We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Tranquila Breathtaking Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort(Punta de Mita)(Great Value!)
$500
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Meson de Mita(Punta de Mita)(Great Value!)
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Imanta Resort(Punta de Mita)(Great Value!)
$765
$742
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa(Punta de Mita)(Great Value!)
$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Iberostar Playa Mita(Punta de Mita)(Great Value!)
$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Four Seasons Resort Punta Mita(Punta de Mita)(Great Value!)
$455
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
W Punta de Mita(Punta de Mita)(Great Value!)
$450
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa De Mita(Punta de Mita)(Great Value!)
$795
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (211)
Filter reviews
211 results
Traveler rating
103
54
28
11
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
103
54
28
11
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbedroom suitecompetitive rateshotel is cleaninfinity poolpunta mitasales peoplebamboo restaurantbreakfast and lunchrooms are greatromantic getawayfour seasonsoceanmexicoresortnayaritgolfonsite
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 211 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Thanks to the folks at La Tranquila Resort & Spa. Everything -- and I mean everything -- was top notch. View, service, stay -- everything. Loved every minute of it. The hotel was one of the most beautiful places I've ever been. Will definitely be back there again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SLK416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

I come in Vallarta for 20 years now and never have i seen a layout like the tranquilla. 2 olympic pools connecting to one another in length along the ocean beach, with a dozen of private pools next to those large pools gives me a unique experience of swimming in pools.

Room Tip: you have 2 excellent choices of view. Ocean side or golf and mountain side, which i prefer.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mario q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

The title sounds much more negative then it should, but I hope to catch your eye if you are thinking about staying here.

The property is located in the middle of no-where with breathtaking views of the ocean, the mountains, and the shoreline. The facilities are top notch (with the exception of the wifi in the room that faded in and out) and the pools, grounds, and beach are immaculate. The pool/cafe/restaurant staff and valet are all very attentive and helpful (we had the same staff our whole stay ("James Bond" a/k/a Arturo, Pepe, and Ronaldo, all of whom are top notch)). The food was good to great; however, this is where the full disclosure begins. There is one restaurant for breakfast and lunch and another for dinner. And the menu does not change, so if variety is the spice of your life then you will be taking a cab to Punta de Mita and Sayulita to eat. There is no bar, per se, so if that is part of your criteria then I'd look elsewhere. Our group drank by the pool (which is what we wanted) so it was not an issue to us.

This place isn't finished yet. The majority of the rooms are not completed and/or are unfurnished. Again, not a big deal but it is something that is not advertised. The spa isn't completed either.

And we did have an issue with our first room. First, we paid for the "tranquila suite" and were put in a room that had a queen bed and none of the amenities advertised. Second, the A/C didn't work and was blowing extremely humid air into the room (you could almost wring water from the comforter on the bed). It had obviously been going on for some time because the room had the odor of mildew. When we complained the front desk ignored us the first time and then made us wait basically a full day to change rooms (they told us another room wasn't ready and that they were full). After we turned up the aggressiveness level one notch we were accommodated. The second room was fabulous and was just as advertised. And the shower was amazing!

This place was dead. Literally, I don't think there was a day were there were more than 20 guests there. This did not bother us at all.

In sum, the place isn't completed yet, the crowds are very small, there are only two places to eat, there is no bar, most of the rooms are not finished or furnished, and some of the rooms are not as advertised.

However, the staff (excluding the front desk) is amazing, the food is good, the rooms are comfortable, the location is premium, and the cost is reasonable. I could definitely see myself staying here again.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
11  Thank scottsI6598VH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Visited Puerto Vallarta area and Punta Mita for 12 days in January, staying at 3 different resorts. This resort was by far the most relaxing and romantic place we stayed. Definitely a place for couples, not so much for kids, that would ruin the vibe. Rooms were very comfortable with two headed rain shower and huge bathtub. The service from "Sergio", "Chen" and "Miguel" was spot on. Since you would need a car or take a taxi to go into the two nearest towns for dinner, we ate quite a few meals at the resort and food was excellent. They were very flexible and would let you order off the menu. The reason you stay here is INFINITY POOL & BEACH! One of the best beaches I've ever walked along, nice and flat, wide, sugar-like sand with gold flecks. The infinity pool was a gorgeous setting with a wonderful breeze everyday. The best thing is there are so few people around on the beach and the pool, you feel like you have your own private resort. Definitely will come back here again. The spa has not been built yet, so the massages are in your room or down by the beach. They should designate a suite for a "temporary spa". The hotel is setback from the pool & beach, so it's a walk to go back to your room every time.

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean view. If possible, get higher floor so no one is above you. When you have hard tile floors, noise travels.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 100REILLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

One of the most serene locations I have been to. The staff anticipates every need and keeps you pampered from arrival to the end of your stay. Truly a unique property with tons of luxury amenities for a value price.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Garciahh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews