We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It is what it is” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Monclova

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Monclova
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Monclova
SomeWhere USA
1 review
“It is what it is”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

The pool has no water, The wireless internet drops out constantly anywhere in the hotel, Food is expensive for Mexico and it is the same menu they have had for 15 years (yes I have stayed here several times over the last 2 decades) , Don't exchange currency at the front desk 1.5 to 2 peso's less than prevailing exchange rate. Their shuttle van is on it's last leg. The waiters are very attentive and friendly but the front desk staff are clueless. Good luck on getting a wake up call 50/50 . They remove the lobby coffee every morning at 7:30 am . I am going to check out the alternative hotels for my next visit. For the price at best a 2 star hotel.

Room Tip: Stay on the backside of hotel, busy road on front and noisy. Or bring a cardboard box and stay in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarke F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Monclova, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Clarke F,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    20
    17
    6
    4
See reviews for
6
5
3
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin VA
Level Contributor
91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed here during a visit to the large steel mill here. This was a good place to stay and has a good restaurant on the ground floor. There is a McDonald's across the street and an Oxxo convenience store, so if you aren't comfortable running around town on your own, you don't have to go far for the basics.
The town of Monclova currently does not have a police force - it is patrolled by the Mexican army and Marines.
Be sure to see the new "Phoenix" sculpture near the new billion dollar steel mill built by AHMSA.

Room Tip: The pool was closed and I did not see a fitness center. I am told the hotel is in the process of sw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mccourt49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

This former Sheraton Hotel (easy to see why it would be dropped by Sheraton) and soon to become a Holiday Inn type is nothing to write home about. It's the basics at its best. Hotel is still being renovated but that does not excuse the couch in the lobby which was full of holes and tears. At least it has a restaurant - with less than average quality food.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with vue to the back. The front of the hotel is an overpass on the busiest road. BE...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank axxam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Monclova, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear axxam,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn around. It sounds like we fell below your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. I hope that you take the time to stop in for a visit soon to see how we have taken every comment very seriously in order to make your future stays with us as pleasant as possible.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Not that you have many lodging options in this steel town. This hotel has been around for more than 30 years so they know their business. For some time they ran the Four Points by Sheraton brand but last year they dropped it and as far as I know they will be a Holiday Inn sometime soon. Nevertheless it's the same operators.
The rooms are clean, avoid the ones on the front because traffic gets noisy early in the morning. Ask for an interior room. They have a good bar and a very good restaurant. Service is slow but friendly. WiFi is a bit under my expectations in terms of speed and strength.
The hotel is in a nice area, there are restaurants around and I find it pretty safe to walk around.
They are renovating so the gym isn't available.
I hope this helps

Room Tip: Ask for an interior looking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Homero M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Monclova, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Hummer63,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. We strive to ensure all of our guests needs are met and we are pleased to know that the bar, restaurant as well as our location were to your liking and contributed to making your stay that much more comfortable. Please accept our deepest apologies for the issues you had encountered with the room you had, service you received and the wifi. Rest assured that we take all comments and suggestions to heart so that we can improve and provide the exceptional service that our guests expect and deserve.

Once again many thanks for your feedback and we would welcome the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAWLEYS ISLAND
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

Hard to rate this one in general as depends how much weight to give the negatives. Here are to main negatives and positives to my experience. A 2 night stay.
No longer a Four Points Sher, will be a Holiday Inn. Hotel lobby is being renovated / construction now in progress.
NEGATIVES
Only luke warm water and it take 5 minutes to get luke warm along with very very low presssure so shower a bad experience if you call it a shower.
Internet service wireless very slow and several interruptions of service.

POSITIVES
Fastastic cash Breakfast Buffet, but getting a clean table and even coffe a challenge. Very poor service but Great Buffet and Omlette bar.
Room was clean well appointed and good space.
Young lady at Front desk great

I expect Holiday Inn / new Management will turn this around and turn up the water heater.,

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aleengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thionville, France
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Well... no doubt this is a good place to stay. But it is supposed to be the best one in Monclova... So i only give a 3* for this one, which is more expensive that 2 other ones, with nothing really more interesting..
Yet, rooms are really nice and clean. Service is good;
But many thinks are lacking a place that would like to be the best.
Many little details: water of the swiming pool a little dirty, almost no towels available there, little spots on the walls, letters missing on panels, people nice but not too much, etc.
Nothing very important, but i do not know why pay more there than other ones?
The restaurant is ok, but the food is not as tasty as Mexican food can be... little flat in some ways.
The fitness center is quite good, better than the average. just a little stinky (please shampoo the floor!)
Some works during my stay; do you feel normal to hear workers knocking the walls at midnight? by the way, go to hotels is about sleep... usually...
Still way to go to reach 4 seasons!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZHRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2010

you get what you pay for. its a small town so dont expect much but rest assure you will not be staying in a bad hotel.

considering its 1 of 3 nice hotels there yes....but in any other town that has a larger population no...i would not reccomend it.

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TXtravelerHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monclova hotels
0.6 mi away
One Monclova Hotel
One Monclova Hotel
#1 of 8 in Monclova
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Go Inn
BEST WESTERN Go Inn
#7 of 8 in Monclova
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fiesta Inn Monclova
Fiesta Inn Monclova
#2 of 8 in Monclova
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sleep Inn Monclova
Sleep Inn Monclova
#4 of 8 in Monclova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Monclova
Comfort Inn Monclova
#5 of 8 in Monclova
3.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Aeropuerto Monclova - Frontera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Monclova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Monclova

Property: Holiday Inn Monclova
Address: Boulevard Harold R. Pape 200 | Col. Guadalupe, Monclova 25750, Mexico (Formerly Kalionchiz Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Coahuila > Monclova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Monclova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Monclova 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Holiday Inn Monclova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Monclova
Four Points Monclova
Monclova Four Points
Monclova Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing