We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome stay....but”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rancho Banderas All Suites Resort by Marival Group
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Maple Ridge, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“awesome stay....but”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We chose Rancho Banderas because of the reviews. It is a very welcoming and friendly place in a fantastic location. Most of the staff is great, very helpful. The place is well cared for, comfortable and intimate. The only complaint I have is we paid extra for the premium liquor and that is not what we got. Make sure you watch them pour it if you go for the better stuff.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Rancho Banderas All Suites Resort by Marival Group, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Traveler
Thank you for posting a review on this web site. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay here, namely because of the resort's location and the service from the staff. Regarding your comment about Premium liquors, the bracelet you were given was a clear indication of your status. Our staff is trained to act accordingly, but in any event we have forwarded your comment to our food and beverages manager for proper follow up. We look forward to greeting you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    115
    42
    11
    13
See reviews for
148
153
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Rancho Jan. 31-Feb. 14 It was our second visit and we loved it even more. It is peaceful and very quiet, great walks on the beach! The staff is professional and very friendly, the rooms are dated but spacious and charming. We can hardly wait until we go back

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Carole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Rancho Banderas All Suites Resort by Marival Group, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Traveler
Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with other travelers on line. We value your insights. It pleases us to know that your enjoyed your second stay here even more than the first time, and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockland County, NY
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We have been owners (it’s a timeshare and resort) at Rancho Banderas for 11 years and finally got to stay here. We’re sorry we waited so long. The place is great and we had a wonderful time. Yes it is secluded and there are not too many activities. This would normally bother me because I like to be busy. But just seeing the beautiful ocean from our oceanfront room or the restaurant was mesmerizing. The beach is pristine and beautiful which we walked several times during the week. There were daily whale sightings, pelicans flying over the waves and gorgeous sunsets.

There is a bus right from the entrance that runs every 10 or 15 minutes and very inexpensive that goes between Puerto Vallarta and Punta Mita. We took the bus to Sayulita, another beach town good for surfing, and another day we went to Puerto Vallarta (which has changed a lot in the 11 years since we’ve been there).

The gardens and grounds at Rancho Banderas are meticulous and the suite was very nice. Our suite was recently remodeled and the walk-in shower was great. The nicest feature however was being able to walk out onto the patio that overlooked the ocean, or lay on the outdoor mattress. It was a one bedroom but it could sleep four. The kitchen was small but we took the all-inclusive package so we didn’t need a bigger one. We would have liked an additional chair in the living room.

The all-inclusive package was great. The food was excellent with only one meal that I didn’t like because it was spicy. The views were breathtaking. The waiters were very friendly (as was all the resort staff) and very efficient. Several dinners were themed (Italian, Mexican, Texas Grill, Shrimp night etc.) and on Thursday night and Saturday night there was excellent live music accompanying dinner. Because Rancho Banderas is pretty small (only 49 units), it feels quite intimate and the waiters get to know your preferences. You are not just a number.

One day we went to an “update” (timeshare presentation, in other words) at the Marival Resorts in Nuevo Vallarta which owns part of Rancho Banderas. The two resorts are like night and day. Marival is huge with tons of activities which at first I thought I would like but Rancho won me over. We will not wait another 11 years to go back!

P.S. Although the “update” was deceptive, there was very little pressure to buy.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Want2travelallaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Rancho Banderas All Suites Resort by Marival Group, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Owner
Thank you for posting a review of our resort on this web site, We value our guests' opinions, specially those from owners at our resort. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay here, the ocean view from your suite and the restaurant, and the theme nights at the restaurant, as well as the service from our staff. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

I just returned from Rancho Banderas! I had a fantastic time with my two teenage children. The grounds are immaculate. The view was awesome! We had a 3 bedroom which was very large! We opted for the all inclusive which was really the best deal. The food was amazing the best I have had in Mexico. All the staff were friendly and went over and beyond my expectations. We travelled to Sayulita for a day and watch the surfers it was amazing to watch them! The Sunday market in La Cruz is also very nice. Overall I will be returning!

Room Tip: Oceanview! Room 108
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa196842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Rancho Banderas All Suites Resort by Marival Group, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Traveler
Thank you for posting a review of our resort on this web site. We value our guests' opinions, and we are certain they also benefit other travelers when shared on line. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your accomodations and the quality of food, as well as the service from our staff. We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 10, 2014

My boyfriend and I visited Rancho Banderas for our birthdays Sept/Oct 2013. The resort was better than expected. I exchanged a week through Interval Int'l and when exchanging... it's always difficult to judge the condition of rooms, quality of food and attention to detail according to American standards. This place was a solid, 3 stars out of 4. Our room was spacious and updated. The kitchen was well stocked with supplies and large enough to cook a full meal if desired. The living room couch was super uncomfortable, even to sit on but... the bed was comfy and I slept soundly for an entire week. I requested a higher quality pillow upon arriving and received one that was comfortable for my neck (I have a neck injury). Bathroom was great! Walk-in shower was spacious enough for two. Television, cable and the ability to watch DVD's was convenient. The patio/balcony was quite nice and I think nearly every room has an ocean view at this resort. Convenience store has just about everything you may have forgotten or want during your stay. If they don't have it... they will get it for you. Food was pretty delicious at the one restaurant on the property. Service was impeccable. Meal plan was definitely worth the money. We did not purchase the meal plan for the entire week but we should have. Punta Mita is not super close to other towns and so seeking dinner out is a challenge with out a car. The cost of the meal plan is very reasonable for the quality and variety of food offered. You can not eat 3 meals a day beyond the resort for the same money and food quality. Do not plan on using your computer with the wireless service available. I spent hours trying to get simple tasks done for work and wasted my time that could have been spent in the ocean. Beach is O.K.. They could make it a little more attractive but they do have chairs, recliners, umbrellas, food and drink service and free body boards for use. Multi-level pool is pretty nice. It's maintained well and reflects the same standards of the rest of the resort. There are also two slides/tubes for kids or adults. Manager at the front desk is grumpy every day and pretty rude. Do not ask him for any help. Every one else at the resort was happy, smiley and very excited to be of service for whatever need you could think of. All in all... this was one of my favorite resorts that I have ever stayed at through an Interval exchange.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChicagoCaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Rancho Banderas All Suites Resort by Marival Group, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Traveler
Thank you for posting such an extensive review on this web site. We value guests's comments as we strive to provide remarkable vacation experiences to all our guests. We are sorry to read WiFi did not live up to your expectations. We have forwarded your comments to management for proper follow up. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 6, 2014

What I love about this hotel is that it is not downtown PV, what I hate about this hotel is that it not downtown! Not a party place, mainly a mature adult atmosphere - some younger families too. Very quiet there all night, perfect place to walk, read, or just relax!

Room Tip: All rooms have a beautiful view - no worries!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Rancho Banderas All Suites Resort by Marival Group, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Traveler
Thank you for posting a review of our resort on this web site. We value our guests' opinions and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay here. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

My husband and I visited this remote (one hour bus ride from downtown Puerto Vallarta) property several years ago, and found it the ideal location for winding down from our frenzied working lives. We were delighted to be able to do a trade through Interval for the second week of our vacation this year.

Rancho Banderas is not one of the over- the- top glitzy resorts springing up around Banderas Bay at the present time, but our one bedroom units offered more than enough space for two people to live comfortably.... large bedroom, adequate bathroom, kitchen/living room, and
balcony overlooking Banderas Bay with table and large lounge chair where you can nap and enjoy the sound of the surf. Kitchen offered apartment sized fridge, stove top with two burners (no kettle, and it took a very, very long time to heat enough water to boil spaghetti), toaster oven and dishwasher. We brought enough food from downtown (no food for sale here) for breakfast and one dinner, but it is apparent that management would prefer that people patronize the resort dining room.

An all-inclusive option is available... $49.00 per person for 7 days, $59.00 per person per day for 6 days, and so on. Dining room food was excellent, portions large, and prices reasonable.
Restaurant staff was outstanding. The eating area is large enough to allow almost everyone an
excellent view of Banderas Bay, and we enjoyed watching the sunsets every evening.

Sunday night buffet was great....salad bar ingredients tasted like they had just been harvested from the garden, a treat for tourists from northern regions who, at this time of the year, are accustomed to vegetables transported from the other side of the world. Our only mistake was to select beef as our meat option--what were we thinking??? - other guests found the chicken and pork very tasty. My husband declared the desserts to be delightful. I sampled tiny piece of creme caramel which was quite perfect.

The singer/guitarist and her accompanist provided the most enjoyable entertainment we have
encountered anywhere in Mexico.

Grounds are immaculate, inifinity pool and swimming pool overlook the bay. Bar service is available all day. It is possible to walk a mile in each direction on perfectly smooth sand. Each day the pelicans and seagulls entertained us with their fishing rituals.

Bus service is available to Bucerias and Puerto Vallarta, but be prepared to wait as timetable seems quite irregular. Taking the bus at rush hour is an experience not to be missed. The cab fare from downtown is $45.00.

Room Tip: Ask for a unit on the second floor with a full view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Rancho Banderas All Suites Resort by Marival Group, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Traveler
Thank you for posting such a comprehensive review of your vacation experience at our resort. Guests' opinions are very important to us; thank you for sharing your insights with other travelers on line. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay here, with the view of the ocean and maritime wildlife, the quality of accomodations and food and beverages and the service of our staff. We look forward to a new opportunity to serve you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta de Mita
0.2 mi away
W Punta de Mita
W Punta de Mita
#7 of 11 in Punta de Mita
160 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hotel Meson de Mita
Hotel Meson de Mita
#11 of 11 in Punta de Mita
80 reviews
8.8 mi away
Amor Boutique Hotel
Amor Boutique Hotel
#4 of 9 in Sayulita
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa
5.3 mi away
Iberostar Playa Mita
Iberostar Playa Mita
#3 of 11 in Punta de Mita
2,859 reviews
7.4 mi away
The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Banderas All Suites Resort by Marival Group? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Banderas All Suites Resort by Marival Group

Property: Rancho Banderas All Suites Resort by Marival Group
Address: Carretera a Punta de Mita Km 8.3, Punta de Mita 63729, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Punta de Mita
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Punta de Mita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rancho Banderas All Suites Resort by Marival Group 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Something Different, Something Better! Rancho Banderas is an intimate, all-inclusive hideaway on an endless beach just North of Vallarta Nayarit. Escape to a secluded resort with 49 spacious 1-4 Bedroom Villa Style accommodations on an expansive beachfront with cascading pools, lush gardens and pampering service. One Bedrooms start at 650 sq ft, Two and Three Bedrooms are 1050 and 1350 sq ft, and four Bedrooms 2200 sq ft! Hacienda style villas feature full kitchen, dining room and spacious terrace. Ocean Front Villas have breathtaking views overlooking the Pacific from a lush, beautiful bluff. Romantics and families enjoy spectacular settings and all-inclusive a la carte gourmet dining. Play on an endless beach on the Bay complete with food and beverage service, kayaks, boogie boards, lounge chairs, beach volleyball and more. Special kids activities program, ping pong and pool table. Cascading pools with waterfall, pool slides connecting three different levels of pools, full service spa and an ocean view gym! Breathtaking views with picture perfect romantic locations for couples to renew vows, get married or honeymoon. Lush gardens, white sand and ocean cliffs surround you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rancho Banderas All Suites Resort by Marival Group reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Banderas Vacation Villas Hotel Punta De Mita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing