We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome first time to Mexico.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Punta de Mita
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was my first time in Mexico. My friend and I went to celebrate her birthday and it was a delight from the moment we arrived to the minute we left. The hotel itself was always clean, the grounds immaculate. Every staff member was friendly and helpful. We saw Armando and Merly from the buffet area each morning, and both were friendly and amusing and made us feel very welcome while improving our Spanish! The lush vegetation and wildlife was incredible - loved the peacocks and iguanas roaming the grounds, although the zoo could be a bit smelly at times. The beach was gorgeous, the adult pool and bar full of fellow Canadians relaxing and open for easy conversation. Had a massage at the Spa which was delightful. There were a few negatives. The buffet was not impressive and didn't seem to offer much variety. Also, we were annoyed to discover that all-inclusive guests were not allowed to reserve tables at the a la carte restaurants; we were told it wouldn't be a problem to get seated without a reservation. This was not the case however, as 3 separate times we were turned away and asked to return in 30-45 mins. The fact that the hotel was quite a distance from PV was both a blessing (our setting was private and secluded far from the concrete jungle) and a curse (we had a long bus/taxi ride both ways whenever we went to Puerto Vallarta for a tour). Another minor observation we have to make is the water pressure in the showers...don't expect a nice pressured stream! Slightly more than a trickle is the norm. The beds were very hard, but the linens were clean and crisp. Overall we had an excellent stay and would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LHMclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,669)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,960 - 1,966 of 4,669 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

We traveled here with family and friends from Feb.20,2013 to Mar.2,2013 (There were 9 of us all together) Upon reading a lot of the negative reviews we thought maybe they were exaggerated as we found you have to take all reviews with a grain of salt. We have been to all-inclusives before so we do have places to compare this to.

The grounds are quite impressive with the zoo in the middle, but if you have bad knees there are a LOT of stairs everywhere to get around the resort. (part of the character of the resort - but can be taxing on the body)

The restaurant reservation system was awful. There has to be an easier way for people to get into the a la carte restaurants. If you didn't upgrade your room - you couldn't make reservations. If you got there right when they opened at 6pm you could get a table otherwise you could wait until 8:30 to get in :( The Mexican restaurant was our least favorite. The food was cold and the service was very poor. We really enjoyed the beach BBQ (Mario and his crew were great!) and the Japanese restaurant was very good. The sports bar food was REALLY good... made to order! Thanks to Ramon for cooking us some awesome bacon cheeseburgers!
The buffet food was pretty average, but lots of variety. The crepe station for the evening meals was exceptional. Edi & Alberto were great waiters!!! Raphael at the beach bar was really good too.

Sadly, there was no beach service or pool service and you couldn't take any food out of the restaurants (whether it be the snack bar by the pool or the sports bar by the lobby)
The water in the pools was very cold.
The coffee machines were often unavailable either because they were not working or there were no cups to be found! The ice cream machines are a great idea....if they could just keep them working!

The spa was quite nice and the fitness gym. We enjoyed booking the hot tub/sauna/steam room almost everyday. The couples massage was very good.

Overall the resort was average, but had the potential to be a 5 star if they'd improve on a few things. We didn't leave there thinking we were ripped off, but we also didn't leave there wanting to come back. We will not likely return to this resort, but we will return to the Puerto Vallarta area.

Room Tip: We stayed in building 2 and it seemed to be the closest to most places on the resort: Main lobby, p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank E and D A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro C, Manager at Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Dear E and D A,
Thanks a lot for your comments and for giving us your feedback of your stay at Grand Palladium Vallarta. I was very pleased to read all the positive comments you had for us and also I will pass your nice remarks to the people you mentioned in your review (Mario, Ramon, Edi, Alberto…). Also we will check your negative remarks about the restaurant no reservation system, the no beach service…

Thank you again for your remarks and we hope to see you again in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me for any further information.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

After staying at the Hacienda Tres Rios in the Mayan last year, our first impression of the Grand Palladium was just average, but the Palladium grew on us quickly. The food was good, the rooms were clean and comfortable and the entertainment was good. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our son loved the kids camp and didn't want to leave. The hours of the kids camp was great also. We didn't use the pools because the beach was beautiful so we planted ourselves on the beach everyday and enjoyed the incredible waves. The Foto France photographers take incredible family pictures so if given the opportunity get your family photos done. The only real negative that we can say about the Palladium is that there was limited to no service on the beach the entire time we were there. At the Hacienda, we had a waiter come and check on us every 15-20 minutes. This was not the case at the Palladium. Also, the only internet service was in the lobby, but at least it was free.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank glocar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We just returned from a 1 week vacation at the Grand Palladium with 2 other families (6 kids total from 1-1/2 to 4-1/2 yrs). The resort was great; the Kids Club is way under-marketed. We would drop the kids there for about 3 hrs/day and they loved it and we were able to enjoy some adult time (a beeper is given to you in case of any issues that may arise). The beach is beautiful, accessible and safe. Surfing, body surfing, stand up paddling, sailing and kayaking are all available. The pools were great; the kids pool is next to the 2 other main pools so it is still part of the core area. The food was very good, certainly sufficient variety for 1 week. All in all we thought it was a great resort for famillies and would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: If you have a young family with kids who require naps, pick a ground-level garden suite so you can h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BnB_Connoisseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro C, Manager at Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Dear BnB_Connoisseur,
Thank you for your kind words about our Resort and services, we appreciated it very much. We continuously work to make every guest’s holiday a great experience, and it is very important for us to realize that our effort is successful. As you said we hope you and your group have had a great time with us, especially the kids.
I hope that if you decide to spend your next vacation with us and if there is anything that we can do, please let us know.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Overall, a very nice place to stay. This was my first time to Mexico and staying with an all-inclusive package. The staff were very professional and friendly. We were helped as soon as we got there, with no hesitation. The 'look' of the resort is very cool as most paths wind through a jungle, made for a cool nature feel.

The food there was about par for what I thought it was going to be. Some of the food was great, other not so much. Breakfast was the biggest disappointment, bacon was very salty and the scrambled eggs looked unappealing (tasted that way as well). The al-cart restaurants were always top notch. Service for food was always excellent, making sure your drinks were full and empty plates taken away.

The pools and beach were a great place to spend the day. I found them to be relatively quiet (except the daily bingo game at the main pool) Bars are easy accessible at all pools. Pools were kept clean and finding chairs was easy, (we had a group of 9 and never really had troubles finding enough chairs. We did surfing lessons and boogie boarding, both of which were fantastic! The lesson leaders made sure you were safe and helped you the best they could.

As mentioned early the staff was great and very professional. We made friends with a few bartenders, namely Francia Vanessa and her sister. These two were great to us, always greeting us with a smile and drinks! If you have the chance to meet them, please do, they work in the lobby bar!

I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a nice, relaxing vacation! (Traveled Feb 17-24, 2013)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

This is the first review I have written and as I read them all the time I felt it time I expressed my oppinion. First let me state that my wife and I appreciate the finer things in life but are not demanding and are easily pleased. I have a few negatives to report; there is no hot tub other than one in the spa which is out of the way and enclosed. We were looking forward to soaking in the tub while people watching, talking, and enjoying a drink. We read that the Beach BBQ was great but did not find that to be true. Our food was cold and the meat over cooked. I would agree with the other reviews that the food at all venues was often not very warm. There is a significant amount of walking required to get from pool to pool or to the different restaurants so be aware if you have mobility issues. We asked for a King and got two doubles. The beds are not queens but are doubles and were rather small. Our room was very quiet so we chose not to ask for a room change. That turned out to be a big mistake. The room we were in had an adjoining door between rooms. Do not under any circumstances accept a room with the door!! People moved in next door our last two nights and they might as well have been in the room with us. We could hear every word they said and had to endure listening to the guy next door argue with his wife before spending the majority of the night throwing up!!!! Now the good.... the room was very nice and the AC was reasonably quiet. The shower had plenty of hot water but was draining very slow so I called and within 15 minutes they were there to clean the drain; end of problem. Some reviews said the mattresses were very hard; I have a firm mattress at home and found these to be very comfortable. As stated in another review, this place kind of grows on you. The food was OK, not great, but very good. My wife does not like buffets but even she remarked that it was one of the best she has seen. If you can not find something to eat here you have a problem and better not travel. The grounds were very clean and well designed to enhance your experience. I cannot strees enough how pleased we were with all of their employees. Every employee we encountered was friendly and went out of their way to please us. I hesitate to mention any names as they all should be commended, but I need to mention that Oscar at the front desk went out of his way to help us and the little lady in the Sports Bar made us some fantastic Fahitas. The resort was not very busy while we were there and I think it might get quite loud as it fills up. This resort is a destination and is worth the drive from the airport. Whatever negatives there might be are far overshadowed by the exceptional staff. They all deserve a bonus!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in building two and were happy with it. Would suggest a room on the second or third floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank retiredbeachbums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro C, Manager at Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Dear D-DandP-D,
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your remarks about your last vacation in Grand Palladium Vallarta. We take very seriously all comments and suggestions that we receive from our guest in order to improve our services day to day. We will check your negative comments about the cold food on the BBQ. Please, let me tell you that in our adults pool, called Relax, you would have found a nice hot tub where people can order a drink and see the ocean view from there.
As I told you before, all comments, bad and good, are very important to us for constantly improving the quality of our service.
Thank you again for your remarks and we hope to see you again in the future.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This hotel was beautiful. Just arrived home last night, and wish I was still there. The kids pool was very busy, so we hung out at the Adults pool which was quiet and overlooks the ocean. The staff are very friendly and the rooms are great. Free surfing was a highlight, and the quiet beach. The food was average, and usually not that warm, however the Ribs N More A la Carte was INCREDIBLE!! The room we stayed in had a connector door to another, and in the middle of the night when they came home and thought it was the bathroom door and tried to shake it open, we were woken up with a startle. We complained about the water pressure... or the lack there of. I tried to shower the second day around 9am, and it was literally dripping water, which eventually turned off. It never happened again, but was frustrating at the time. My boyfriend and I were very pleased with everything. The one thing missing was a swim up bar, and better/hot food.

Incredible experience and would highly recommend this resort. The transportation to get elsewhere from the resort was easy to use as well. There were tonnes of families with young children as well.

Great stay!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta de Mita
15.9 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#38 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,543 reviews
5.1 mi away
Grand Sirenis Matlali Hills Resort & Spa
Grand Sirenis Matlali Hills Reso...
#1 of 2 in La Cruz de Huanacaxtle
450 reviews
3.6 mi away
Iberostar Playa Mita
Iberostar Playa Mita
#3 of 11 in Punta de Mita
2,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Vallarta
Hotel Riu Vallarta
#18 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
5,233 reviews
9.3 mi away
ClubHotel RIU Jalisco
ClubHotel RIU Jalisco
#20 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4,449 reviews
10.3 mi away
Marival Resort & Suites
Marival Resort & Suites
#14 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
3,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa

Address: C/ Carretera Punta de Mita Km 11.5, Punta de Mita 63734, Mexico (Formerly Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Punta de Mita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Punta de Mita
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Punta de Mita
#5 Family Hotel in Punta de Mita
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Punta de Mita
#6 Spa Hotel in Punta de Mita
#6 Luxury Hotel in Punta de Mita
#6 Romantic Hotel in Punta de Mita
Price Range: $208 - $608 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa is located on a spectacular property that offers a 300 meter long private Pacific beach, from which guests can witness stunning sunsets. The construction of the hotel has maintained the natural flora and fauna of the area to provide an extraordinary setting for an unforgettable vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Palladium Hotel Group, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palladium Vallarta Hotel Punta De Mita
Palladium Vallarta Resort And Spa
Palladium Vallarta Puerto
Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa
Palladium Puerto Vallarta
Viva Vallarta
Hotel Palladium Vallarta
Club Viva Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing