We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Love This Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alamos Hotel Colonial
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Alamos
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We felt safe on good roads getting to Alamos.
The Tourist Police recommended the Colonial and led us to it.
It has the best location in town, right by the cool old church.
Owners Kelley and Janet are terrific and very attentive.
Remodel/decor is fresh and eclectic but still has the Spanish Colonial charm.
The open courtyard and rooftop garden areas are wonderful.
City views from the roof are sweet.
Each room is unique and very well appointed.
Breakfast was made to order and delicious.
KELLEY EXPERTLY ROASTS HIS OWN COFFEE IN-HOUSE!(WHAT OTHER HOTEL DOES THIS?)
This is old school luxury travel. I wasn't sure if I felt like Ernest Hemingway or Anthony Bourdain.
We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank icetalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 71 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2014

I plan to include this delightful oasis in my next travel book, after my agent Paul found it on our way from Nogales to Guadalajara. Hot and tired and thirsty after a long day's drive, we talked the owner and her husband into letting us stay the night even though they were closing for the season and leaving for the USA early the next morning. We chatted well into the night with our friendly hosts, and they had the cook serve us a great breakfast the next morning with gourmet coffee from beans fresh roasted in the owners' onsite roaster. Don't miss this experience!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, filled with antiques and very comfortable beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DonMiguelLasVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Extremely comfortable, warmly decorated, clean, Courtyard could use some maintenance but fits it's age. Was supposed to have coffee & such included but hard to score. Seemed staff was tucked in kitchen but didn't show themselves. Was approached for coffee one morn at 8a.m. but staffer had to run out, meaning I had to wait for their return. We got coffee & such out instead. Hosts were pleasant but staff obscure at the a.m. bell. a little more supervision would have made this an excellent stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelley H, General Manager at Alamos Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2014

Thank you for your review and candor. As a result of your review we are working harder with our staff to correct their responsiveness to our guests. We are a small hotel and pride ourselves on excellence, so will be paying much more attention to service. Thanks again, we hope you will visit us again. It will be a welcome opportunity for us to show you that we listened!

Kelley and Janet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Was here for the film festival. Absolutely stunning courtyard harden, beautiful design details throughout and tons of southern hospitality from Janet, our welcoming host. "Elegance in the Center" describes this spot perfectly.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jonleontorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Outstanding location, in the centro historico. Stunning courtyard, private gardens, gorgeous hand-picked decor in each room, breath-taking roof-top terrace, wonderful owners/hosts, great coffee, roasted on the premises...
Casual elegance, cozy without ever feeling stuffy, this is, by far, my favorite hotel.
Ideal for a laid-back week-end, a family reunion or a wedding... You will not regret it!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Falamosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Sure - outstanding hotel with amazing charm, & beauty located in the heart of Alamos, but it was Kelley & Janet that made our stay something to remember. They have a passion for what they do, and it shows in the way they go about their day. Just down home warm & genuine individuals that made us feel like family.

p.s. the coffee alone is worth the trip. Kelley has been home roasting for years, and recently brought in a commercial roaster!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Pat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Hotel Colonial is an absolute jewel in the heart of el centro near everything. The new terrace rooftop adds another dimension to an already outstanding place. Small, intimate, charming, and elegant. It's great!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FoodFanFool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alamos hotels
0.1 mi away
Hacienda De Los Santos
0.0 mi away
Hotel Luz del Sol
Hotel Luz del Sol
#3 of 8 in Alamos
15 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Las 7 Columnas
Casa Las 7 Columnas
#5 of 8 in Alamos
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alamos Hotel Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamos Hotel Colonial

Address: Calle Alvaro Obregon # 4, Alamos 85760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Sonora > Alamos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Alamos
Price Range: $125 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alamos Hotel Colonial 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury hotel in lovingly restored colonial mansion, located in center of town. Beautifully decorated with antiques from around the world. Gorgeous views of city and surrounding mountains from our spacious roof terraces and roof gardens! Privately owned and operated. The owners will serve you their private label coffee roasted on site! Lovely Gilchrist & Soames amenities! Services include a complimentary complete hot breakfast, off street parking, free wifi, and guest computer center. Guest laundry service provided if staying multiple days. Business travelers welcome!! Perfect location for weddings for up to 300, meetings for up to 100, family reunions, anniversaries, birthday weekends, romantic weekend get-away. Pre bodas, post bodas, bodas, reuniones, aniversarios, fiestas! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Alamos Hotel Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alamos Hotel Colonial Mexico - Sonora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing