We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will Be Returning! *Hidden gem*”
Review of Villas Las Olas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Punta de Mita
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villas Las Olas
Reviewed September 20, 2013

My husband and I went to Villas Las Olas for the first half of our honeymoon and wish we stayed the whole trip! What a wonderful environment. Our host Lisa (an American) knew all the good spots. Walking on the beach each day was so relaxing and still holds such pure joy in my heart.
The coffee made for us each morning was amazing. Lisa took us to the store to buy food, which was another wonderful experience.
I've spent many seasons in Mexico and when I go back this is where I will be going :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs_Adams2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidWalsh1, Owner at Villas Las Olas, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Hi Michell it was a pleasure having you guys here for your honeymoon. Hopefully next time you will bring your daughter Summer with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 45 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

It's so easy. Fly to Puerto Vallarta. Take a cheap bus to Punta Mita (your hosts provide directions and it's super straightforward). Walk 5 minutes. BAM! All of a sudden you're right by the beach in your own personal apartment sipping tequila and planning your next day.

It looks something like this: wake up and enjoy the delicious coffee Lisa & David provide every morning. If you like surfing, grab a board (they've got lots of quality surfboards to rent) and join David at one of the local surf spots (he knows what is good and when). After surfing, grab your towel, a beach chair & umbrella (also provided by Lisa & David), pack up your bag with limes, your Mexican beer of choice, various snacks, sunscreen, a good cheesy novel and head to the beach. After you've lounged at the white sandy beach for the appropriate amount of time, return to your personal apartment (surrounded by palm trees & wrapped in creeping vines). You could check your work email (as they've got WiFi) but you shouldn't since your on vacation). Now walk into Punta Mita to pick up delicious ingredients for dinner (or ask David & Lisa for restaurant ideas: PM's got options from cheap to expensive). Fresh tortillas, avocados, and mangoes the size of your head are available at every corner store.

Return to the pad, relax on your porch, and get to bed early. You've got a big day tomorrow.

Repeat the above process for as many days as you can justify taking off work.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Will H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidWalsh1, Owner at Villas Las Olas, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Will, we look forward to your next visit. Surfboards, sun, waves and the coffee are all here waiting for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

My son and I have been going back to this place for last few years. The place located just a block from beach. Small village and uncrowded beach which I totally prefer. There are several surf spots within 20 minutes of drive. So for us it's a perfect place. Lisa and David are the best hosts. They provide anything we need to make sure our stay is always very comfortable.
Very quiet place and you can hear the waves all night. The rooms are very clean,cute and Large. Large kitchen and Clean Beds. Honestly I sleep good when I stay at Villas Las Olas.
If anybody looking for a place to stay in Punta de Mita, This is the one. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaori K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidWalsh1, Owner at Villas Las Olas, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Kaori as always great seeing you and Dakota again . Hopefully next visit your foot will be healed and you will be catching waves with the rest of us. Thanks for picking VLO.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

You just can not have a better time in Punta de Mita for the price and hospitality. The location is just two blocks from the beach with great surfing in either direction. The apartments have everything you need for a comfortable stay. Downtown restaurants are just a few minutes walk from your apartment and the environment feels safe and the people are warm and friendly. I would highly recommend staying at Villas Las Olas.
Tim Chew

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TimC46423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Spacious, simple, nothin' fancy, close to beach and waves; just my style. Loved the veiws from all angles, well appointed kitchen, comfy beds, laundry "room", and solar clothes dryer! Were always provided w/ anything needed including information for great eating and shopping as well as for surfing w/ boards available and delivery/pick-up from the breaks. Am about to book a second trip to stay there this year!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank June W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Whenever my wife and I go to Puerto Vallarta, we exit the airport and catch a $2.00 bus ride to Punta Mita, about 40 minutes to stay at Villas Las Olas.. David and Lisa are genuine hosts who provide all the assistance to make sure our every needs are met. Block from the ocean to a secluded beach, can hear the waves at night in bed and the roosters in the morning who reside in this wonderful Mexican village. Short walk to many restaurants on the ocean of every price range. Grocery store for essentials two blocks away. Kitchen is fully equipped and rooms are large and comfy..A fab alternative to the tourist Mecca of PV. I would rather stay at Vilas Las Olas.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank papahealey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We have been staying at this Happy Place ( that is what I call it) going on 4 years. We have always had a most fabulous and relaxing time.The apartments are comfortable and spacious and have everything one needs.Fresh brewed coffee every morning!
The beach is a 3 minute walk and is stunning. Lovely safe little town to wander through and great local restaurants.Lisa and David are always available to help and guide you to an awesome vacation!
We come down twice a year and can never get enough! Wonderful place to bring friends and family.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta de Mita hotels
5.9 mi away
Punto Mita Suites & Hostal
Punto Mita Suites & Hostal
#1 of 13 in Punta de Mita
68 reviews
7.3 mi away
The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort
7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Punta Mita
Four Seasons Resort Punta Mita
#2 of 11 in Punta de Mita
2,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Iberostar Playa Mita
Iberostar Playa Mita
#3 of 11 in Punta de Mita
3,083 reviews
0.3 mi away
W Punta de Mita
W Punta de Mita
#6 of 11 in Punta de Mita
215 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Meson de Mita
Hotel Meson de Mita
#10 of 11 in Punta de Mita
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Las Olas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Las Olas

Address: Alfonso Reyes, Punta de Mita 63734, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Punta de Mita
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Punta de Mita
Price Range: $40 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious luxury apartments fully furnished with air conditioning in every room. Off street parking. We have all the toys quality surfboards for rent, boogie boards and snorkeling gear. We offer breakfast for additional fee, free coffee every morning and will prepare dinner for you also. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing