We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best vacation and hotel experience ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Punta de Mita
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Best vacation and hotel experience ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2011

The St. Regis Punta Mita was by far the best vacation I have ever taken! The hotel staff is incredible. The hotel grounds are inpecable. The food is great. Everything about it is 5 star! Highly recommend for a romantic/relaxing getaway!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danagreens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort, responded to this review, March 14, 2011
Dear Madam / Sir

Greetings from the St Regis Punta Mita and thank you for your comments - we are indeed humbled by such accolades while at the same time proud of the team that were able to afford you both such a memorable experience. In the essence that is what holidays are for and that is what the team here at St Regis Punta Mita strives to do on a daily basis as it is our vocation and passion to offer our guests one after the other the same experience you recieved.
Thank you and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Yours Sincerely,
Carl Emberson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,667
    131
    42
    12
    9
See reviews for
468
1,009
40
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (522)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2011

We just returned from five days at the St Regis Punta Mita. I was with my husband and two daughters, age 4 and 1. I can honestly say it was one of the best vacations I have ever had. First let me say that I am definitely a tough critic when it comes to hotels. For example the Fairmont Kea Lani in Hawaii gets good reviews from many places including Travel and Leisure and we went there a couple of years ago and thought the rooms were very tired and disappointing. So I like real luxury when it comes to vacations, and the St Regis did not disappoint! The setting is stunning and the rooms are immaculate and fresh (built only a few years ago the hotel does not have a tired feel that sometimes develops over time). The bed was fabulous, and the bathroom was gigantic (we stayed in a suite but this was true of the regular rooms as well) with an outdoor shower (in addition to the indoor one) and a huge walk-in closet. The property itself is so well laid out and has such an intimate feel .. it was really well designed and planne.d Even more notable than the gorgeous property itself, however, is the service and experience one finds there. It felt like there were more employees than guests at the hotel and any request was responded to immediatly and graciously. Even more than this, the service felt personal, as the people in the concierge office, the waitstaff in the restaurants, and the kids club staff knew all the guests (and the kids by name). This was the first time I had been on a vacation that felt like this.

We had stayed at the Four Seasons in Punta Mita in 2008 and my one concern about going to the St Regis this time around was how kid-friendly it would be. We have found Four Seasons to be generally very kid-friendly but the St Regis's reputation seemed to be as more of an "adult" hotel. Well we found to our surprise that the St Regis was actually a much BETTER experience for those vacationing with young kids. First, the layout is fantastic, with the family (Las Marietas) pool sitting right next to a gorgeous lush lawn, which is then right next to the beach. And the beach here, by the way, is much better than the beach at the Four Seasons. The water is calmer, there is a roped off swimming area, and the beach is sandy not rocky (in part because the St Regis has rocks removed, as we saw being done once while we were there). So this layout was really nice for being able to let kids run around from the pools to the grass to the beach and back without having to climb up or down 100 stairs and make a big "move" to the beach. Second, and more importantly, the hotel has made the brilliant decision to have its "kids club" take place right on this grassy lawn by the family pool. So each morning tables and chairs and a variety of activities would be set up under a tent on this lawn. Tony, who ran the kids club program with an infectious energy and genuine love for all of the kids and is a indispensable part of the whole experience, would come around the pool area and "round up" the kids for whatever activities they were doing that day. While we were there these included sandcastle building, pinatas, a "treasure hunt" in the pool, painting ceramics, soccer, and manicures/pedicures for the little girls. I am someone who does not like to send my kids far away to a kids club or day care, but having them be able to enjoy activities periodically throughout the day right there at the pool area was simply perfect. I could enjoy a cocktail and read a magazine one moment, then go visit and see what craft my daughter was making and watch the fun antics when it was pinata time. The setup made the whole vacation really special and perfect.

Of course, the hotel does contain many more adult areas and it would be a fabulous place to enjoy a honeymoon or romantic getaway. My husband and I loved going to the Sea Breeze infinity pool in the late afternoons which was always child-free and a spectacular setting. The restaurants were great, though a bit pricey as you would expect. The only thing I wished for at this hotel was a more casual restaurant for dinner (the casual restaurant was only open for bkfst and lunches) but we just went off-property into Punta Mita most evenings and had great meals at Rosa Mexicano and Casa Teresa.

I really can't say enough good things about this hotel --- it was surprisingly uncrowded while we were there (especially compared to the Four Seasons which we walked to one afternoon and discovered every single pool and beach chair was taken), and I think many travelers simply haven't discovered it yet.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jpcata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2011

We just returned from an 8 day vacation at the St. Regis -- and we had such a wonderful time at this fantastic resort. It's winter break for the kids (tweens) and our goal was to go somewhere warm, relaxing and fun -- and we got exactly that.

I had been really nervous about the weather in Feb. Worried that it'd be a little too cool (mid to high 70s) -- but every single day at Punta Mita was gorgeous. Felt like we were firmly in the 80s. Spent much of our time rotating between under the shady umbrella to out in the sun and we were able to get that sun-kissed look without any serious sunburns. They say there is a microclimate there -- and I believe it. The day we left Punta Mita, it was perfect, and our arrival back into PVR was overcast.

The resort grounds are beautiful and immaculate. The room was awesome! Two very comfortable beds (no one complained of a sore back ever, and that is rare) and wonderful linens. The bathroom was about as big as our main living space (read: huge) and had two sinks, a lovely bathtub, and two showers (one indoor and one outdoor). We had a drop dead gorgeous view of the ocean from our patio and we spent the mornings drinking coffee out there and getting ready for the day. A really beautiful room, something I would expect from a Four Seasons or comparable.

Three pools -- the adult pool (didn't go there). The family pool (spent most of our time there) had two levels (one infinity) and two hot tubs and a great green lawn between the pool and the beach. You could play a small game of soccer and there were always activities for the kids (pinata breaking, manicures, ice cream, etc.). The activity staff (especially Tony) was really great -- so super friendly and genuine. Lots of available lounge chairs. The third pool was the Beach Club pool (shared by FS, St. Regis, and resident Beach Club members). Super quiet.

Food choices were actually really great. It cost 100 pesos ($10 USD basically) to take one of their Lincoln Navigators to Punta de Mita to dine at one of the beachfront restaurants. Lots of Mexican / seafood choices and it was easy with good variety. Then 100 pesos back in one of the town taxis (totally fine and safe). Also went to Sufi twice (different part of town) and it was the same cost. So for $20 of transportation, we dined in town and had some pretty reasonable food prices ($15-$25 entrees).

Did a couple of fun things on our trip with our tweens which I might recommend. First, we all decided to read the same book (family book club) and so that was 80 pages a day of reading and then great convo at dinner. Highly recommended if you want to engage your kids and have a fun time (we read the book "Gone"). Second, when the kids started to tire of swimming in the pool and goofing around, we sent them on a scavenger hunt around the resort. Armed with a camera and a tripod, they had to take pictures of themselves around the resort and find out answers to questions about Mexico. They had a lot of fun doing that (two days of fun).

Other stuff. DVD player in the room and the hotel has a pretty decent library of more recent titles. Butler service nice (kind of your one-stop shop for anything you need) -- occasionally inconsistent but it was vacation and we didn't care too much. Food by the pool was good and resort-priced. Fitness center nice and never crowded. Coffee in the room every morning was a delightful way to wake up.

Overall - the best parts of this trip were the perfect weather, the high quality/comfortable rooms, the pool areas and views, and the variety of dining options in town. Great trip.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ames74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2011

One of the best family vacations yet.Service was great and the staff could not be more helpful.We experienced a small delay one morning when our coffee was delivered late to our room and the general manager Carl was was a very quick to rectify the problem.
I would go on to stay Carl is one of the most professional GM's we have ever met at a 5 star resort. He takes customer service to the next level and made our stay extra special.You see Carl walking the grounds everyday speaking with staff and guests alike to make sure all is running smooth.
We would not hesitate to return to this resort in the future.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jint52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2011
Dear Sir Madam
Greetings from Punta MIta. IWe are indeed thrilled you had such a great stay and personally thank you for your flattering comments. I am indeed proud and privileged to lead such wonderful employees and have such a beautiful hotel to manage. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Yours Sincerely Carl Emberson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
114 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2011

We traveled to Punta Mita with a group of friends and The St. Regis did not disappoint. Airport pick-up was flawless and we were welcomed with champagne at check in. The property is beautiful, the setting and the pools spectacular. We enjoyed the hot tubs but, in all of them, the jets only worked on one side. The beach, while lovely for walking, is too rocky for swimming.

Our room was quietly luxurious with an extremely comfortable king bed. Our butler brought us coffee in the morning and we enjoyed it on the balcony with views of the bay. The large marble bathroom was impeccable – the private outdoor shower - awesome!

The staff was generally very professional and attentive; however, the butler service and housekeeping were a little uneven. Service at the restaurants, pools and beaches was very good.

We had dinner at Sea Breeze and the food was fine, not great, and rather expensive. Breakfast at Las Marietas was very tasty; we had lunch, drinks and snacks at the beach and pools and the food got mixed reviews. The guacamole and the ceviche were incredible, the Kobe burger only ok. Dining in town or within the Punta Mita complex was a good alternative and our butler was happy to make arrangements.

Don’t miss the champagne reception on Friday evening at sunset where the Veuve Cliquot is uncorked with a sabre and you have a chance to meet Carl, the GM, a delightful and gregarious host. With attention to some of the details, the St. Regis could be perfect.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HobokenGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort, responded to this review, March 3, 2011
Dear Madam / Sir
Greetings from The St Regis Punta Mita Resort and thank you for your detail review and feedback of you recent stay. It is though such thoughful feedback that we can finetune our services and product. I have taken note of your comments regarding the butler and housekeeping services, shared your comments with the Chef about the great Ceviche and Guacamole and asked him to take a look at the Kobe burger. Thank you again for these comments. We are indeed glad you and your friends found the St Regis Punta Mita "almost perfect" and please rest assured myself and all the team are constantly striving to make each guests stay perfect and we hope you join us again on our journey towards that final goal.
Have a wonderful year
Carl Emberson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2011

My Husband and I love the St. Regis in Punta MIta. We have been going there since it opend and have been 6-7 times. It is easy to get to and you are pampered from the moment you arrive until the minute you drive out the gates!
Terrific food, lots of variety...always good for 5lbs by the time we leave.
The rooms/suites are imaculate and stunning. Love to colapse in those comfy beds!!!
There are several pools so you can always find a private place to relax. The beach is lovely, staff bend over backwards to take care of you. Its a very civilized environment yet, you can truely relax.
Lots to do with the 2 world class golf courses and tennis courts. Wonderful gym and spa too!! We are going back again next month and can't wait.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rcolterjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catiraPalma, Director of Sales at The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2011
Dear rcolterjohn
thank you very much for your feedback, that we gladly share with our staff. We are always happy to have you here and are looking forward to your next visit!
Warm regards from paradise - Melanie Schneider
melanie.schneider@stregis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2011

I went with a group of friends and this place was great. We were great at check in with champagne and easy check in and got better from there. The rooms were big and the outside showers were great. We got to know the new general manager Carl and he is very nice and involved with making our stay great.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M3m5guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2011
Dear Sir,

Greetings from The St Regis Punta Mita Resort - on behalf of the team here in Punta Mita we thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding the recent stay you and your friends had with us. I will share this with the team. We hope to welcome you all back soon.
Thank you again
Carl Emberson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta de Mita
14.2 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos
3.4 mi away
Iberostar Playa Mita
Iberostar Playa Mita
#3 of 11 in Punta de Mita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,712 reviews
1.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Punta Mita
Four Seasons Resort Punta Mita
#2 of 11 in Punta de Mita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa
16.0 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,412 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Royal Suites Punta de Mita by Palladium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort

Property: The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort
Address: Lote H-4, Cond Maestro Ramal | Carr. Federal 200, km 19.5, Punta de Mita 63734, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Punta de Mita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Punta de Mita
#1 Family Hotel in Punta de Mita
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Punta de Mita
#1 Spa Hotel in Punta de Mita
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Punta de Mita
#1 Romantic Hotel in Punta de Mita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amongst one of the world's most alluring beaches, The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort features 120 exquisite accommodations, thoughtful amenities, and spectacular grounds. The Resort offers an experience that transcends ordinary travel, immersing guests in unsurpassed luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Punta Mita Hotel Punta De Mita
St Regis Punta De Mita
St Regis Punta Mita Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing