We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't book our rooms when we're planning to be there.......”
Review of Casa De Mita

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa De Mita
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Punta de Mita
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2014

.....because we want them!

This is a great little gem of a place, and we found it to be perfect - for us. However don't come here if you:

1. Can't climb stairs
2. Are allergic to dogs (there are 3 here - Osita, or Little Bear, Madison, and Evita).
3. Need to be close to shopping and night life and lots of people
4. Can't sleep to the sound of the ocean
5. Need a big, fancy swimming pool
6. Don't like the sight of an iguana or two
7. Are on a diet

Ye host, Marc, advertises Casa de Mita as a "home away from home", and it truly is. Only better. Much, much better. In my home, I'm the one making the beds and washing the floors, and I don't do nearly as good a job as the housekeeping staff here - Maria, Alicia, and Lucy.

Also I'm not such a great cook compared to Octavio, Jesus, and Juanito. (Hope I got everyone's name right, and apologies if I didn't). Wow, what wonderful, fresh, well-prepared cuisine. The produce is wonderful, the best tomatoes I ever ate, anywhere. And they'll try to accommodate your every wish and diet requirement.

Plus, everything is served with gracious hospitality and efficiency. Muchissimas gracias to the caballeros muy simpaticos: Lalo, Memo, Manuel, Roberto, and Mauricio. Again, sorry if I'm mangling the spelling. I acquired a modicum of new Spanish during our week at Casa de Mita, but I still have a lot to learn. Guess I need more visits to the wonderful casa on Playa Careyeros, haha.

Don't blench at the prices. So much is included, and the staff does everything to make your vacation worry-free. Even including a loaner car for local trips, and a loaner local cell phone. No charge for laundry, snorkel gear, kayaks, etc etc. I probably shouldn't even be gushing on like this, but I can't help myself.

Here's a tip or two:

If the ocean is a little rough in front of the Casa, walk to the other end of the beach near the Punta de Mita beach club, just before the rocks. The water is quite calm there for swimming.

Save room for tequila tasting, in the tequila bar, after dinner.

If you have any problems or concerns, don't hesitate to bring it up to any of the staff. We had some ceiling fan and hot water issues, and they were handled promptly.

There are a few little critters around, it's nature, so bring something to repel any bugs, and soothe your skin if you're bitten. Nothing major, but it helps to be prepared.

Have a massage! Or a manicure/pedicure! Make love with the one who loves you :-)

And finally, don't tell anyone about this place......ooops!

We're already booked for next winter. Wish we could be back sooner.

Room Tip: Rooms 5 and 6 share a lovely balcony in addition to each room's personal balcony. One of the roo...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank northwestnerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
There are newer reviews for Casa De Mita
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 166 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2014

We spent several days at the St. Regis in Punta de Mita and then several days at the Casa de Mita. Both were excellent. While Casa de Mita lacked the variety of restaurants and other ameniaties found at a large hotel, we totally enjoyed relaxed atmosphere and sense of privacy. It is a small hotel with great views. The food was wonderful and the staff did an outstanding job. We feel we had the best of both worlds on our trip. I am writing this review because I believe this small hotel with wonderful food, attentive staff, and a very relaxing environment should be recognized.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosenbloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We recently celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary in Punta Mita with friends and family and held one of our special dinners at Casa De Mita. The property is breath taking and the staff is lovely, helpful and accommodating. There were 14 of us dining and they set up a beautiful square table by the ocean. The set-up made it so easy to have conversation. The night was a full moon night with tons of stars, and the meal and the ambiance matched the natural surroundings. Everything we ordered was delicious and they were so helpful in adjusting to peoples dietary concerns. The best key lime pie ever! This was an incredibly special event and Casa De Mita made a wonderful celebration, PERFECT!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

My husband and I just returned from 3 glorious days at Casa de Mita. it was not nearly long enough. We are beach people and the wonderful staff accommodated us with chairs and service on our own nearly "private" beach….heaven. We felt as if we were in a Corona commercial. The sand is white and the water very blue. It is a flat, wide walking beach with waves ideal for swimming. Our room (#1) was fantastic, with a lovely shower (lots of water pressure and hot water!), comfy bed and relaxing outdoor space. The food, wine, margaritas were superb. The staff-Maricio, Memo and his brother were top knotch and provided warm and friendly service. We cannot wait to return…5 stars all the way and worth the price.

Room Tip: I can't imaging there is a bad room but we loved room #1, overlooking the beach, pool and terrac...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sally F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Stayed almost a week with my husband. Luxurious, very quiet. If you get bored easily you should look for another property. Prices for some extras like spa were a little high but overall this was an excellent, relaxing trip. Food was really delicious, staff top notch. Only real complaint is that the water pressure in the shower was so incredibly poor that I actually had my husband filling up our empty water bottles in the sink and then trying to pour them on my head when I bathed so that I could get the soap out (not an easy thing to do with poor pressure when you have thick long hair full of sea salt.)

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Dylaness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

I think the title about sums it up. Not much more to add that others haven't already said. The food is excellent, the beach is beautiful, but best of all is how the staff takes care of you during your stay. We stayed with a group of friends and after a full day of drinking and relaxing, we all went to bed leaving our various cameras, iphones, etc. laying about. It poured that night and the first thing I though when I woke up was that my very expensive camera was ruined, especially since the staff had left by the time we went to bed. Well I should have known better based on all the reviews. All of our stuff had been brought inside and was waiting for us the next morning. How many other vacation spots would do that for you? After that first night we never had to worry about leaving our stuff laying about.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Defining what a boutique hotel is is not easy. Dictionaries and Wikis could make it easier on themselves by just putting a picture of Casa de Mita and a link to its website. Et voila!
Casa de Mita has been a favorite of ours for many years. Situated on a picturesque beach looking towards Punta Mita, it provides a relaxing, laid-back style of vacationing that we just can't get enough of. Why don't other hotels do this? One great price provides a great location, great service, great rooms, great cuisine and great drinks (quality wines and killer margaritas). And no children! Nothing against children but when you want to get away from them with your better half, you want a place that isn't necessarily providing you more of them. Casa de Mita is therefore a wonderful escape for adults.
Fifteen years ago we started a collection of boutique hotels in Mexico and we have been enjoying Mexico's finest ever since. We've been to at least a hundred of them, and Casa de Mita is right there at the top of our list.

Room Tip: Only a few rooms and they are all great. Spend most of your time in the common areas anyways so it r...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Flojohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta de Mita
5.2 mi away
W Punta de Mita
W Punta de Mita
#6 of 11 in Punta de Mita
187 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Meson de Mita
Hotel Meson de Mita
#11 of 11 in Punta de Mita
80 reviews
6.9 mi away
Amor Boutique Hotel
Amor Boutique Hotel
#4 of 10 in Sayulita
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort
1.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Punta Mita
Four Seasons Resort Punta Mita
#2 of 11 in Punta de Mita
1,957 reviews
0.8 mi away
Iberostar Playa Mita
Iberostar Playa Mita
#3 of 11 in Punta de Mita
2,966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa De Mita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa De Mita

Address: Calle Playa Careyeros, Punta de Mita 48324, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Punta de Mita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Punta de Mita
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Punta de Mita
Price Range: $813 - $946 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa De Mita 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Mexico boutique villa style hotel ... located on a secluded white sanded beach in Punta de Mita just north of Puerto Vallarta ... Hotel is an ''all inclusive'' formula so that the emphasis is on service and quality of total experience ... A wonderful interpretation of Mexican charm and hospitality with casual elegance that appeals to all the senses ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Casa De Mita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Mita Hotel Punta De Mita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing