We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Imelda's Ecocina

Ranked #11 of 38 Restaurants in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

We were so happy with the quality of the more traditional Mexican cocina cooking here at Imeldas...not to mention the family style and relaxed atmosphere served up with the mouth watering enchiladas!!!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank neverhome53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    26
    9
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Definitely sit and enjoy the freshest breakfast you will ever have...right outside the CEA, on the Akumal Beach!!!!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank theneherfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Yum and very laid back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

I had heard about this little shack about a year ago so when last in Akumal decided to hunt it down and try it out. There were only a handful of tables here, but it was off the beaten path so only another table had folks at it and then me.
Went for lunch and had chicken chilaquiles. Iit was very tastey and very reasonably priced.
Id go again...try something different on the menu this time.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank CDLVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern oregon
Level Contributor
176 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great, Prepared to Order Mexican Food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

We ate here several times for lunch and breakfast during our stay in Akumal and have no complaints at all! The only even close to complaint was that they don't have any beer.
This is a quaint, tucked away little Mexican restaurant that serves authentic Mexican dishes for super cheap prices. It is not fancy and if you want cloth napkins or mac and cheese, then go elsewhere. Their orange juice is squeezed right from the oranges when you order it and is very good. Huevos Rancheros was excellent as was their Habenero sauce.
Try it, you'll like it!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank benddragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing Little Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

I discovered this place by accident. It is a fantastic little place with two tables and a roof. There's something of a fixed menu--the chicken fajitas were delicious with flavor and it was cheap in my opinion. Chicken fajitas and a coke for 8 dollars. It was a great place to spend lunch in-between my dives.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank divergirl414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Imelda's Ecocina also viewed

 
Akumal, Riviera Maya
 
Akumal, Riviera Maya
Akumal, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Imelda's Ecocina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing