We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You Must Go!”

Serendipity Restaurant & Mezcaleria
Ranked #14 of 58 Restaurants in Punta de Mita
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Kids, Scenic view, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Description: Ocean view Restaurant with Live music and great Grill. Centemporary cuisine with local ingredients.Special catering for groups.
Kent, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“You Must Go!”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Some of the most cordial and friendly owners in Punta Mita. BBQ platter was amazing and my wife really liked her mahi mahi. More than ample proportions and a really relaxing change of pace.
Service was top notch.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DougStarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma B, at Serendipity Restaurant & Mezcaleria, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thankyou for your review, it was a pleassure to serve you and your lovely wife, hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    44
    14
    1
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Snohomish, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“first night in PdM - good spot”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We ate here our first night in PdM. Was a great way to start the vacation - live music, cold beer, friendly service, and tasty food. I'm sorry we didn't get to go back, next time.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AdamDL78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma B, at Serendipity Restaurant & Mezcaleria, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
We are happy you had a fun night with us at the bar, we will see you next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicioso!!!!!”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

This is our third year visiting Punta de Mita and we are always looking for something new and different. Tonite we found perfection at Serendipity. Owner Sam, former manager of the very successful Rosa Mexicano, and his chef Emma, former chef at Si Senor and Haixa have put together an ecletic menu that is appealing at all levels: innovative, tasty, ample and so fresh. We started with Ensilada de Nopales - a cool and delicious appetizer of sauteed cactus and herbs. My wife and I next tried different salads - she a crispy, fresh spinach salad with watermelon and feta cheese topped with a very delicate dressing; mine centered around juicy slices of mango with a side of shrimp. My wife's entree was tuna seared to perfection, very fresh, with a delicious green sauce. I was presented with a mixed grill of chorizzo, steak, chicken and, yes, best fall-off-the-bone ribs that I've had in a long time; accompanied by a baked potato, seasoned rice and beans. This dish was billed as all-you-can-eat....but after Emma came by to visit and explain the desert options, I had to save room to enjoy a combination plate of guava with goat cheese and a delicate cheese flan. Priced right (and they take visa or mastercard!!), and in a very casual, friendly atmosphere, all we could say was "delicioso". PS. We're sending our son and his wife there tomorrow night.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Allijogr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma B, Chef Ejecutivo at Serendipity Restaurant & Mezcaleria, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
We are very gratefull of your great review, your son and his wife came in the next day, we hope the had a good experience as well. It is really flatering that you learnt and used this word with us: DELICIOSO!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Meal”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Even though their claim to fame is the best BBQ ribs in town, I had their tuna which was absolutley fantastic. The service was wonderful and friendly. The Chef visited with us after dinner and we told her we loved the food and had so much of it that we had no room for desert. She insisted that we should have just one spoon of desert. A few mainutes later four full spoons emerged form the kitchen beautifully arranged. The taste was beyond compare!!!
We are definenetly going back before we leave.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shahab19_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma B, at Serendipity Restaurant & Mezcaleria, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thankyou for your review!, we love our job and nothing makes us try harder than a completely satisfied customer. Thankyou again and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Terrific new Mexican contemporary food spot”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Last night we stopped for a late dinner at this restaurant. Wow, what a nice experience - great food and a great band. What more can you ask for? The menu had a wonderful selection of appetizers, soups and main dishes. Our party tried two different soups, one, a cream based soup with Chihuahua cheese and avocado and the other squash blossom soup with homemade corn croutons. We all tasted each and they were wonderful. We also had the esquite appetizer with corn and pablano peppers. This had an incredible taste. For main courses we had the ‘best ribs in town’ (all you can eat) and the fish of the day which was dorado. The barbequed food was prepared on their large outdoor grill, which also added an extra bit of ambiance to the evening. Everything was presented beautifully and had wonderful flavors. We met the chef, Emma Bonilla, a beautiful young and energetic woman who never stopped smiling. It was quite obvious that she is passionate about her work and it shows in the creativity of her menu. We topped off our meal with the chef’s delicious flan.

We visit Puerto Vallarta nearly every February and from now on, a trip to Punta de Mita will be on our itinerary for a dinner at Serendipity. Don’t miss it if you are within driving distance. Open for dinner only with live music on Thursdays and Saturdays.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma B, at Serendipity Restaurant & Mezcaleria, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you very much for the lovely comments, I am absolutely pleased that you came and visit all the way down from Puerto Vallarta. Hope to see you again next february to surprise you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Serendipity Restaurant & Mezcaleria also viewed

Punta de Mita, Riviera Nayarit
Punta de Mita, Riviera Nayarit
 
Punta de Mita, Riviera Nayarit
Punta de Mita, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Serendipity Restaurant & Mezcaleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing