We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breathtaking.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Four Seasons Resort Punta Mita

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Punta Mita
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Punta de Mita
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Breathtaking.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2005

Water and beer waiting for us when we arrived in the lobby. The staff went out of their way to make our stay pleasant. Everyone and I mean EVERYONE on the staff would stop and smile and say "Buenas Dias" or some variation thereof. The view is gorgeous. Hammocks abound - do as little or much as you want. Plenty to do if you're adventurous but you'll have no problems if you're the kind of person who just wants to relax. The food was pricey but very good if you know what you like - you'll be especially lucky if you like fish. The trip from Puerto Vallarta Airport to Punta Mita takes approximately 45 minutes - arrange a van from the hotel or pay for a taxi $50 (US).

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,449
    169
    57
    24
    19
See reviews for
540
666
21
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2005

Have been to Punta Mita Four Seasons now four times in two years and we Love it!!! It is paradise and near perfect though extremely expensive. One way to save money is to eat outside of the hotel. We discovered a secret locals spot, Vito's. Incredible food served by a super friendly family at half the price of the Four Seasons.
Don't miss it!!

Stayed November 2005
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2005

I spent four days and three nights and did not ever want to leave. The staff is incredibly attentive and very kind. Leyla is the best wedding and event planner and was incredibly kind and helpful. This visit was truly a magical experience. You will not be disappointed at all and are gauranteed a beautiful vacation. The rooms are beautiful, the bedding is soft and comfortable, the balconies have exquisite views. I recommend having breakfast delivered to your room amd set up on your balcony.
Cannot wait to go back. Worth every dime. The weather in March was perfect.

  • Stayed March 2004
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2005

Just returned from a 5 night stay at FS Punta Mita during "rainy season". Days were HOT AND VERY HUMID.......generally very sunny and mostly pleasant though. Nights were generally overcast and several showers throughout the week.

This is a gorgeous resort with the most beautiful, sweeping ocean views either of us has either seen. The staff was very helpful, accomodating and friendly. (typical of Four Seasons employees everywhere).

Our room was a bit dissappointing for an ocean front.....a little stark in our opinion. You are out of Puerta Vallarta(1hr by car) so you are held a bit hostage to the dining choices at the resort. The food is excellent but VERY expensive. I suggest including the breakfast buffet in your package.

Don't waste your time going into Puerto Vallarta......its nothing special.

This is an great resort for honeymooners, anniversaries, or families wanting to get away from it all.......you are quite isolated from the rest of the world.

Lastly......we do not give this resort a 5 only because of the limited and expensive dining.........we may also be a bit scewed because we are Hawaii people......and just don't think Mexico can compare.......Four Seasons Maui is the place for us. If you like Mexico however......can't imagine a better resort.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank snakeysdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2005

This resort is perfection. We have traveled all over and stayed in some nice places, but FS Punta Mita is without a doubt the finest property with the most incredible staff that you will ever experience. The grounds are gorgeous, the rooms are lovely, the food is amazing, and the staff--from the housekeepers to the front desk to the pool staff to the restaurant/bar servers... everyone was so warm, so friendly, and anticipated our every need in an unobtrusive way. Utter perfection. So much to do or you can just do nothing, but don't miss the poolside sorbet service, sunglass cleaning, Haagen Dazs snack... and don't miss the Friday night Mexican buffet or going down to the beach to pick your fish out with the Head Chef de Cuisine. All I can say is, even the most picky spoiled travelers will find nothing to complain about... and it's even kid friendly but you'd never know. (We met a couple and didn't know they had kids for 2 days because there's such excellent babysitting/kid activity services.)

If you want a gorgeous setting, relaxation, beautiful pool & beaches, and impeccable service, there is no question Punta Mita is the place.

  • Stayed October 2004
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank sushilover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2005

My partner and I are recently back from a 6-night stay. We loved it. As other reviewers have stated, this is a place to get away and just relax. Not much here in the way of excitement, but pure luxury makes it well worthwhile.

Pros:
- If you can afford an ocean front room on the cliff overlooking the water, get one. Completely unobstructed views and great sunsets from the private patio. Dehumidifier and a/c system made the room an oasis from the heat this time of year. Nice bath products. Plenty of room to lounge. High speed internet service was appreciated.
- Unlike some past reviewers, we absolutely loved Aramara, the fine dining restaurant. In fact, we liked it enough to return every night. It's quite expensive ($200 each meal), but wonderfully prepared and with enough variety to allow for a new experience each night. A couple of nights we brought our own bottle of fine wine from home and paid a $25 corkage fee. A great opportunity to break out a special bottle you've been hoarding. Service in Aramara was superb. We were remembered each evening and greeted by name. Waiters remembered what we'd liked previous nights and suggested other options. The manager was extremely friendly and visited the table each night to check on things. The pre-fix menu was a bargain at $55 for 3 courses (or $75 with wine pairings). Three dessert souffle options -- mmm.
- The gym is incredible. Cool as an icebox and a large number of cardio machines with individual tv's, plus adequate weight machines and free weights.
- Excellent poolside service. Pool attendants were quick to set you up in a chaise lounge with towels and take your drink order. They kept the area clean as people left.
- Nice option of two different beach areas....one a bit more secluded than the other.
- Well trained staff throughout the property who greet you each and every time you see them. It got to be a little much sometimes to reply to every "buenos dias" -- there are a LOT of staff members there and someone is always greeting you as they pass you in a golf cart. But better that than the indifference you meet at many properties.
- Younger crowd here than we expected at these prices.

Cons:
- It is beastly hot in September and extremely humid. It rained some but only for parts of the day. If you're coming from a humid climate (we weren't) it might be tolerable. But it was tough to take sometimes and you'd find yourself dripping during meals in open air restaurants. (We eventually asked for specific tables in Aramara under a ceiling fan.) Very few places on property where you can lounge in air conditioning....except your room, the gym, and the cultural center. Heat, I guess, is a fair trade-off for off-season rates.
- The road to Punta Mita is under construction and has been for quite some time. The last couple of miles as you approach the hotel is pretty rough. They claim progress is being made, but there was little sign of it. We rented a car ($60/week) instead of taking the round trip ($175) suburban service as we wanted the ability to go in to PV. We did that only once and found the drive was awfully long....a good hour in each direction, plus time in town searching for a parking space on a busy holiday week. The hotel does offer a shuttle service but it returns too early if you're planning to partake of any nightlife.
- Housekeeping was a little weak and probably the only lapse in otherwise high service level. We generally called to tell them we were leaving the room to expedite cleaning....but often they didn't arrive til much later when we'd already returned.
- Not sure the secondary restaurant (Ketsi) was any bargain over Aramara unless you're ordering sandwiches or Mexican food. The fresh catch and other dishes were priced the same here as Aramara. And if you eat at the breakfast buffet at Ketsi, you'll have seen enough of it. Aramara has an indoor part with a/c.
- Kids. As others have said, a fair number of people bring toddlers with them and it's kind of annoying to have them at the one and only pool. Sounds like it was much worse in summer. In September after school has started, only very small kids. But still.

All in all, a great stay (especially once you've adjusted to the sticker shock of this place). A perfect getaway for workaholics like us.

A final comment for any GLBT travelers.... Though we'd seen this property featured in a gay travel magazine, there were very few other gay couples around....one or two others at most. Still, we never felt uncomfortable here (well, there was the group of older businessmen who were making some bigoted comments within earshot....not realizing we were there). Most importantly, the staff treated us royally throughout our stay. They were great.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
22 Thank rrgsantafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2005

Just returned from a 4 night stay. The hospitality is one never experienced at our usual Hawaiian vacation spots. Incredibly romantic! Not a place to bring children. It is a place to find peace and to bring our busy lives to a screeching halt. Thank you to all who made our 8th anniversary one to cherish forever. The Stratfords.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Spahh!girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta de Mita hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Cinco
Hotel Cinco
#6 of 11 in Punta de Mita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Meson de Mita
Hotel Meson de Mita
#11 of 11 in Punta de Mita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
1.0 mi away
The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Iberostar Playa Mita
Iberostar Playa Mita
#3 of 11 in Punta de Mita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,617 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa
5.1 mi away
The Royal Suites Punta de Mita by Palladium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Punta Mita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Punta Mita

Property: Four Seasons Resort Punta Mita
Address: Bahia de Banderas, Punta de Mita 63734, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Punta de Mita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Punta de Mita
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Punta de Mita
#2 Family Hotel in Punta de Mita
#2 Romantic Hotel in Punta de Mita
#2 Luxury Hotel in Punta de Mita
#2 Spa Hotel in Punta de Mita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Punta Mita 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Punta Mita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Punta Mita Hotel Punta De Mita
4 Seasons Punta Mita
Four Seasons Punta De Mita
Punta De Mita Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing