We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy New Year - 2012!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Punta de Mita
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Arriving at The St. Regis Punta Mita after spending 7 days in Sayulita over the Christmas period was like arriving in paradise!

Although it was a brief stay for us at The St. Regis, it was exactly what we needed to wrap up our vacation. Compared to Sayulita, the ocean was warm and blue and very appealing for swimming, surfing or absolutely nothing.

When we checked-in, it was like the lap of luxury – “…. Please have a seat in our lobby to do the paperwork, would you like a Margarita? Some water, mango ice tea, or anything else?” The view from the lobby/arrival area was incredible and as we sat there staring out to sea in the perfectly framed view with the palm trees, water fountains and pools, what pops up on the horizon in the ocean – whales jumping repeatedly out of the ocean! No, I’m not kidding.

Our rooms weren’t quite ready, so the staff stored our luggage, got us set up at the Beach Club and we spent the entire afternoon there. Service on the beach was great, constant flow of buckets of cold bottled water, towel and chair service extraordinaire. The food was also top notch and really tasty, specifically loved the Quesadillas and Nachos.

I’m a long time Platinum Preferred, and recognize that upgrades are usually done upon check-in and based on availability. It was New Year’s Eve and we weren’t expecting anything special as the property was in a sold out situation. When we got into our room, we were so impressed and our luggage was already there. They gave us lovely adjoining, upper level Luxury Ocean View Rooms. The view was great, rooms were SO luxurious and spacious. The bathrooms were the probably the nicest appointed bathrooms I’ve seen in a hotel. Equipped with deep luxurious baths (that filled up very fast), indoor and outdoor showers, 2 sinks, with plenty of privacy too. (Unlimited hot water - unlike our supposed luxury Villa in Sayulita.) The beds and the pillows were possibly the best that we’ve ever slept on – anywhere, even better than home. If someone from the St. Regis reads this post, please give us the exact model of the bed, pillows, sheets – we want to get them for our house.

The hotel went to a great effort and put on a spectacular “all-white” themed New Year’s celebration. Furniture, staging – all white, and guests were encouraged to dress in white. Instead of the large festive party, we opted for Private Dining, and had service on our verandah, which easily handled a table of 5, candles and provided great views of the midnight fireworks celebration.

Worth noting that the turn down service was flawless and did not at all intrude on us as we were in the room, efficient and pleasant. Butler Service was also great and we loved the coffee on the terrace in the morning.

Three beautiful pool areas, and the entire hotel, although it was sold-out, never had the feeling that was it was crowded or busy, very relaxing overall. Personal favorite pool area was the upper vanishing edge adult pool. Warm, salt water, perfect for swimming laps – estimate was between 25 and 30 meters long – best view for a lap swim – EVER!

The icing on the cake for us, was that our return flight home wasn’t until 845pm, and they graciously extended our check out, to 6pm.

Thank you St. Regis Punta Mita, and hats off to Carl Emberson, the GM! Happy New Year!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scratchcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,011)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,562 - 1,568 of 2,011 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2011

From the moment of arrival to the last goodbye, everyone and everything at the St Regis (STRPM)was impeccable.
My wife and I have been to over 90 countries, and many of the world's finest properties - the STRPM is among the best.
So many of the other reviewers have mentioned the wonderful attributes of this resort; however the most distinguishing characteristic is the attitude and professionalism of the entire staff. Simply put, they cannot do ENOUGH for you!
And, as a serious golfer, the two fabulous Nicklaus courses can almost make you forget Pebble Beach (actually PM is perhaps better, due to climate).
In sum, a star in the Starwood Collection, and an experience not to missed.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank josida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Spent a wonderful holiday weekend here with the family. SR Punta Mita is hands-down the best Starwood property that I've visited... and I've been to quite a few. The resort is gorgeous with beautiful rooms, spectacular pools, and amazing scenery. The service is equally outstanding, they achieve a perfect balance of total pampering while being genuinely friendly and concerned about delivering the best possible experience for each guest. Kudos to our fantastic butlers for arranging great outings, keeping us well-stocked with coffee and tea, and delivering a memorable Thanksgiving dinner to enjoy on our patio overlooking the ocean. We cannot wait to come back again soon.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SandSpider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Our family usually travels to the Four Seasons in Hawaii, but decided to try something different this year. We were originally leaning toward going to the Four Seasons in Punta Mita, but decided to try the St. Regis instead. It ended up being the best decision we made! The St Regis Punta Mita property is so beautfiul and the staff at the hotel were beyond excellent. They went out of their way to accomodate us. The rooms are top notch and the design of the property is easy for a family with little kids. (We were upgraded to a suite with a connecting room which was perfect for my wife and two kids (5 and 3).) If you like beach vacations, go here. You will not be disappointed! In fact, we enjoyed our trip so much that my wife and I will be coming back in June to celebrate our 10th anniversary as well as making this resort our annual winter trip destination!!

Room Tip: All rooms are pretty nice since they are villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2011

The property is stunning, but the staff is what truly makes this resort what it is. They are friendly and attentive, and for me at least, they made this the nicest resort by far that I've ever stayed at. I have already booked for next December.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChicagoM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

We switched up our usual Hawaii Winter trip with a week in Punta Mita this year. It was a great choice! Punta Mita is a very high end luxury resort area that is completely gated. There are two resorts, St. Regis and Four Seasons and two golf courses. It feels so extemely safe. I was really impressed with the St. Regis. It is beautifully done. Great decor. Amazing staff! The grounds are immaculate. The pools are perfect. The food was great. I especially LOVED our room. We got the basic two queen guestroom. It was a very good size with an oversized bathroom and a walk in closet. The bathroom had a beautiful tub, shower and even and OUTDOOR shower. The weather was amazing with not even a drop of rain the entire 7 days we were there. I can't say the same for Hawaii in December. It was a bit quiet while we were there, but I think it was the week before it got busy for the holidays. There is no big water slide for the kids, but the staff does a great job of planning daily activities and pinatas, water balloon fights..etc...to keep them happy. The beach is a bit pebbly (bring water socks) But the water was really clean and nice. Love this hotel. Hopefully I will be back sometime soon!

Room Tip: It honestly felt like there wasn't a bad room in the place. There are no rooms facing parking lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

From greeting you with margaritas while reception provides info at a sofa (not a counter) to convincing local vendors to get deals on adventures, the service at the St. Regis is phenomenal. We had minor issues with cleanliness (namely insects due to the proximity to the water), and Carl (the GM on duty) immediately helped us to change to another room. Other people of note were Yanet (the late night receptionist) who helped us with changing rooms and all other late night requests, Angelica (concierge) who talked Vallarta Adventures into providing us a discount on their excursions, Dalila (reservations) who was in constant contact prior to the trip and provided much needed information, Erick (concierge) who was patient with my constant nagging on various activities in the area, and every butler we had (I remember Jesus as he provided 15-20 minutes of information on to-dos in Puerto Vallarta). Not to mention those that provided the wine and chocolate strawberries for our anniversary.

Tips (mostly related to other activities):
- Go to Sayulita. Cute town, only 20 minute drive from the hotel. Go during the day as the night time drive is really dark.
- Get the risotto at Sea Breeze. Delicious.
- Go during whale season (December - February). If you have an ocean view, you can see whales.
- Use Vallarta Adventures (see separate review) for activities. If you do, check the website in advance as they have specials. Go to Rhythms of the Night. Superb experience.
- Eat at Si Senor on the main street in Punta de Mita. If you're vegetarian, get the green sauce veggie/cheese enchiladas (without zucchini).

Absolutely fantastic experience.

Room Tip: A room without any adjoining room is quieter. Second floor will probably have less insects (ending...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Saurabh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta de Mita
7 mi away
W Punta de Mita
W Punta de Mita
#6 of 11 in Punta de Mita
243 reviews
9.3 mi away
Amor Boutique Hotel
Amor Boutique Hotel
#4 of 10 in Sayulita
267 reviews
2.7 mi away
Casa De Mita
Casa De Mita
#9 of 11 in Punta de Mita
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Meson de Mita
Hotel Meson de Mita
#10 of 11 in Punta de Mita
89 reviews
1.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Punta Mita
Four Seasons Resort Punta Mita
#1 of 11 in Punta de Mita
2,095 reviews
3.5 mi away
Iberostar Playa Mita
Iberostar Playa Mita
#3 of 11 in Punta de Mita
3,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort

Address: Carretera Federal 200, km 19.5 | Lote H-4, Punta de Mita 63734, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Punta de Mita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Punta de Mita
#1 Romantic Hotel in Punta de Mita
#2 Luxury Hotel in Punta de Mita
#2 Spa Hotel in Punta de Mita
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Punta de Mita
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Punta de Mita
Price Range: $417 - $2,818 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amongst one of the world's most alluring beaches at the Riviera Nayarit, in a a 1500-acre resort and residential community, The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort is an exquisite luxury resort in Punta de Mita, Mexico. Our property features 120 accommodations, thoughtful amenities, and spectacular grounds. We offer an experience that transcends ordinary travel, immersing guests in unsurpassed luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Punta Mita Hotel Punta De Mita
St Regis Punta De Mita
St Regis Punta Mita Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing