We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Lovely Lunch Spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oscar's Fish Tacos

Oscar's Fish Tacos
Ranked #41 of 49 Restaurants in Punta de Mita
Cuisines: Seafood, Mexican
Dining options: Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Seating
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
86 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lovely Lunch Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Just the thought of Oscar's makes me smile...
Feet in the sand, good fresh fish and shrimp, great Mechalada's and service with lots of smiles...right on the beach in front of the pelicans fishing in the waves.
And they deliver to the beach club of Hotel Quinta del Sol -- what a luxury.
We enjoyed lunch there so much we returned 4 times in a week!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PVCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    4
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Breathe Deep...Relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Barefoot dining at it's finest...literally on the water. This is the second time eating at Oscars. The location is difficult to find but worth it if you visit Punta de Mita. The other restaurants tend to be pricey as they cater to the high end crowd coming from the Four Seasons Hotel and others just around the bend.

Oscars is very basic good food prepared fresh. It's great to go and unwind while sitting under the thatched roof or simply tented roofs. Oscar was there both visits and he is eager to take great care of you so you return.

This location is at the VERY end of the strip of all the restaurants, hotels and shops. We thought he was closed when we passed his original location (that was closed). Luckily we saw a sign to guide us to his new location.

The only complaint I have is that the water coming from the upstream along the tables wasn't very clean smelling. It was overshadowed by the beautiful ocean in front where you can watch the pelicans continuously diving for a fresh catch. He mentioned that it is his temporary location while remodeling the original.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wbilinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great location - average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Fish tacos don't live up to the hype. Service depends on how vocal you are. Not sure if it's changed since they've moved to the beach, but still enjoyable.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dgaschen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best authentic Mexican fish tacos anywhere!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The restaurant is very casual, but the fish is fresh and delicious! I LOVE fish tacos and will order them whenever I can. However, this place is by far my favorite!! They even delivered to our Hotel, la Quinta del Sol!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TW501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snohomish, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“great food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This is a great spot to stop and have some delicious fish tacos. it is a quaint little restaurant on "restaurant row". It is a total "locals" feel and the food is great. sit out back on the beach and eat your tacos while you look at where the fish just came from. The people are super nice and friendly, the food is good and the beer is cold.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AdamDL78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oscar's Fish Tacos also viewed

Punta de Mita, Riviera Nayarit
Punta de Mita, Riviera Nayarit
 
Punta de Mita, Riviera Nayarit
Punta de Mita, Riviera Nayarit
 
Punta de Mita, Riviera Nayarit
Punta de Mita, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Oscar's Fish Tacos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing