We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking forward to coming back again.”

Serendipity Restaurant & Mezcaleria
Ranked #14 of 58 Restaurants in Punta de Mita
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Ocean view Restaurant with Live music and great Grill. Centemporary cuisine with local ingredients.Special catering for groups.
San Mateo, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Looking forward to coming back again.”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

My husband and I were staying at St. Regis (wonderful hotel) for 4 days, 3 nights back in June. We arrived at the hotel in the late afternoon. After we had settled in, we asked the concierge to make a dinner reservation for us for Serendipity (found it on Tripadvisor). We were greeted by the owner Sam who is friendly and simply made us feel very welcomed. We're from S.F. and turns out Sam also lived in the Bay Area for a while. We never saw the menu which we didn't mind because we like to explore and be surprised. Sam said we should give the tasting menu a try. It was simply wonderful! We love everything about the meal. Emma, you really are very talented. We hope to be back soon!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MCNg2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ochoa S, Propietario at Serendipity Restaurant & Mezcaleria, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Hola!

Muchas gracias for you review! it is really nice to know you enjoyed your so much you took the time to reccommend us.

You people need to stop saying that to Emma or her head is going to get huge haha just kidding!

Hope to see you around soon!

Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    44
    14
    1
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redwood City, California
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Casual Pampering? Yes, there is such a thing!”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

If you are staying at the Four Seasons or St Regis, you really must venture out of the gates. Just a very short cab ride will yield you a truly superb meal!

The atmosphere is very authentic Mexico. You are right on the water - separated by a chain link fence. At first you are like, what? A chain link fence. But then they hand you a roll of paper towels instead of napkins, you dig your toes into the sand and relax.

Food in truly inventive. Super fresh, hint of Mexican but all delicious. In our experience, there are no menus. They just bring you the specials. Two in our party had dietary restrictions and they were most accommodating. We ate asparagus grilled with strawberries and soy sauce. Oh my god! Only to be beat by the watermelon and spinach salad peppered with chilis. Dessert was the best flan cake I've ever eaten.

Finally, the service was the best. Both Sam and Daniel make you feel right at home, anticipate what you want before you even realize you want it.

A truly wonderful dining experience. We will definitely be back here multiple times on our next visit to Punta Mita.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleM650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma B, Executive Chef at Serendipity Restaurant & Mezcaleria, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you so much for this great review! it really means a lot to us :D Also, i want you to be the first to know the chain link fence is finally gone! the view is way more special!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California, United States
Level 6 Contributor
571 reviews
402 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Well worth it”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Our Timeshare is about 20 minutes away and we found this restaurant on TripAdvisors. We were so happy that we did. At first we were not to sure since we were the first ones there and it does not look that good in daylight. The owner came over right away and made us feel right at home. We started with a cactus quacamole that knocked our socks off. We then had the lasagna Azteca Tequitos de Jamaica, Hibiscus Flower Tortias, Coco con Camaron with coconut milk, and Ahi Tuna which were all great. We then met Emma the young Chief who is a rising star. She and the owner Sam are opening new frontiers in Mexican Cuisine.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Napamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma B, Executive Chef at Serendipity Restaurant & Mezcaleria, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
I'm really glad to read your comments, good to know you liked your dinner so much!...
Rising star huh? i've never been called that before but i liked it! will continue to work hard to keep up with my new title hehe.
thank you so much for this awesome review!!!


Sam & Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Go see Emma and Sam!!!”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

That's the first thing we say when we get into Punta Mita! We have had the pleasure of dining on Emma's delightful dishes over the last 3 years and we have to say she keeps creating more and more divine dishes with each visit. Now she just asks us what we feel like and she creates a masterpiece each time! Emma's food are always fresh, perfect pairings of ingredients. Emma's passion and love of cooking is present in every dish she creates. So go sit back relax Sam will make you a awesome cocktail and Emma will make a meal out of this world!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rubzrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma B, Executive Chef at Serendipity Restaurant & Mezcaleria, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thankyou so much for such an awesome review!!! it is always a pleassure coocking for you!... throughout the years i even feel like you've been a part of my growth in the kitchen.

Hope to see you again soon, with new creations to offer!

Sam & Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“New favorite in Punta Mita”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I have been going to Punta. Mita for about ten years.. The restaurant scene has continued to grow with each addition a great one. Serendioity is amazing. We loved everyone. Sam served us wonderful dishes with interesting flavor combinations. I am still thinking about the tuna ceviche that had cilantro and fresh pineapple. They use classic central mexican style cooking and add a contemporary twist through the fresh herbs. I would encourage everyone to add this to your list.

I give them the highest rating for everything except atmosphere. They are so close to the marina and have a chain link fence around the property. We were a little nervous about that but once we settled in, forgot completely about it. I suspect Sam and Emma will do something to improve that shortly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PuntaMitaMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ochoa S, Propietario at Serendipity Restaurant & Mezcaleria, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Hola!

I'm really glad to know you liked so much your dinner!, we are currently working on building a new deck closer to the ocean and taking down the fence that nobody likes hehe, your VIP table will be set right there for your next visit

Hope to see you soon!

Sam & Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Serendipity Restaurant & Mezcaleria also viewed

Punta de Mita, Riviera Nayarit
Punta de Mita, Riviera Nayarit
 
Punta de Mita, Riviera Nayarit
Punta de Mita, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Serendipity Restaurant & Mezcaleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing