We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a couple of suggestions”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Punta de Mita
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2013

There is little i can add to the hotel reviews by others, the St Regis is really terrific and the staff is very very nice. Just spent 7 days there with my family and enjoyed every minute. A couple of things to know:
1.The beach is sandy, but is very rocky at the shoreline. If you plan to swim in the ocean or go for a long walk towards the Four Seasons, bring water shoes, it just isn't possible otherwise. That said, the pools are so nice you may never go in the ocean!
2. We just returned (mid February), the weather was great, mid 80s during the day but 60s and breezy in the evening. Really makes sleeping easy, but if you plan to eat or have drinks on the beach at night and get chilly easily, pack a light summer sweater or a linen long sleeve.
3. Make dinner reservations in advance for peak weeks for the best restaurants. Breakfast and lunch are terrific at the hotel, but Carolinas was too formal for our taste and there is only one other dinner choice which is casual (which i would rate 4 stars) on property. In our opinion, the best dinner choices are all downtown (5 mins by cab). Tripadvisor reviews were pretty spot on, we went to Rosa Mexicano, Si Senor and Casa Teresa. All great.
4. This part of mexico is very quiet. more than a few times i walked through the property at 9:30 PM and there were no guests to be seen, most seemed to be back in their room. if you are the stay out late at the bar type, bring along friends because it will be tought to execute here.

Lastly, there is much discussion here about Four Seasons vs St Regis. Having stayed at the Four Seasons twice (during off weeks) and this trip, the first time at St Regis, I think for a peak travel week, St Regis is much better. Three pools each the size of the main FS pool, and much less congested. I walked over to the FS one morning last week (about 25 minutes) and noticed by 930AM people were already 'reserving' beach chairs by having towels placed on them, yet most were not being used and few people were at the pool. Reserving chairs is just one of those things I don't want to stress over when on vacation, and certainly not when at a premier property such as these two. But the reality for the FS is there really is only one nice pool (the adult pool at FS has no views, is much smaller and is in a woodsy setting) and more rooms, especially when combined with their residential properties. I did not have this 'save the chair' experience at FS during my off peak travel weeks. I just can't see this happening at the St Regis, fewer rooms and three times the pools. Finally, there are definitely more small children at the Four Seasons (actually, more children in general), which may be more attractive for younger families.
Let's face it, both are really nice properties, but I would pick the St Regis again because of the pools and significantly more space and privacy. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cemberson, General Manager at The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear Jim F,
Saludos from Paradise! I begin by thanking you for taking the time to share your extraordinary stay with us – We are glad you enjoyed our legendary infinity pools, exceptional amenities and unforgettable rituals. We are blessed with a wonderful team and am glad we exceeded your expectations. I am sure your tips on transportation and alternate dining options will be useful to future guests.
Thank you for the positive endorsement and please feel free to share your experience of this little slice of heaven on earth.
We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Carl Emberson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,940)
There are newer reviews for The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,218 - 1,224 of 1,940 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2013

I can't say enough good things about the St Regis Punta Mita. The staff are incredibly helpful and attentive, the facilities / grounds are first class & well maintained. The layout of the units gives each room a feeling of seclusion - which is a rare feat. Upon arrival you are greeted with a tasty margarita & introduction to your butler, then after relaxing in the open air lobby you are escorted to your room.

Highlights for us were:
* Luis R & his service on the beach. Got all of our off menu orders exactly right & the drinks kept coming.
* Manuel and Liz - gave us the rundown on where they live, how they get to work, how long it takes, kids sports in the small outlying towns etc... Very interesting.
* Dinner at Sufi!!!
* Watching the Oscars in SeaBreeze bar.
* Lowtide go out to the island - crazy sealife, large crabs all along the northern end.
* Spend an afternoon at Si Senors or any of the beach bars. Watch surfers, have killer cocktails and delicious food.
* The workout room had plenty of equipment all in fine working order.

As a side note, we rode bikes around the properties & went up to the 4Seasons (We love the 4Seasons on Wailea). After walking around for about 20 minutes we were even more impressed with the St Regis. Quite a contrast in concepts between the two operations.

The only thing that wasn't very good / excellent was our mattress. Much softer than our very firm bed at home. Too bad all 5 star resorts dont have a Sleepnumber sort of bed - allowing each person to set their own firmness. That being said, this is a small complaint & not enough of an issue for us to comment to front desk or give less than a 5 star review.

We can't wait to get back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cemberson, General Manager at The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear Laurie H,
Saludos from The St. Regis Punta Mita! Thank you very much for sharing your positive experience in paradise – as the General Manager, it truly makes my day to read about your extraordinary stay with us. As you have noted, we are blessed with an amazing team of caring anticipative service ethic. Rest assured I will pass on your lovely words to Luis, Manuel and Liz.
We´d like to thank you for your loyalty and hope to see you again in the near future. Let´s create more memorable experiences in Paradise!

Best regards,
Carl Emberson & the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

If you could give this resort 3.5 stars- it would be more appropriate. For every need the hotel has a strength. My husband says 3 stars is too tough.

To start, the resort is beautiful! The rooms are well equipped, the pools are gorgeous, the grounds are generally peaceful. The area is safe. The pool has ample seats so there is no need to reserve a chair early in the morning. The grounds are well spread out and there is a quaintness to the resort that makes it very comfortable and very private. It is spread out well so you can't tell the resort is sold out. There is a manager, Mike, on grounds- pretty much constantly who is very helpful, has great suggestions and conquers all tasks no matter what you ask of him. We felt safe with his presence. The resort had an amazing kids club and was very kid friendly. They had some fun family activities and the trademark St. Regis events. However, if you are coming without children, there are two pools laid out next to the ocean that are for adults only. You could spend the whole time without seeing a child!

Our room was large with a gorgeous bathroom, beautiful lanai, outdoor shower and large TV. The rooms come with a butler that we did not use. The beds are very comfortable.

Here are the needs of the resort: the service is still just average. We have been at many resorts that anticipate your needs prior to needing them. This resort is playing catch up. At check in, we were given a map rather than a tour and explanation of what the resort offers, a golf cart tour of the property, an explanation of the room, some of the amenities, etc. When we were getting in the cab to go home, we saw bikes to rent- we never knew they were there. Our second to last night, we realized there was a screen to mechanically pull down to shield the bugs and hear the ocean.

At the pool, you waited for drinks, menus, etc. I frequently got up and went to the bar for our needs. There is no one setting up your chair and cleaning up the area. Restaurant service- with the exception of Santiago at Seabreeze- was at best average. The cleaning service removed some a full box of sanitary items I overpaid for at the resort store and rather than replacing them, I had to buy another box. We were skipped in turn down service twice in our 5 night stay. One night they took all of our towels and never replaced them- we didn't know it until we got out of the shower with no towels.

Our room was beautiful but we faced a house under construction that was loud at 9am. When asked to be moved there were no other options.

The beach- while being lovely to look at is not something to swim in. Of course being the pacific side of Mexico, it is colder- but the resort has taken very little effort to clear out a section to make it rock free and smooth. There is a small section that is far from the kids pool. The beach activities are limited as well. They do have surf boards, boogie boards, kayaks to rent which was annoying. I prefer resorts that don't nickel and dime you- charge a daily fee and give the guests options of things to do. The nickel and diming of everything seemed to cheapen the resort. Other St. Regis resorts we have stayed at have had googles, snorkle gear, swim toys, etc. to offer the children. This resort had a few sand toys but again really does not spend time thinking of things the guests would enjoy.

In summation, we would return but only for a weekend. We would have a difficult time staying for longer than a few nights without the use of the beach and options of things to do. While the service is not stellar- it's not a deal breaker and does not ruin your stay. Every single person working there was so well meaning and friendly. There was a very happy, private and peaceful feel to the resort. For our family, we left our busy lives and calmed for a few days with each other. Hard to go wrong with that mentality!

Room Tip: Ask about the construction.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlitosembo, General Manager at The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Dear Madam Sir

Greetings from The St Regis Punta Mita - thank you for yourt visit and for your detailed review which I have read and shared with the team. I am glad you had an enjoyable holiday with us and found our principal asset our staff to have been friendly and with the right attitude. We will work on the details that you mention as we continue on our journey to offering day in day out impeccable service and memorable experiences. Feedback such as yours allow us to montitor and improve and for that we are grateful.

Yours Sincerely Carl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

The St. Regis Punta Mita is a wonderful resort with pleasant personnel and top notch facilities. Oh yeah, the weather in February was awesome. The resort is located app 45mins north or Puerto Vallarta so its fairly isolated, which I enjoyed. Its a great place to unwind.

Room Tip: We had the top floor of a villa. Believe those are numbers 03 and 04.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CutterInChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cemberson, General Manager at The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear Amy and Pat,
Greetings from The St. Regis Punta Mita and we thank you for your review. I am glad your visit exceeded your expectations as we pride ourselves with our personalized service.
Thank you for recommending our beautiful Resort and we do hope to see again soon.

Regards,
Carl Emberson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I must tell you we have been going to the St. Regis for the last 4 years - at least 2 times a year. One of the main reasons we return is the hospitality we are shown every time we go. Karl, Mike and his team of amazing staff are absolutely the BEST we have ever experienced. From the moment of arrival you are greeted by the beautiful staff with a margarita or iced tea. From there you meander your way into a lobby that immediately calms you with its soothing tones beige, grey and pinks. From the sumptuous chairs and couches you are quickly checked in and lead down winding paths lined with tropical bushes and flowers. Your personal butler greets you at the door and upon opening the door to your room your senses are awakened by the smell of fresh lilies. We spent days lying by the beach, looking out over the infinity edge pool that leads into the blue waters of the ocean, sipping mango margaritas waited on by staff that is always happy, smiling and ready to take care of your every need. We now take all our friends here and they to have made it their new vacation spot! Thanks once again for a wonderful vacation. Amy and Pat McNamara

Room Tip: All rooms are fabulous, but the 1100 rooms are quiet. You can't go wrong!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Thank you Carl for a fabulous vacation at the St. Regis Punta Mita.

My wife and I made a quick 4 day trip to sneak in a little R & R. We were greeted with welcome drinks and Carl, the General Manager immediately introduced himself. Throughout our stay the Butler and/or Concierge was available and quickly brought us everything we asked for. The kitchen made my wife multiple salads and dishes that she was craving even though they were not on the menu. Overall, our stay could not have been better.

At one point during our trip we walked over to the Four Seasons to decide if we wanted to try it out next time we visit Punta Mita. As nice as it looked, we decided we like the location, pools, and expansiveness of the St. Regis. We are already planning a return trip.

Room Tip: All rooms appeared to be good.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AAUSTEX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cemberson, General Manager at The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Thank you AAUSTEX,
Greetings from the St. Regis Punta Mita! Thank you for your wonderful review; we are glad you enjoyed your vacation with us. We are proud of our brand and the exceptional experiences we cater all our guests as we strive to make every stay personalized and unforgettable. Please come back to our little slice of heaven again in the future. We shall be waiting with great smiles.

Best regards,
Carl Emberson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

From the moment my family checked into the St Regis Punta Mita we were made to feel like old friends. The staff was extremely welcoming with lemonade for the kids and margaritas for the parents. Carl the GM was on hand to welcome us and made daily trips around the hotel and always said hello and remembered everyone by name.

The rooms were fantastic, and I am sure that there isn't a bad one in the place. Luis, our butler, gave us several great suggestions for dinner locations and helped with any questions we had. The service from everyone at the hotel was above and beyond. Out 17 month old got sick one day and everyone in the hotel would ask how he was doing, we ran into Mike the assistant GM later in the day and he gone and gotten pedialyte for the baby. It was the personal touches like that, which made the stay so special.

Omar at the Las Marietas pool bar was an exceptional bartender who always remember what you liked to drink and always had suggestions of different things to try and the suggestions were always worth listening too as he created some really good drinks.

The kids club had tons of activities for both of our kids and they were always entertained. Tony would always be there to start a game of futbol with the kids or show them something on the beach. If you are looking for suggestions of things to do while you are there be sure to track him down.

Overall our stay exceed even the expectations we had from reading the other reviews here. I would have given more than 5 stars if it was possible. If you are thinking about Mexico this hotel should be tops on your list. We are already planning our next trip.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cemberson, General Manager at The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear Andy,
Greetings from Punta Mita! Thank you very much for your review, we are glad you found our Resort´s aesthetics beautiful and our staff exceptional – we are indeed privileged to have such tastefully designed rooms and above all, our team of passionate professionals.
I am glad to read you enjoyed the exclusive events and fun family activities we offer at our property. Our goal is to provide a unique experience for all our guests, no disregard to age group. We shall pass on your comments about our team members.
We thank you again for choosing Th St. Regis Punta Mita Resort and hope you visit us again in paradise very soon!

Warm regards,
Carl Emberson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta de Mita
7.0 mi away
W Punta de Mita
W Punta de Mita
#6 of 11 in Punta de Mita
187 reviews
14.1 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
1.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Punta Mita
Four Seasons Resort Punta Mita
#2 of 11 in Punta de Mita
1,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Iberostar Playa Mita
Iberostar Playa Mita
#3 of 11 in Punta de Mita
2,965 reviews
5.5 mi away
Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa
15.9 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
2,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort

Address: Carretera Federal 200, km 19.5 | Lote H-4, Punta de Mita 63734, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Punta de Mita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Punta de Mita
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Punta de Mita
#1 Spa Hotel in Punta de Mita
#1 Luxury Hotel in Punta de Mita
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Punta de Mita
#1 Romantic Hotel in Punta de Mita
Price Range: $363 - $2,439 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amongst one of the world's most alluring beaches at the Riviera Nayarit, in a a 1500-acre resort and residential community, The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort is an exquisite luxury resort in Punta de Mita, Mexico. Our property features 120 accommodations, thoughtful amenities, and spectacular grounds. We offer an experience that transcends ordinary travel, immersing guests in unsurpassed luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Punta Mita Hotel Punta De Mita
St Regis Punta De Mita
St Regis Punta Mita Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing