We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hospitality Experience EVER”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Tranquila Breathtaking Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Punta de Mita
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2011

This place is by far the worst travel experience we have ever had. We were treated so rudely from the moment we walked in that we ended up walking out before even spending the night there.

Let me explain... we were here in the Spring 2011 and thought that this place had a lot of potential. So much potential that we decided to purchase a fractional ownership in the development. Of course, we were made many promises that were never delivered on. At the time, there were about 10-12 units completed. Upon returning 6 months later, there has been no visible signs of any work being completed, with still only 10-12 rooms completed.

When we tried to book our travel, for the month of November, we were repeatedly told that there were no rooms available. "What, we are owners in the development and we can't get a room?" Yet, we could go on any travel website, Expedia, Hotels.com, etc and see rooms available to the general public. After much run around from the staff we were able to secure our room for the month.

At the time of our booking we notified the hotel that we were traveling with our service animals (3). They understood and asked us to send all of the documentation for each animal along with our doctor's notes indicating the necessity of our service animals. Almost two months prior to our arrival we sent all of the documentation to the hotel reservations manager and we were told that everything was fine and that they 'looked forward to having us'.

So, we packed our bags and service animals for the month of November, looking forward to an amazing stay in Mexico. When we arrived, after a long day of travel, we were very rudely told that we could only have one of the service animals and not all of them. Can you imagine, a 77 year-old woman and her daughter who have been traveling all day and looking forward to a beverage and somewhere to relax, being told that not only would the hotel not honor their word that our service animals would be allowed, but that they wouldn't even let the dogs out of the car when it was in the mid-90s outside. I'm not sure which was worse, the treatment of the animals, or the treatment towards us.

When we showed them all of the email correspondence between us and the reservations manager, including the approval of the animals' documentation they did not care. We sat in the lobby for 3 hours trying to figure out what to do. All the while, not even being offered anything to drink. We were basically treated like criminals and left with no accommodations.

So now it is after 9pm, we are in the middle of almost nowhere, we and our dogs have not eaten all day, and we are left to find another place to stay, with no help from La Tranquila. Again, imagine a 77 year-old woman driving in Mexico at 9pm at night.

Needless to say, we eventually found a place in Punta Mita, that was more than happy to accept our service animals, without any question.

After a night of rest we went back to La Tranquila the next day, hoping to speak to the Reservations Manager to find out what the misunderstanding was. Not only were we not able to speak to this person (if they even exist), but we were called 'LIARS' by Ricardo, the supposedly wonderful manager. Once again, we tried to show them the email correspondence, but he insisted that we were somehow lying about the animals. I asked for an apology from Ricardo but he had no intention of giving us one. I wonder if they will realize the enormity of their mistake and some day apologize to us. For now, we are not holding our breath.

TRAVELERS BEWARE, this place is a sham. Kind of like a rotten piece of fruit, looks okay from the outside but rotten to the core on the inside.

I will post again about where we ended up. We couldn't be happier than where we are at Haixa. They have welcomed us with open arms and open hearts.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
30  Thank LaJollaDogMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
There are newer reviews for La Tranquila Breathtaking Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

87 - 93 of 210 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2011

This resort proports to sell fractional ownership, we bought there and were told we would be enrolled in Platinum II membership. This never happened. We were told that the owners were too cheap to pay the membership. We were told that we could bring our service animal, we booked and were ready to go when we were informed that we could not bring our service animal. One of the owners is Jesus Gayageous (S), . He seems to care less about anything going on at the place. There are only about 15 rooms furnished. They sell for lots of $$$$$$$$$. This place is a total rip off. DONT DONT GO, and definaltely dont give them one penny.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank ahfstl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

I agree with the other reviews that the hotel is beautiful, but they leave out a few details that make staying there a very strange experience. When we remarked at how quiet it seemed, we were told it was the low season. While that may be true, the reality is there are only 20 rooms available, but the place is gigantic. When we stayed, there was only one other room occupied. 4 total guest in the place. Instead of making it seem like we had the place to ourselves, it seemed creepy. We only stayed for one night before moving to a villa in Punta Mita. If it had been a longer stay, we might have changed hotels.

The food was decent at the snack bar, athough I thought swiss cheese on my shrimp tacos was strange. Also, if you can't read Spanish you are SOL because they don't have any translated menus. Drinks were good and probably half the cost we would ahve paid at the Four Seasons or St. Regis. Dinner was again strange as the menu had only two options, fish or steak. The fish had a garlic-strawberry sauce (thank god my wife can read a little spanish or I might have ordered it). My steak was cooked to the right temp, but was fatty. It came with pesto flavored rice and two cold yet grilled carrot wedges that were the equivalent of about a quarter of a carrot. I ordered wine. The waiter Romeo, who was great by the way, had to return to the table 4 times to tell us he was sorry but they were out of this or that wine. Every time he would suggest a Mexican wine, every time I'd give him another to look for.

Workout facility was nice, but there was no water and it wasn't airconditioned. Hotter than hell.

Lunch on our check out day was okay. Told the server who was not Romeo that the previos day they had made guacamole for us. This seemed to throw him for a loop. Then he told us they had no bottled water. My wife asked if he could call up and get some brought down. He insisted on the quality of the filtered water, and 2 hours later was still telling us he was trying to locate bottled water for us.

Aside from that guy, the staff was great, although it is a bit disconcerting when there are 20 employees per guest. They accomadated all our needs including a very late checkout, which was nice. Lucky for us, we went to a crazy-amazing villa with several friends for the next 3 nights to make the weekend a complete success.

Almost forgot to mention. To add to the creepiness, there is the massive concrete skeleton of what may someday be an Iberostar hotel adjacent to the hotel that looms over it like it's a bombed out war-zone. And there doesn't really seem to be much work going on at Tranquila to add more than the 20 active rooms. It all just looks very suspicious. When you go to the hotels' website, none of this is mentioned. You'd think it was a fully functioning hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank JOe E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

If you want a new, nice, quiet, gorgeous and relaxing place to stay, then I highly suggest this resort. The resort Butler Concierge, Richard, was professional, attentive, helpful, genuine, friendly and outstanding in the service he provided us prior to and during our stay at La Tranquila, Punta de Mita. He arranged for a car to pick us up at the airport, which was done in style. We were offered a cold wet towel and bottled water and escorted past the time share and transportation vendors into a clean, new accommodating car. The 45 minute scenic drive to the resort was comfortable and smooth. The private property of the resort was secured within gates and guarded with staff. Construction of the remaining two towers continues as the resort is open for business, but the noise is very low and overpowered by the ocean and property piped pleasant music and did not impact the enjoyment of our stay. This impressive resort is luxurious, clean, extremely modern upon entering the open-air as we entered the well designed lobby. Already, we are being addressed by names and check in was easy and fast.
The resort is currently under priced in my opinion– almost too good to be true. The resort overall and our room could be rated 5 stars except for our pillows, they were a bit hard. Our suite was on the top floor with a private balcony overlooking the many swimming pools and ocean, awesome view of the well kept gardens too. There is a plunge pool on the balcony which was quite refreshing after hanging out on the beach all day. I enjoyed the Jacuzzi jet powered bath tub and 7 head shower head shower stall. The maids kept our suite impeccably clean and tidy.
Occupancy is low as they haven’t been open even one year yet and have only recently hooked up with www.hotel.com . You almost feel as if you have the whole place to yourself. Staff was very accommodating and at our beckoned call. The only drawback to this beautiful place is the fact that because it is still under constructions it still faces growing pains. Our door/housekeeping bell kept going out ringing coninuously and the patio doors wouldn’t lock but Moses was there immediately to repair these minor flukes. The fridge overheated and there were no in-room mini-bar items; no movies in-room; and the restaurant is limited in selections – especially Mexican food selections. However, response time was very fast for anything we asked for including extra towels, soaps, room service, ice, etc.
We had an entire pool to ourselves and the many pools are not small by any means. One could swim laps or simply relax on the negative edge overlooking the ocean. The beach directly in front of the resort is lined with many intimate jet air-temperature Jacuzzis, each housing tiled lounged chairs where you can hang out for the day. Another option is to set up under the palappas or umbrellas where staff brings you snacks and drinks. This resort is so remote, we never saw one beach vendor anywhere. You can take a nice walk in both directions along the beach and the ocean is swimmable at any point, no rocks to contend with as is the case in Puerto Vallarta. My husband enjoyed his workout in the gym which has about 6 machines and free weights, plenty of bottled water and towels. There is also a plunge pool just outside the gym room for a refreshing post-workout dip.
We’ve traveled the world and must say that this resort is, even while construction is going on, one of the most beautiful resorts we’ve stayed at, including a long list of Four Seasons and Ritzs. The setting is near an estuary, where the river meets the sea and a golf course. We were told there will also be tennis courts on the property which we look forward to, being avid tennis players. We will be staying here again.
The food is the only thing preventing me from giving this resort the full 5 Excellent Rating. There are two restaurants on the property, however, only one is open at a time. Breakfast and lunch are served at the Snack Bar near the pool/beach area and dinner is served in the resort’s lobby after 6pm, when the staff moves the kitchen. They have limited menus so you may want take a taxi to Sayulita or Punta de Mita for real Mexican food. We were hoping for enchiladas, burritos, refrijoles, etc. but instead the flare at the resort was an attempt at what we thought was their interpretation of American food. One night our steak was way overdone and dried out when requesting medium rare, and on another occasion our burger was as raw as could be and unpalatable when requesting the same. They offered to comp us and bring something else and were so apologetic and meant well. Gustavo, the chief food service guy, was helpful and even went out of his way to acquire Lychee’s, a local fruit in season, at our request. Julio, our server, was very professional and pleasant at all times. There was only one unusual incidence where a server asked kindly that we pay his tip in cash since their payroll wouldn’t reflect it for entire week. We didn’t carry any cash on us at the resort until his request. Overall, the service was exceptional, the grounds, the beach, the pool exceeded our expectations and we look forward to returning for another stay.

Room Tip: All rooms have amazing ocean and garden views. The larger rooms have full kitchens.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TailoredElegance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

La Tranquila is a great place!!! Although the whole resort is not yet finished the place is a real jewel. We spent 3 days, a family trip, and had the time of our lives. We had this gorgeous suite on the top floor with a great view, a fully stacked kitchen, 3 incredibly decorated rooms, and a great balcony were we spent hours!!!

The location is great because the beach is not crowded, you can even say the beach is for yourself. The sand is very soft (no rocks) and the water is extremely clear and clean. La Tranquila is in Punta Mita but not on the Bahia de Banderas so it doesn't share the sometimes polluted waters of Puerto Vallarta. The only down-side is that it is far away from Puerto Vallarta's downtown (40-60 mins trip). So planning an evening in P. Vallarta will need at least 2 hours in a van.

The Resort is filled with extremely enjoyable details. The lobby is magnificent. You enter the resort walking over water and you can see how water flows through a series of pools, giving the illusion of going straight to the ocean. The whole place is decorated with designer furniture that is both practical and beautiful. Every single room has its own plasma TV with satellite, very comfortable beds and bathtubs that you couldn't dream of. I loved having sound systems on the living room and the balcony. You can easily connect your ipod and hear your music through a Bose sound system integrated to walls and ceilings.

The staff is magnificent. Richard (Concierge) was kind, sincere, practical and of great help. He can solve any problem, get you dinning reservations, book tours, and give any advice you need!!! Thanks Richard!!!

I would definitely recommend this place, quiet, peaceful, great service and a stunning property!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the 6th and 7th floor have the best view!!!
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pollescu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2011

We spent a week at La Tranquila in a 2 bedroom condo (booked through Interval International) and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Along with 2 bedrooms and 2 baths, we had a fully stocked kitchen and a laundry, all in approximately 1200 square feet.

The resort faces the ocean and the views are spectacular. The ocean is 300-400 yards away from the main resort complex, so your view includes the gardens and an amazing series of pools. Close to the ocean is a very long (~160 metres) pool with a vanishing edge which is stunning. The beach is lovely though amazingly there were very few people on it, perhaps because this area is newer and a bit off the beaten path.

The staff are friendly and very helpful, the senior concierge Richard was especially gracious and attentive to our needs. He arranged golf at a fabulous rate for the 2 of us across the street at the new Greg Norman course called Litibu.

A couple of things to be aware of - the resort is not fully completed yet, they are still finishing the 2 side wings of the complex, along with another condo nearby for full time residents. The resort is about a 40 minute drive north from the Puerto Vallarta airport and located between the small towns of Punta Mita and Sayulita, so it is somewhat remote. There are no grociery stores nearby so if you plan to cook you will want to stop at the MEGA in Bucerias, or the Walmart in PV on your way in, or go to one of the Mini-Supers in Sayulita, a nearby town. We ate in for almost all our meals but you have the option of eating onsite if you llke - there are a couple dining areas and bars (including one near the beach) that look very nice.

Some of the amenities are not ready yet - things like kayaks, boat rental, snorkelling, yoga classes, etc though I'm sure these could be arranged if asked for. So at the moment it is well suited to those who appreciate beautiful settings, golf, and walking along the beach.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JabiruJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank Alexa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta de Mita hotels
5.1 mi away
W Punta de Mita
W Punta de Mita
#6 of 11 in Punta de Mita
187 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Meson de Mita
Hotel Meson de Mita
#11 of 11 in Punta de Mita
80 reviews
3.6 mi away
The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Playa Mita
Iberostar Playa Mita
#3 of 11 in Punta de Mita
2,961 reviews
2.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Punta Mita
Four Seasons Resort Punta Mita
#2 of 11 in Punta de Mita
1,954 reviews
3.6 mi away
Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Tranquila Breathtaking Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tranquila Breathtaking Resort & Spa

Address: Carretera Punta de Mita - Sayulita Km 2, Punta de Mita 63734, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Punta de Mita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Punta de Mita
#8 Luxury Hotel in Punta de Mita
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Punta de Mita
Hotel Class:4.5 star — La Tranquila Breathtaking Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An amazing resort located in the exclusive area of Punta de Mita in Riviera Nayarit, on the Litibu Beach, a privileged, exotic place surrounded by the spectacular Greg Norman's Litibu Golf Course. Just 5 minutes away from Punta de Mita town, 15 minutes from Sayulita and the new Marina Riviera Nayarit, 45 minutes from the Puerto Vallarta International Airport. La Tranquila Resort offers a new concept of refinement and style as the first boutique hotel in Mexico which has combined harmoniously beautiful architecture and exceptional Mexican interior design. All beach front suites, impecable service and the breath taking infinity pool are the ideal place for a memorable vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your La Tranquila Breathtaking Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Tranquila Breathtaking Hotel Punta De Mita
La Tranquila Breathtaking Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing