We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“La Buena Vida”

La Buena Vida Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 38 Restaurants in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $24
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Bar, Seafood, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff
Description: On the beautiful beachfront of Half Moon Bay in North Akumal is a one-of-a-kind restaurant and bar: La Buena Vida - The Good Life. La Buena Vida always has a festive atmosphere with great music, cold beer, scenic ocean views, and good fresh food. Meals are served on the beach under shady palapas with a casual atmosphere and an appetizing menu, ranging from fresh ceviche to tasty hamburgers. La Buena Vida is a popular restaurant venue for weddings. The rehearsal dinner, wedding ceremony, and reception can all be planned by the team at Akumal Weddings. Reservations Not Required! Reservations are accepted for groups of ten or more. We accept Visa, Mastercard, Pesos, and US Dollars.
Templeton, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“La Buena Vida”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This is a fun restaurant right on the beach in Akumal. (Across the street are some little souvenir stalls.)The prices are fair at La Buena Vida, and the food is very good. We ate there three times in one week. What drew us to return was the ambience and cheap drinks. There are tables, swings, tree houses, hammocks, and even a pool. The service was good and the drinks were cheap, but without much alcohol! Still, a fun evening experience with a four page menu of mostly Mexican food. Our family of four adults enjoyed ourselves at La Buena Vida.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jentrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,965 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,759
    842
    206
    69
    89
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
131 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“This really is the good life,”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Swings, bean bags, hammocks--even the seating here is fun. Very large menu allows just about everyone to find something they like. Everything we had (there were six of us, on multiple occasions) was good. And, of course the location right on the beach of gorgeous Half Moon Bay. Our favorite moment was probably sitting under a palapa, lounging around on beanbag chairs alternating between eating, drinking, and dozing. Sigh.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Racandee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing view”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We sat so close to the beach- the floors were sand. IOur driver recommended this place and rightfully so. The kids ran around and played in the sand. The food was delicious!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Love01281969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Food was fabulous but expensive!”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

There is a 10% off coupon in the free Akumal tourist map given out at hotels, but we forgot to use it. Dinner for two adults and two children came out to $80 US! And a couple of our drinks were discounted from being there during happy hour. It was the first meal of our trip and rather eye opening that we had to watch out how the meal bill racks up quickly.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alisatva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Still Daydreaming About La Buena Vida”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I'm not sure which dining experience I loved most.. swinging at the bar, digging my feet into the sand near the water or watching the sunset from one of their tree houses. This is the ultimate vacation restaurant. My family found an excuse to end up there nearly every day whether it was for dinner or just drinks. We couldn't stay away.

I'm picky when it comes to Mojitos and they make a great one! The food is fresh and tasty but nothing too crazy. My favorite was their salsa and signature drink (can't remember the name but it has Kahlua in it I believe).

The service can be slow because it gets very busy around dinner time but we tried to either go early or late to avoid the dinner rush. The tree house service was pretty slow too but honestly who cares when you're sitting in the tops of trees and watching the sky turn magnificent colors ;-)

Can't wait for my next trip to Akumal and La Buena Vida!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YCMM07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Buena Vida Restaurant also viewed

 
Akumal, Riviera Maya
 

Been to La Buena Vida Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing