewed

 
Akumal, Riviera Maya
 

Been to La Buena Vida Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing