We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intimate, Romantic, and Luxurious - A new favorite in Mexico”
Review of Imanta Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Imanta Resort
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Punta de Mita
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed in the Temple Casona. It had what is in my opinion the most beautiful pool on the property. We went on the off season, so we were not very lucky with the weather, but the luxurious accommodations, incredibly attentive staff, excellent food, and unmatched setting made everything just right nonetheless. The property is very intimate (at total of 14 units I believe), and the private beach seemed made just for us. The staff made us feel like we were the only clients on earth that mattered, and the chef deserves as particular mention due to his skills. We had one delicious meal after another. I highly recommend the wood fired whole fish (which the chef purchases every morning on the fisherman's dock) and the tuna sashimi. We ventured off the property for a "change" a couple of times, but both times we regretted it. None of the "best of" places hold a candle to the beauty of this property and the quality of the food. There is nothing more frustrating than to drive to a place for a "special meal" and find out that it is terrible and cost more than our hotel's menu (where we would have eaten like royalty). The property is located on 200+ hectares of private, gated jungle - but no worries everything pertaining to our needs was within quick walking distance (or they will pick you up with a golf cart if you're too stuffed). Because it was the off-season, we were able to visit several of the other casitas. Though many had little view of the water, each casita was modern, luxurious, spacious and had a unique feature of its own. One casita for example had an amazing and absolutely huge outdoor shower built into the jungle. We also got a chance to visit the Casona Jaguar. This is an actual full-service villa and is a bit big for two, but it is really spectacular. I highly recommend it for a family or a group of friends. The master bedroom has a "balcony" that hovers right over the villa's pool. Very cool. Soon however, we were told that the hotel will be marketing the owner's residence which is a three story luxury villa built on top of the trees of the jungle - yes, a high tech tree-house with your own butler, chef, and pool fed by a natural stream and waterfall. Robinson Crusoe eat your heart out. This villa also has its own beach which is separate from the hotel's already secluded and super private one. Unfortunately the tree house is not suited for families with younger kids as rooms are on different floors. Still, though kids are welcome (get the Casona Jaguar if traveling with kids), you are likely to go to Imanta for adult time so the tree "house" will be perfect. Going on the off season has its benefits in terms of really touring a property. No luxury or high-tech convenience has been spared on the property so those who need to stay connected to their iPads will not have issues, but my personal favorite little detail was the alabaster lamps that are found throughout to light each path and the outdoor areas of the hotel and the casitas. I can't wait to return and perhaps hike to the top of their mountain - I'll have to find time between meals though. (I don't eat breakfast and didn't use the spa so I did not rate them for this reason - however room service for drinks was super fast!)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CdiC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImantaResort, Public Relations Manager at Imanta Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Thank you very much for your review.
We will share it with the staff and specially with Chef Olivier.
Thank you for realizing how much love we put into every detail of Imanta.
The majestic Cerro del Mono is waiting for you to climb to the top (unbeatable views), we are all waiting for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
There are newer reviews for Imanta Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 125 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed in Imanta on our honeymoon in 2012, it's been over a year and i still day dream of this magical place! It is truly special in every way..nestled in a lush jungle facing a beautiful ocean.. In Imanta, you leave everything behind, you're almost forced to, because here, you see, you feel, you smell, you hear, you experience all the good things in life at their best. The design and care that has been put into creating this slice of heaven has been thought of down to the toilet rolls!!! At Imanta, looking down at the ocean, even the tops of the villas are dressed with plant pots and rocks so there is nothing your eyes see that may look half unpretty!

The people that work here have brought 7 star service to another level, what you desire at Imanta, they will go beyond to fulfill..there is too much to mention, the giant size bed that hugs you to the most peaceful sleep, the mind-blowing delicious very fresh food that you will crave (no menu, whatever you feel like eating, the chef will make for you), the endless activities avaiable for you to do if you decide to leave the resort..

I am yet to stay at a resort as incredible as Imanta, but i already know that will be a challenge to even try to find..i sincerely mean it when i say this is the most special place on Earth.

Room Tip: We stayed at an ocean front casa..having a huge glass window behind us to see the green and a huge g...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smankers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImantaResort, Public Relations Manager at Imanta Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Thank you so much for your review.
We loved your comments and how you described Imanta.
Reading "The most special place on earth" Makes us feel proud and motivates us to continue delivering great experiences.
Thank you again and we hope to see you soon in a near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I just returned from Imanta. The entire experience was excellent. The property is exquisite. The casitas are large and perfectly appointed (there is not a bad room there). The beach, which boasts an entire jungle as its backdrop, is gorgeous, warm, swimmable and private. The staff is not only kind and friendly but executes with perfection and will accommodate you in anyway if they can. The food, and especially the fresh fish, is delicious. I returned home and recommended the hotel to all of my friends. The property and the larger rooms and amazing bathrooms are actually better than they appear on the website if that is possible. The Casona Los Templos was amazing but there is not a bad room at the property. Also, I was there in the rainy season which was still amazing. There is no other hotel to stay at near Vallarta, and I would easily choose this hotel over any hotel in Cabo. The hotel offers many activities, and if you need more, you are very close to Sayulita and 40 minutes into Vallarta. Akis, Adrian, Aturo, Alex, Olivier, Benito, Javier, and everyone not named made for an sublime trip. If you can go, you should. (NB: well traveled writer).

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heatherdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImantaResort, Public Relations Manager at Imanta Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Thank you very much for your review.
We are glad you had an excellent experience!
Thank you so much for recommending us to your friends, we will make sure they have a great experience as well if they visit us.
We will share your comments with the staff and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I've just returned from Imanta, my second visit there and truly a memorable one.
All the reviews listed here are truly genuine, as I worry about the bias slant of many in my industry. Its almost impossible to have 100% positive feedback, but Imanta deserves much more.
Guaranteed it is not for everyone, it is very expensive. But if you are fortunate, and in love or need to rekindle, are stressed out and need privacy, or want a warm swimmable beach all to yourself, go no further, this IS heaven. And hard to imagine 45 minutes north of Puerto Vallarta.

Its such a build up just arriving thru a Jurassic Park-like jungle, so unlike the sleepy town of Higuera Blanca it borders. But once you arrive you will be hand held into an environment that exudes the finest of details in art and architecture, flora and fauna and food and beverage.

There are 11 Casonas, # 2 and 5, Aye and Tayau, are oceanfront. #1 is the largest, Casona Jaguar, which sleeps 6 and is 3 stories high. It has a commanding view of Punta Mita and Litibu beach. Each one is handcrafted a bit differently yet so organic and elegant. Most have private, larger than life plunge pools, and sunbathing terraces equipped with lounge chairs and lounge beds. There is no need to leave here except to enjoy the beach, just steps away down a shaded path to the ocean.
The sea life was fantastic last week - dolphin were jumping out of the water after schools of fish while the pelicans and frigates were soaring above them all, which made for quite the seascape.

Ah, only at Imanta.....

Kudos to Alex Mendiola, the Director of Sales and his staff for making this imprint last forever.

Suzan

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank SuzanRada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImantaResort, Public Relations Manager at Imanta Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thank you very much for your review.
It was a true pleasure having you with us again.
We really appreciate your kind words about Imanta!You described us perfectly!
We will pass on the message to Alex and we hope to see you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

If you are looking for a small romantic hotel, I don't think that you can find any better.
This was an anniversary trip for us and I researched it extensively- thank you Trip Advisor and fellow contributors! The finalists before making a decision were St. Regis PM, Four Seasons PM, and Ventanas and Capella in Cabos. I chose Imanta and it was unquestionably the best choice for us as I explain below.

Rooms:
We had an Oceanfront (Tayau) and it was truly special. Excellent and practical layout, private and with a beautiful (though not wide open- some palms in the way) ocean view. The bathroom was spacious with a great shower. The suite has one nice thoughtful touch- 3 layers of doors/windows clear glass, screened, and complete blackout. The sound of breaking waves was simply amazing. The outdoor space was our favorite- a comfortable bed with an umbrella behind the pool, a heated reasonably sized private pool, and two chaise lounges in front of the pool facing the ocean.

Service:
Exceptional, personalized and "from the heart". We liked that it was a little less formal/more genuine than at St. Regis, FS or Ventanas. Every employee had a smile and wanted to make sure that we felt at home. I think it all trickles down from the top: Maria, Alex and Tanya are true professionals that love what they do. Tanya (F & B Director) went out of her way to make sure that every meal was perfect, especially our private Observatory anniversary dinner. Benito at the beach (and everywhere!!!) was the best server that we have ever had. He was on top of every detail, made excellent off the menu suggestions and made sure that our lunches was to our liking (and also reserved items for our dinner while he wasn't there). Waipy (main concierge) was extremely helpful and patient with our outside reservations. Brenda, Israel and Margarita also spoiled us rotten.

Food:
Congratulations to Tanya, Chef Olivier and Chef Eva!!! EVERY meal was absolutely delicious!!! The fish, lobster and ingredients were absolutely fresh. The end result- light and tasty fish and seafood. We would especially recommend the Ceviche, fresh whole fish "sarandeado" and the lobster. The steak was ok but unquestionably the weakest. The cucumber Margaritas and wine list were also great. If you are a wine lover, focus on the Mexican choices or you will pay a significant premium...(or bring a couple of bottles and pay the corkage $35 / bottle). We ate 4 meals out of the resort- Casa Teresa, Carolina, Cafe Des Artistes and Sea Breeze and would highly recommend Casa Teresa and Carolina (see comments in our review of these two).

Additional comments:
We went at the end of dry season so vegetation surrounding the resort was very dried out/ brown (although at resort itself they irrigate and greener). Ladies, no high heels or wedges- a lot of steps and they are made from irregular stones (comment courtesy of my wife :)). Expect considerable stairs/steps to get around the resort. In making the rooms feel a natural part of the cliffs, there is no way around this. If you like golf, the courses at the FS/St. Regis are very nice, especially the Pacifico. Finally, the beach was beautiful to look at but too rough to swim during our time.

Sorry that this was so long but, in summary, if you want a small, exclusive, romantic getaway go to Imanta- you will be hard pressed to find anything better.

Room Tip: Spurge for the "ocean front". The "ocean" suites have only partial ocean views.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jvtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImantaResort, Public Relations Manager at Imanta Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Thank you very much for your extensive review!
We are so proud to read that between all your choices, Imanta was the best!
We are glad you enjoyed TAYAU (God of the sun) and all the carefully thought details we put into our hotel.
We will share your comments with all the staff and specially the ones you mentioned, it is an honor for them to know they truly contributed and made a difference for you.
What you mentioned is motivating, we all put our hearts to make guests feel at home and have a memorable experience with us.
You must come back and see Imanta in the different seasons, you will love the summer, the fall and winter, it is always a different experience, the colors, smells, the beach, the ocean, all changes day by day!
Thanks for the advice to ladies!
Thank you again for your words and we look forward to sharing more moments together in the future!
Best always and many more anniversaries to come!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We recently spent a week an Imanta, and it was pure perfection. We were one of only 4 couples at the resort that week so we found it to be extremely private and romantic - which is exactly what we were looking for. The setting was absolutely wonderful - waking up to the sounds of the waves on the rocks, beautiful 80 degree days and sunsets that looked like paintings.
What really sets the resort apart is the service and and people. The entire staff is genuinely happy to be there and to help. Everyone had a smile, and were always looking for ways to enhance our experience, without invading our privacy. We felt like royalty - which was a little hard to get used to, since we have 3 kids! But again, the staff knew just the right touches to put us at ease and allow us to enjoy our meals, our time in the casa and our afternoon siestas down at the beach.
Speaking of the food, we found it to be exceptionally fresh and flavorful. Portion sizes are great and everything on the table is of high quality. The catch of the day was always good and we had the best ceviche and margaritas of our lives down at the beach thanks to Benito!!!
If you are looking to escape reality, this is the place. We can't wait to go back and see our new friends again soon.
Hasta Pronto!

Room Tip: Each room is extremely private - hard to believe there are any bad choices
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Devin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImantaResort, Public Relations Manager at Imanta Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Thank you very much for your review!
We are glad it was special for you, and romantic and private, that is our concept. We want guests to feel in a private island.
We will share your review with the staff. Thanks for recognizing them. You are royalty to us!!!
Margaritas will be waiting for you at the beach, please come back soon!
Best always!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We spent just one night at Imanta after a stay at the Four Seasons. Imanta far surpassed our expectations. The service was impeccable and the food was fantastic. The bungalows with a soaking tub, private pool, and day bed are expansive and luxurious, yet still rustic and set in nature. The spa treatments, including massage, are reasonably priced and really good. The staff were all friendly and attentive. No detail was overlooked -- the minifridge was even stocked with complimentary cool drinks and frozen Snickers. The Four Seasons is great, but Imanta is in a class of its own.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sylvia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImantaResort, Public Relations Manager at Imanta Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Thank you very much for your review! We are so happy to read we exceeded your expectations, as it is our main goal.
We look forward to having you again with us for a longer stay! There is so much to share!
Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta de Mita
5.5 mi away
W Punta de Mita
W Punta de Mita
#6 of 11 in Punta de Mita
187 reviews
4.4 mi away
Amor Boutique Hotel
Amor Boutique Hotel
#4 of 10 in Sayulita
242 reviews
4.4 mi away
Siete Lunas
Siete Lunas
#6 of 10 in Sayulita
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Casa De Mita
Casa De Mita
#9 of 11 in Punta de Mita
166 reviews
5.1 mi away
The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort
4.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Punta Mita
Four Seasons Resort Punta Mita
#2 of 11 in Punta de Mita
1,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imanta Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imanta Resort

Address: Punta de Mita, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Punta de Mita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Punta de Mita
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Punta de Mita
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Punta de Mita
#7 Luxury Hotel in Punta de Mita
Price Range: $596 - $1,703 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Imanta Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Imanta Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imanta Hotel Punta De Mita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing