We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Evening!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carolina

Carolina
Reserve with OpenTable
Carolina is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $80 - $100
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Seafood, Spanish, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The jewel in the Crown, Carolina offers a seductive and bespoke fine dining restaurant experience. With her five diamonds and AAA rating Carolina showcases the very best of modern Mexican cuisine from Chef Jose Meza Arroyave. Using only the freshest of local ingredients Carolina offers a unique and magical culinary journey
Houston,TX
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous Evening!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Outstanding service by professionals that have maintained their friendliness and sense of humor. The food was outstanding, the restaurant is beautiful, we sat in the terrace for an absolute perfect evening. The passion fruit martini was excellent. The four of us thoroughly enjoyed our meal and appreciated the amuse bouche throughout the evening. Our friends were celebrating their anniversary and it was a wonderful evening.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cemberson, F&B Manager at Carolina, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Greetings from Punta Mita.

Thank you very much for your review. It gives us great pleasure to read how much you enjoyed your dining experience at Carolina. Hopefully it will not be too long before you visit us again.

Kind regards.

Oliver Atkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    275
    26
    18
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coral Gables, FL
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Gourmet food and service in Punta de Mita”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

From the moment that you arrive you are greeted with truly outstanding service- polite, somewhat formal, yet "from the heart".
Alberto and his staff are true professionals. The food was delicious: every dish was tasty and light. The wine recommendation by Alberto was "right on target" for our taste. The service with tremendous attention to detail: description of main ingredients, prompt / not rushed and with the entire team making sure that you have a memorable experience.
If you like gourmet food in an elegant setting while in Punta de Mita do not miss Carolina...

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jvtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cemberson, F&B Manager at Carolina, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Greetings!

Many thanks for your lovely review.

Alberto and all the team send you their best and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. It gives us great pleasure to hear how much you enjoyed yourselves in Carolina and that we were able to exceed your expectations.

Please dont hesitate to visit us the next time you are in town.

Kind regards.

Oliver Atkins
F&B Magager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Perfecto”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

We were lucky to visit st regis for 8 nights. This is a beautiful restaurant at the top of the resort with a lovely view of the bay. The food is the most sophisticated in the area and is fresh and beautiful. The prices are reasonable for where you are and so is the wine list. The restaurant manager is a gem and we enjoyed out interaction with him. Try the Casa Maduro rose while listening to the Cuban jazz band while enjoying your dessert "egg"and you may never leave. Next time we come back we have a date with the manager to have a tequila tasting! Gracias!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cemberson, F&B Manager at Carolina, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Richard.

Many thanks for your kind words. We are very pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your dining experience at Carolina. I don't think I could have described it better myself!

Alberto is preparing your tequila tasting as we speak. Ready when you are!

All the best and please dont hesitate to contact us should you need any assistance with your next reservation.

Best for now.

Oliver Atkins
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply Fantastic! You can't miss it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

If you are lucky enough to visit this little piece of heaven on earth called Punta Mita; you can not and should not allowed your self the gift of visiting Carolina Restaurant at the St. Regis Hotel. From its people to the food to the attention of having the Hotel GM Thank you for your visit, world class service and attention at a world class hotel filled with incredible and lovely people who make you feel right at home from the moment you arrive until the moment you depart. Thank you for an amazing experience and service, my husband and I truly enjoyed our special dinner!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cemberson, F&B Manager at Carolina, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Greetings from sunny Punta Mita!

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed Carolina and the hotel.

It makes us very happy and proud whenever we read a review like yours.

Hopefully it wont be too long before you can visit is again.

Many thanks.

Olvier Atkins
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What more could you ask for?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Really the title says it all. Truly a fantastic experience. My wife and I were given the pleasure of dining in Carolina, while visiting this exquisite resort.
The entire setting, from decor, to the optional open air terrace, set a tone that I would call "relaxed luxury". To me this term means, you have a truly majestic setting, paired with all of the pomp and circumstance that comes with a fine dining experience. You have an entire staff, with culinary expertise, yet when you sit back on that terrace, over-looking the beautiful landscape, being relaxed by the cool evening breeze......you're at home.
Our server, Mr. Luis Flores, was an incredible wealth of knowledge. My wife and I asked many different questions relating to the varied courses, and nothing stumbled him. He was both knowledgable and personable. We valued our time with him. I could go on and on about each member of the team that we met, but this review would be extensive.
Our overall experience was impeccable. The Chef is a welcomed addition to Carolina, and it was a pleasure to meet and tell him, that he was a true artist. I highly recommend Carolina. Thank you all for a job well done.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank BrianEMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cemberson, Food & Beverage Manager at Carolina, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Mr. Murphy.

Thank for taking such a wonderful review. We are all very proud to read your words and see how much you both enjoyed yourselves in Carolina.

I don't think reviews get much better than this. Thank you from the entire team and of course from Luis and Chef Alfredo.

We only hope it's not too long before you're back here again.

Very best regards.

Oliver Atkins
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carolina also viewed

Punta de Mita, Riviera Nayarit
Punta de Mita, Riviera Nayarit
 
Punta de Mita, Riviera Nayarit
Punta de Mita, Riviera Nayarit
 
Punta de Mita, Riviera Nayarit
Punta de Mita, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Carolina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing