We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“vacation in paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Punta de Mita
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We visited the St. Regis Punta Mita this Christmas vacation with our children and grandchildren.
This was our 4th trip to this wonderful property in the past 3 years. Previously, we would stay at the Four Seasons Punta MIta, but when the St. Regis opened up 3 years ago we happily switched to this hotel.
This past stay, because it was Christmas vacation the hotel was virtually full. Yet, we could not believe how wonderful our time there was. It was impossible to tell that the hotel was that 100% occupancy. There was never a time where we could not find the most comfortable lounge chairs to lie on and there was always a table available for the six of us at any time for lunch or dinner.
By the first day, every one of the hotel staff knew our names, even those of our grandchildren. The help is exemplary and could not do enough for you-from Gustavo one of our waters to Mr. Carl Emberson, the incredible general manager. They were always available to cater to our every need.
Other members of the staff to be commended include Nicolas Cejas, front desk manager, Alejandro Rivada, reservations manager, Mike O'Hara, food and beverage director, Angelica one of the concierges and Carlos a personal butler, to mentioned just a few.
Speaking of food-we had the most fantastic breakfast, delicious lunches and unbelievable dinners. Even if there was something you wanted that was not on the menu they would happily make it for you.
Tony, the activities director was amazing. Our grandchildren who are 7 and 10 were always kept busy, with Tony planning fun activities with the children. There were also many things planned daily for the adults-including yoga, cooking courses and water aerobics-truly unbelievable.
The spa at the hotel is really quite spectacular and offers relaxing massages, facials, manicures and other services. The fitness center is well equipped and we never had to wait to use any of the exercise machine.
In addition, there are pools for adults only, so if you want a quiet place to relax, it is available.
Lastly,- the rooms- as I previously mentioned are magnificent with beautiful view of the ocean, the most comfortable bed we have ever slept on, indoor or outdoor showers and large terraces where we often have breakfast when we chose we had it delivered to the room.
What more I can say! It was truly a vacation in paradise. In fact, we are returning in three weeks for ten more glorious days and needless to say we cannot more wait.

Richard and Vicki Freedman
Roslyn, New York

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank vikki41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,993)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,542 - 1,548 of 1,993 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2012

My husband, 2 children (ages 5 and & 7) spent our winter holiday at St Regis Punta Mita. Our trip started out great when we went straight to the VIP area of the airport and were greeted with cold towels and water. No waiting for a taxi with all the sweaty tourists....nope! We were quickly wisked to a waiting Navigator, luggage and children tucked in and off we went. There is, obviously, a charge for this (approx $275) but well worth it.
After a pleasant 45 minute drive (if you exclude my bickering kids) we arrived in Punta Mita, which is it's own gated community. Another 10 minute drive to the resort and we had ARRIVED! We were led to a lounge, offered margaritas (Yum!) and check-in was quick and pain-free. Our luggage was brought to the room and we met our "butler". He went on a liiiitle too long in describing and explaining our room, we just wanted to get out to the pool. He offered to unpack our luggage, but I'm a little weirded out by strangers touching my undies.
Finally we were free to explore the resort--just beautiful!! Room, pool, grounds- all just beautiful. Beach a little too rocky, so we spent most of our days at Las Marrietas (family) pool.Service at the pool was great- our favorite server/pool attendant was Abel. He was ON IT! He never forgot anything and was always quick to notice when we needed anything. Thanks Abel!
Speaking of service...Carl-the GM- was awesome. I don't think I've ever been to a hotel and actually known who the GM was...and everyone knew Carl. He was always around to answer questions/ talk about any concerns.
Best $$$ saver of the trip was the Starwood "kids pass". Starwood resorts should always have this. Not sure how long deal is going on, but it's worth every penny, plus more! For $13.75 per kid/per day they were allowed to eat and drink all they wanted! One parent had to order something if the kids wanted food. Most breakfasts my husband and I would just share an entree. The real value was the smoothies.....all the smoothies they wanted.....no more $500 smothie bill (hooray!)
Oh, and the kids club- free! Tony and staff always playing with kids on large lawn in front of family pool. Crafts tent, pinatas, soccer games, fishing....what more could Mama ask for.
The restaurants were good, wish the family pool selections were a little healthier. If you get tired of being on property those snazzy Navigators can take you into "town" for $10. There is a restaurant row and they all have an ocean view. We went to Si Senor twice- loved it! Guac was too die for.
Hotel had a "white party" on the beach for NY eve. Super fun.
Even though the hotel was above 90% occupancy I felt completely uncrowded. It was a fab trip and I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DD90266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed at this resort in September 2010, the same weekend as Mexican Independence Day and a huge Mexican wedding. I guess it was bad luck, but our entire stay was negatively overshadowed by the wedding and the lack of service and staff. Upon checking into our room, we realized they were putting up a huge wedding tent just yards away from our room. When we asked the staff what was going on, we were given different stories and finally found out that the wedding would be taking place the following night and go on until 5 in the morning. With not much ease, we were finally changed to different rooms, which had a much better view than our original room. The room was very nice and my husband and I enjoyed the surf break right in front of the resort. On our first night, the service we received at one of the restaurants was exceptional, but after that it was all down hill.

Maybe it was because it was low-season and the hotel was booked at 100% due to the wedding, but the service in the restaurants was overall terrible. We were traveling with our baby and there would often be an hour wait, and then they would bring us the wrong thing. The family pools were full and the staff was rude about finding us a place to sit. If you sat at the beach, you could forget getting ANY service at all. One day I decided to leave the baby with my husband and go to the adults-only pool for one hour to read and have a drink. The pool attendant asked me where I wanted to sit, and when we walked over to the chair he placed the towel down and just walked away. Didn't ask me anything, say goodbye, NOTHING! I waited for the entire hour and NO ONE came to take my order or the order of the 4 other couples that were by the adults only pool. It was terrible!

We attributed much of the bad service to the large party that was at the hotel, who were loud, obnoxious, and inconsiderate of other guests who were not part of the group, but we'd think that the hotel would have made an extra effort in accommodating those that were not part of the wedding. They did not, and there were no apologies made - except at check-out the GM met us to apologize and give us 2 free t-shirts.

Anyway, the only reason we would go back to this hotel is for the convenience of the surf break. The hotel and grounds are very beautiful, so it was a shame that the service did not meet those same standards. We would recommend asking ahead of time if there is a wedding planned during the time of your stay and to consider the impact this might have on your experience.

Room Tip: Choose a room close to the ocean. The rooms are set back very far, so if you get one that is up on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cemberson, General Manager at The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2012

Dear Sir,

Greetings from The St Regis Punta Mita - we thank you for your review and for highlighting the shortcomings you experienced in our services as a result of the Wedding we were hosting at the time of your visit. Such feedback permits us to fine tune our services and for this we are grateful. I will certainly share your comments regarding the service you experienced on the beach and pool area.
I do hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Wishing you a happy and prosperous 2012
Yours Sincerely Carl Emberson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We had heard wonderful reviews about this property and they are all true! The property is beautiful, the decor chic and the service amazing! We have travelled to many places in Mexico as a family and this is certainly our new favorite. The set up of the pools with a huge grass area and then the beach is perfect for everyone. The kids club staff was friendly and very attentive and the activities were fun. The food is delicious, very fresh and presented nicely. We visited during the winter holidays and despite it being one of the busiest times of the year, nothing was compromised! We will definitely book again for next year!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Fantastic! Nothing else needs to be said to sum up our stay at this magnificent hotel. We have stayed at premier hotels all over the world, including 3 other St. Regis hotels, and they are all beautiful properties with excellent service. However, what sets this hotel apart is the staff brings the perfect mix of attentiveness, politeness and familiarity, without ever being intrusive.
The General Manager, Carl Emberson, captains this top-notched staff and is clearly the driving force behind the appeal of this hotel. I’ve never stayed at any hotel where the GM is so interactive with the guests. Carl personally makes every guest feel welcome, and makes them feel like their vacation experience is his priority.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LataBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Arriving at The St. Regis Punta Mita after spending 7 days in Sayulita over the Christmas period was like arriving in paradise!

Although it was a brief stay for us at The St. Regis, it was exactly what we needed to wrap up our vacation. Compared to Sayulita, the ocean was warm and blue and very appealing for swimming, surfing or absolutely nothing.

When we checked-in, it was like the lap of luxury – “…. Please have a seat in our lobby to do the paperwork, would you like a Margarita? Some water, mango ice tea, or anything else?” The view from the lobby/arrival area was incredible and as we sat there staring out to sea in the perfectly framed view with the palm trees, water fountains and pools, what pops up on the horizon in the ocean – whales jumping repeatedly out of the ocean! No, I’m not kidding.

Our rooms weren’t quite ready, so the staff stored our luggage, got us set up at the Beach Club and we spent the entire afternoon there. Service on the beach was great, constant flow of buckets of cold bottled water, towel and chair service extraordinaire. The food was also top notch and really tasty, specifically loved the Quesadillas and Nachos.

I’m a long time Platinum Preferred, and recognize that upgrades are usually done upon check-in and based on availability. It was New Year’s Eve and we weren’t expecting anything special as the property was in a sold out situation. When we got into our room, we were so impressed and our luggage was already there. They gave us lovely adjoining, upper level Luxury Ocean View Rooms. The view was great, rooms were SO luxurious and spacious. The bathrooms were the probably the nicest appointed bathrooms I’ve seen in a hotel. Equipped with deep luxurious baths (that filled up very fast), indoor and outdoor showers, 2 sinks, with plenty of privacy too. (Unlimited hot water - unlike our supposed luxury Villa in Sayulita.) The beds and the pillows were possibly the best that we’ve ever slept on – anywhere, even better than home. If someone from the St. Regis reads this post, please give us the exact model of the bed, pillows, sheets – we want to get them for our house.

The hotel went to a great effort and put on a spectacular “all-white” themed New Year’s celebration. Furniture, staging – all white, and guests were encouraged to dress in white. Instead of the large festive party, we opted for Private Dining, and had service on our verandah, which easily handled a table of 5, candles and provided great views of the midnight fireworks celebration.

Worth noting that the turn down service was flawless and did not at all intrude on us as we were in the room, efficient and pleasant. Butler Service was also great and we loved the coffee on the terrace in the morning.

Three beautiful pool areas, and the entire hotel, although it was sold-out, never had the feeling that was it was crowded or busy, very relaxing overall. Personal favorite pool area was the upper vanishing edge adult pool. Warm, salt water, perfect for swimming laps – estimate was between 25 and 30 meters long – best view for a lap swim – EVER!

The icing on the cake for us, was that our return flight home wasn’t until 845pm, and they graciously extended our check out, to 6pm.

Thank you St. Regis Punta Mita, and hats off to Carl Emberson, the GM! Happy New Year!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scratchcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

From the moment of arrival to the last goodbye, everyone and everything at the St Regis (STRPM)was impeccable.
My wife and I have been to over 90 countries, and many of the world's finest properties - the STRPM is among the best.
So many of the other reviewers have mentioned the wonderful attributes of this resort; however the most distinguishing characteristic is the attitude and professionalism of the entire staff. Simply put, they cannot do ENOUGH for you!
And, as a serious golfer, the two fabulous Nicklaus courses can almost make you forget Pebble Beach (actually PM is perhaps better, due to climate).
In sum, a star in the Starwood Collection, and an experience not to missed.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank josida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta de Mita
7 mi away
W Punta de Mita
W Punta de Mita
#7 of 11 in Punta de Mita
231 reviews
9.3 mi away
Amor Boutique Hotel
Amor Boutique Hotel
#4 of 10 in Sayulita
257 reviews
2.7 mi away
Casa De Mita
Casa De Mita
#8 of 11 in Punta de Mita
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
1.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Punta Mita
Four Seasons Resort Punta Mita
#1 of 11 in Punta de Mita
2,071 reviews
3.5 mi away
Iberostar Playa Mita
Iberostar Playa Mita
#3 of 11 in Punta de Mita
3,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort

Address: Carretera Federal 200, km 19.5 | Lote H-4, Punta de Mita 63734, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Punta de Mita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Punta de Mita
#1 Family Hotel in Punta de Mita
#2 Luxury Hotel in Punta de Mita
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Punta de Mita
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Punta de Mita
#2 Spa Hotel in Punta de Mita
Price Range: $450 - $2,412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amongst one of the world's most alluring beaches at the Riviera Nayarit, in a a 1500-acre resort and residential community, The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort is an exquisite luxury resort in Punta de Mita, Mexico. Our property features 120 accommodations, thoughtful amenities, and spectacular grounds. We offer an experience that transcends ordinary travel, immersing guests in unsurpassed luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Punta Mita Hotel Punta De Mita
St Regis Punta De Mita
St Regis Punta Mita Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing