We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Blue Shrimp!”
Review of The Blue Shrimp

The Blue Shrimp
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“No Blue Shrimp!”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We went to Blue Shrimp after dining at Si Señor that sister restaurant several times during our stay and thought it time to switch it up. It was good but I wished we'd gone back to Si Señor instead. The biggest disappointment was albeit its name they had no blue shrimp!! We went early in the evening and were told to try again the next day after they'd gone fishing. Big letdown as their Napkin Shrimp we ordered just didn't compare. The octopus was delicious and the tuna sashimi was the standout dish. The shrimp tacos were just okay. We went specifically for the shrimp and it was a little bit of a letdown but the restaurant does offer a nice ambiance and good service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    123
    33
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan Beach, California, USA
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“The shrimp”
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

We had a great time. Enrique was fantastic at the bar, we gave him two words to go by.. Rum and or vodka. What a drink he made.

The food was good, but not great. The ribs are very tender and moist and the sashimi was coated with something my wife didn't love.. But the actual fish was great. Clan chowder was fine as well.

Come for the drinks and that view!!! The service was some of the best anywhere. I would go back for sure.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peterisacksen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Illinois
2 reviews
“Best shrimp ever”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We had just a wonderful meal at the Blue Schrimp. The drinks were excellent ( I would say the Tequilla flowed well that night).The Parent Schrimp quite larege and tasty the best I'd had (and im not necessrily a schrimp lover) that came with some wonderful sauces/ condiments. Miguel our sever was fantastic. Over all a great dining experience, highly recommend it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erik F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California, United States
Level 6 Contributor
571 reviews
402 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“A nice Tourist spot”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Right on the beach with a wonderful ocean view. My had the brisket which OK, but not cooked long enough. I had the Argentine steak which was suppose to be medium but, came well done. The vegetables were mainly sautéed peppers and a bit overcooked. Everyone was very friendly but service was a bit slow. It was a bit overpriced for what was offered.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Napamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mundelein, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Brisket in Mexico ?”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This Blue Shrimp offers another touch of greatness to Martene's Blue Shrimp in Puerto Vallarta.
You have to visit this location for the greatest brisket and ribs humanly possible. And, of course, the famous coconut shrimp. They also have Dish Network, they only place outside of Puerto Vallarta to watch NHL Hockey and NBA Basketball. The drinks and service and ambiance is outstanding. Thank you Blue Shrimp, Punta Mita.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LMMandel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Shrimp also viewed

Punta de Mita, Riviera Nayarit
Punta de Mita, Riviera Nayarit
 
Punta de Mita, Riviera Nayarit
Punta de Mita, Riviera Nayarit
 
Punta de Mita, Riviera Nayarit
Punta de Mita, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to The Blue Shrimp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing