We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded Very High Expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Punta de Mita
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I had pretty high expectations for the St. Regis Punta Mita and after spending 8 days / 7 nights there I can say that each and every one of my expectations was exceeded. The property, staff, accommodations, etc. is truly top tier for even the most discriminating traveler.

I cannot say enough of the wonderful staff at the St. Regis. The private butler is an exceptional service that is included with every room regardless of cost or length of stay. The private butler is your tour guide to the hotel, services, property amenities, personal needs, etc. But the service goes so far beyond the private butler. Everyone on staff is well trained and highly professional but also has an individual personality and charming demeanor.

You cannot go wrong with the pools on the property. The adults-only pool is beautiful and quiet and has incredible service. It's a great place to have lunch, a snack, drink, swim or just read a book. The absolute best server at this pool is Edvin (yes, it's spelled with a "v") followed closely by Antonio. If you have any conceivable need at the adults-only pool, Edvin and Antonio will address it immediately and professionally. They are quick with stories, recommendations and a fresh beer, margarity, or bucket of ice cold bottled water. Need more sunscreen? Edvin and Antonio realize it before you do and have a fresh bottle of SPF 30, 50 or 100 waiting for you.

As for the meals, Carolina is a big headliner restaurant and for good reason, but the real dining experience is breakfast at Sea Breeze. Be sure to ask to be seated with Javier at Sea Breeze. He's simply an amazing host to any breakfast or lunch experience at Sea Breeze. Like Edvin and Antonio at the adults-only pool, Javier knows just about everything there is to know about the property, the schedule of activities, the towns of Punta Mita, Sayulita and Puerto Vallarta. He's aware of your dietary needs or decadent wishes and is quick to present them before you have to ask.

I really struggled when selecting a hotel for this trip. I initially preferred the Four Season over the St. Regis because of the brand and I figured the higher cost of the hotel accommodations would be justified in a better overall experience for our trip. But my wife and I made two separate trips to the Four Seasons for dinner and to spend part of the day there. I can say without any doubt that the St. Regis provides a MUCH better value than the Four Seasons.

The Four Seasons is for the traveler who wants a truly exclusive trip with fewer guests at the hotel and/or is just tied to the Four Seasons brand. I can honestly say that our accommodations at the St. Regis were $3,000 less than the Four Seasons and I could see no tangible difference that would favor the higher priced hotel. The staff at the Four Seasons is also highly professional, but seemed like robots: no personality, no casual banter, no personal relationships developed with the staff.

All in all, if you're looking for a truly romantic getaway with that exclusive feel, the St. Regis is the place to go. I have traveled the world for personal and business reasons for over 25 years and the St. Regis Punta Mita is among the very best hotel properties I have experienced and this trip was the absolute best trip I have ever taken. The combination of the staff, the property and the restaurants makes this a top choice each and every time.

Room Tip: While every hotel room/suite is gorgeous and well appointed, the garden view rooms have little to no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carlos F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,951)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,035 - 1,041 of 1,951 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013

Recently spent 6 great nights with the amazing team in St Regis Punta de Mita. It truly is a stunning property with the most professional and friendly staff I have ever come across. We had two days of rain and it really did not dampen ;-) our stay. Highly recommend the Friday night BBQ it's a lovely idea and food was excellent. We will definitely try and come back some day.

Room Tip: It is a large resort so if you have trouble getting about make sure to let the hotel know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UnaOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

My daughter and I just returned from a 5 night stay at the St Regis, Punta Mita. The resort exceeded all of our expectations. From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel special. We were greeted by name with cool towels and cold Margaritas, and that level of service extended thru-out our stay. The property is beautiful, with 3 amazing pools, a lovely beach, winding paths, views in every direction.and a very private feel. Our suite was spacious, ideally located near 2 pools, had a great ocean view, and we loved the outdoor shower! We felt almost as if we had the entire place to ourselves, except on Friday night at the champagne reception and the beach BBQ--where we maybe saw 30 other people. The breakfast buffets at the Sea Breeze restaurant were a great way to start each day. The beach and poolside service was attentive--we never lacked for chilled water, or anything else that we needed. Dinner at the Carolina Restaurant was delicious, as was our private tequila tasting in their bar. We each had a great massage at the spa, and our chosen "catch of the day" eaten Friday night at the beach BBQ was fantastic.
I would also like to commend the many great people that took care of us: Anna in reception, our FABULOUS butlers, Ephram, Omar and Benjamin (who went above and beyond the call of duty several times), Graciela, Arturo, Edgar, Luis and Daniel at the Sea Breeze Restaurant, Tony and Pedro at the "catch of the day" and beach BBQ, Erika, who instructed us in the proper way to make ceviche and mojitos, Alfredo (master chef), Jorge (bartender), and Elizabeth (hostess) at the Carolina Restaurant, and Alberto the friendly and very informative master sommelier. Everyone we met was friendly and helpful, and it was very hard to leave our new friends.
I would recommend this resort to anyone that wants to relax and feel pampered. We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawnanne71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlitosembo, General Manager at The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear Sir Madam
Greetings from Mexico - thank you so much for your visit !! Woderful is what we dream to make all our guests holidays become and I am so glad that this was the case in your visit and as it is the cat in so many of our guests - Wonderful . Fantastico - Pardise- Perfect - and we can go on . I am forever grateful to my entire team that day bu day they deliver such WONDERFUL experiences ! thank you for sharing your moment with us and come back soon !

My best persoal regards Carl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We recently stayed at the St. Regis Punta Mita for our 10th Anniversary celebration. We were expecting it to be nice from the reviews, but the resort really blew us away. The casita type buildings were very tastefully designed and allowed the resort to feel less crowded. Our butler Omar was SUPER. Very pleasant, attentive, and enjoyable to be around. He of course never said "no" and solved all of our issues easily and with a smile. Manuel who works in "In room dining" was great. He has a passion for his job and likes to treat others how he would like to be treated. The reservations department was a little trying, but once we arrived at the resort the service spoke for itself. All in all, a wonderful stay, at an amazing place. Go to the St. Regis, Punta Mita!

Room Tip: The beachfront rooms/suites near the sea breeze pool are awesome! Great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlitosembo, General Manager at The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear Sir / Madam

FANTASTIC STAY - wow that is what I and my team strive to offer each and every day and we are so glad that you experienced the magic of our people and of our beautiful piece of paradise called The St Regis Punta Mita - we hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future

My best personal regards Carl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed at the St. Regis Punta Mita for 5 nights and loved it! The property is gorgeous, with beautifully designed rooms, 3 pools, and a large beach. Our suite was large, with a king size bed, eating/dining area and large patio. The bathroom was also big with an indoor and outdoor shower.

The pools were nice, although they were a bit warm, it would have been nice if they were cooled. The service at the pool was spotty, some days it was good, others it felt like there weren't enough servers and it took a long time to order/get drinks. The beach was nice but a bit rocky. The water was very clear and nice to swim in.

The spa was average, it was a odd that there wasn't an indoor seating area, just outdoor. In a place that is frequently at high temperatures and high humidity, you would think they would have an indoor lounge.

The service was excellent, the property has butlers who can unpack your luggage which is a nice treat. They also bring you coffee in the morning, make dinner reservations, etc.

The food at the hotel was good overall, some places were better than others. The breakfast buffet at Seabreeze was enjoyable, although I didn't see any fresh fruit would have been nice. The food at the pool was good also, but we had fish tacos at Seabreeze for lunch weren't too good.

The food at Carolina was pretty good, the beef brochettes were delicious and the Dover sole was good. The turkey enchiladas were ok, the turkey was a bit dry. The octopus/chorizo casserole was a bit odd, it wasn't really a casserole, it was just a mix of the two ingredients in a bowl. The service at the restaurant was excellent, our waiter Luis was great. We also went there for drinks a couple of nights and the bartender Jorge was a pleasure. He made excellent drinks and knew a lot about tequila. The supervisor Blademer was also very nice and attentive.

I would definitely return to this property and would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My wife and I went to St. Regis Punta Mita to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary and we could not have picked a better place. The rooms are great, the service is top notch, the attention to detail is incredible. We went for a few rounds of Golf, which was an experience by itself. They have two spectacular courses. The photo I have uploaded is of the Par 3, 3rd Hole of the Pacifico Course. But what probably makes this hotel stand out from the rest is the GM and his staff that always make sure that everything is perfect.
Will we be back? Absolutely!!

Room Tip: If you can get a room on the beach, you will not regret it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyJ512013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This was so far the best hotel i have stayed at, the property, staff and location was just wonderful. if relaxation and unwinding in luxury you are looking for this is your place. Butler service one of the best features of hotel makes your stay careless and takes care of any needs. Restaurant settings also perfecty located all have ocean view.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arubaguy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta de Mita
7.0 mi away
W Punta de Mita
W Punta de Mita
#6 of 11 in Punta de Mita
192 reviews
14.1 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
1.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Punta Mita
Four Seasons Resort Punta Mita
#2 of 11 in Punta de Mita
1,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Iberostar Playa Mita
Iberostar Playa Mita
#3 of 11 in Punta de Mita
2,995 reviews
15.9 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
2,598 reviews
5.5 mi away
Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort

Address: Carretera Federal 200, km 19.5 | Lote H-4, Punta de Mita 63734, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Punta de Mita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Punta de Mita
#1 Luxury Hotel in Punta de Mita
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Punta de Mita
#1 Romantic Hotel in Punta de Mita
#1 Spa Hotel in Punta de Mita
#1 Family Hotel in Punta de Mita
Price Range: $451 - $2,582 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amongst one of the world's most alluring beaches at the Riviera Nayarit, in a a 1500-acre resort and residential community, The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort is an exquisite luxury resort in Punta de Mita, Mexico. Our property features 120 accommodations, thoughtful amenities, and spectacular grounds. We offer an experience that transcends ordinary travel, immersing guests in unsurpassed luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Punta Mita Hotel Punta De Mita
St Regis Punta De Mita
St Regis Punta Mita Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing