We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“(the surf hide-out you've been looking for)”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Punta de Mita
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel La Quinta del Sol
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Punta de Mita
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Hotel La Quinta del Sol is a killer little hole-in-the-wall hotel with an awesome beachfront view. It overlooks a rarely crowded warm water surf break. Just the sort of place I'd recommend for anyone looking to hide-out and surf for an extended period of time. Or just hide-out. Whether you're escaping the authorities, your employers or a pack of angry spouses, I don't think it matters. This is a pretty good place to lay-low. The managers are a super-friendly and accommodating young couple. They even have a small dog that surfs. The only other guests at the hotel during my stay were a group of slightly sunburnt, moderately intoxicated female Canadian flight attendants. They were also friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CheetahRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LarissaandRami, General Manager at Hotel La Quinta del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Hola CheetahRider, Thanks for the colorful review. Although "hide-aways" aren't exactly our target market, rest assured that like any good hotel, we operate at the highest level of discretion. Any time you're looking to lay-low in the future, we're here for you. And, if you just want to come to Mita to get your surf on...well, we can take care of that too! Hasta pronto, amigo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (289)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 289 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2013

We came to visit you while in PV just to see if we wanted to rent for next October and we ended up spending the night with you! The raving reviews are accurate! Romi and Lorissa ARE great hosts and I am looking forward to getting to know them better upon my next stay! Remember Lorissa I want your job if you ever want to move back to the states! Jejejeje..the beds are comfortable and the place is clean! There is even a furnished kitchen on the roof top terrace which is where the BBQ is located! One of your regulars told s that you were thinking of getting a swimming pool... THAT WOULD BE AWESOM! That is the only draw back besides a hot tub that I found at this hotel.. Again thank you for your hospitality. We will see you in October for sure!

Room Tip: Just email ahead and if possible Rami and Lorissa will accommodate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meghn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LarissaandRami, General Manager at Hotel La Quinta del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Hola Meghn, It was great that you were able to come and stay with us for an evening while visiting Vallarta and we're looking forward to your return in October. Thanks so much for sharing your experience on our Tripadvisor page...we really appreciate it! We'll see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This place is just as they say. The location is great with an excellent beach and surf right in front of the hotel. Everything is within walking distance. The locals are friendly. The hotel is so comfortable for hanging out whether on the patio or to watch a rooftop sunset. The rooms are set up well for cooking. Larissa and Rami are very accommodating and make you feel right at home. If you need help booking a trip, arranging a massage, renting surf boards, you name it and it is done. They hosted an awesome BBQ while we were there, and it was great to meet the other guests. You gotta love Sasha too the perfectly mannered hotel dog. Thanks to Karen, David and their business partners for bringing this little gem back to life and creating this special place for others to enjoy.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liberty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LarissaandRami, General Manager at Hotel La Quinta del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Hola Liberty, We're so happy to hear what a wonderful time you had on your vacation here in Punta de Mita. It was truly a pleasure to meet you both. We hope that you will get the chance to come and visit us again soon. Thanks so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Upon arrival at La Quinta Del Sol, we were greeted by Rami (hotel manager), Sasha (house pup) and 2 cold Pacificos. Within minutes, I found my feet in the sand at their private beach club steps from the hotel entrance. This very well-priced, quaint hotel is situated walking distance from every shop and restaurant in the tiny town of Punta Mita. My only regret was not staying longer. You can really make yourself at home here.

Room Tip: Room 5 - top floor, ocean facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicole s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LarissaandRami, General Manager at Hotel La Quinta del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Hola Nicole, Thanks for the great review...it is very much appreciated. Also we love the photo of Sascha...what a cutie! We hope that you get a chance to return and visit us again in the future. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Just spent 4 nights in Punta de Mita, 2 at La Quinta del Sol and 2 at El Coral. i would definitely stay at La Quinta again....Rami and Larissa were great. The spot is quiet with awesome views and a quick walk to several surf breaks suitable for longboarding or SUP. El Coral was located right on the beach but too noisy and double the price. The 2 queen beds at La Quinta were very comfortable and the suite was well equipped with everything you need to live comfortably.
good space for board storage and a workshop if need to do any repairs.
35 mins from the airport in PV.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LarissaandRami, General Manager at Hotel La Quinta del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Hola Marc, Thanks so much for the great review. It was fantastic to meet you and have you here at La Quinta del Sol. We're glad that you also got some fun waves while here! Until next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

My first stay at La Quinta del Sol was in March of 2012 when I wanted to see what it would be like to stay in Punta de Mita instead of Sayulita (which I had been doing multiple times a year since 2008 for surf). It was the most awesome experience (you can see my first review posted March 31, 2012). Since then I've come back to stay 5 more times (June 2012 & Jan, Feb/Mar, April, May of 2013) and thought it was time to write another review. I come for 11 days at a time although one of these trips I stayed for 18 days... just couldn't go home (and I love home too!)...

Managers Larissa and Rami have turned this hotel into the easiest, most comfortable, nice place to stay. It's great for couples, a few friends staying together, or solo travelers or surfers like me... everything is easy here... I love this neighborhood, it’s walking distance to fabulous restaurants, easy to get around (whether or not you rent a car), there is lots to do, the surf can be awesome ... if anyone of you are looking for more details about the hotel or the general area or surf from an objective perspective, feel free to ping me. I'm not affiliated with the hotel at all. I usually respond pretty quickly. I've already booked 5 more trips for 2014 because they are getting busier and I want to be sure to get a room!

Rami & Larissa - thank you so much again for a fabulous trip! Was fun surfing with you – how cool to see those amazing sets come in at Bahia, and how incredibly awesome it was to have our own break get head high waves that held up! Oh, that reminds me to post a few pictures here too...

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank indierhythm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LarissaandRami, General Manager at Hotel La Quinta del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Hola Indierhythm, It is always a pleasure having you here at the hotel and we thank you for this second wonderful review! And we would definitely encourage any potential travelers to the area to contact you privately for the inside scoop on all things Mita...you are definitely an expert! Hasta pronto!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

This was our second stop of three destinations on our 10 day honeymoon. When we arrived from Puerto Vallarta it was such a great feeling to see the quite beach, perfect blue ocean and a small group of wonderful people at the Hotel. Rami and Larissa are a wealth of knowledge and so kind to their guests. The small town has delicious restaurants - breakfast, lunch and dinner - and the people are so welcoming and friendly. The view from the roof is breathtaking and the option of relaxing in the hammocks roof top or beach side, at the reserved beach club or down in the sand is a great problem to have on vacation! Rooms are the perfect size with a kitchen and your own outdoor table and sitting area. AMAZING place to visit, do yourself a favor and go!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LarissaandRami, General Manager at Hotel La Quinta del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Hola Lindsay, We are so pleased to have been a part of your honeymoon and to hear what a wonderful time you had! Congratulations again! Thanks so much for the lovely review. We hope to see you both again sooner than later!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta de Mita
5.7 mi away
W Punta de Mita
W Punta de Mita
#6 of 11 in Punta de Mita
190 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Meson de Mita
Hotel Meson de Mita
#11 of 11 in Punta de Mita
81 reviews
8.2 mi away
Amor Boutique Hotel
Amor Boutique Hotel
#4 of 10 in Sayulita
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Casa De Mita
Casa De Mita
#9 of 11 in Punta de Mita
166 reviews
1.5 mi away
The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort
2.0 mi away
Iberostar Playa Mita
Iberostar Playa Mita
#3 of 11 in Punta de Mita
2,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Quinta del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Quinta del Sol

Address: Calle Hidalgo 162, Punta de Mita 63734, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Punta de Mita
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Punta de Mita
#3 Family Hotel in Punta de Mita
#3 Romantic Hotel in Punta de Mita
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Punta de Mita
Price Range: $60 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Quinta del Sol is a special slice of paradise in Punta de Mita - breathtaking ocean views, white sand beaches, tranquility. All of our seven rooms come with queen sized beds, fully-equipped kitchens, spaciou bathrooms, outdoor dining area, air conditioning, fast wifi and an incredible ocean view from the large terraces. Enjoy our roof-top terrace with palapas, hammocks, sitting areas and bbq, as well as our private beach club directly in front of the hotel with a shady palapa, sun chairs, umbrellas and hammocks and restaurant delivery throughout the day! Wireless Internet, housekeeping and purified water included. Walk to restaurants, surf shops; take boat trips to Las Marietas Islands, surf & fishing spots. Close to Sayulita, Bucerias, 40 min north of Puerto Vallarta. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Quinta Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing