We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best of Alamos and Sonora!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alamos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Pedregal Nature Lodge and Retreat Center
Ranked #1 of 9 Alamos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glenwoid SprIngs, co
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The best of Alamos and Sonora!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

With years of travel throughout Mexico under our belts we have found one of our all time favorite accommodations in El Pedregal!!

With only a half dozen or so casitas (cabins) on 20 beautiful acres you get to enjoy all that Alamos has to offer while enjoying a quiet, secure, and relaxing night stay!

The cabins and main house are beautifully designed constructed by local artisans! Each are well appointed and the bedding is top notch.

The staff and owners are great hosts and extremely knowledable about the local area! The breakfast included with our stay was excellent!

All in all the experience is on par with 5 star elite properties of this type in all of North America!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doradohunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenmack, Owner at El Pedregal Nature Lodge and Retreat Center, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
thank you for taking the time to write a review...and thanks so much for the kind words! we really appreciate it and we look forward to having you back here again soon! all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
34
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

We have stayed at El Pedregal three times and are planning a return in February 2014. The grounds are beautiful, the people are extraordinary, the food is a marvel, and, oh yeah, there's all those birds, too.

I would go back just to spend time with Jenn and David and their crew, hang out on the Alameda in Alamos, and get away from the hustling world. The birding is awesome, though, and David is a world class birder.

Room Tip: There's not a bad one to be found.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hall E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenmack, Owner at El Pedregal Nature Lodge and Retreat Center, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
hi guys...thanks for your wonderful review and we look forward to seeing you again here soon...we missed having you here over the holidays, but i think you'll be visiting alamos some time soon! look forward to your visit and all the best to both of you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoita, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

only stayed for one night. david and jennifer were very nice to us and it was peaceful and quiet.. i am not a birder but david pointed out some neat hummers and orioles ive never seen. they and the nature center are great/jon in arizona

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonaz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

If you love birds, you need to definitely plan a stay at El Pedregal Nature Lodge! The birds are awesome, with many feeders to attract them to the lodge. We just stayed there last week and saw tons of colorful birds on the grounds, such as yellow grosbeaks, streak-backed orioles, violet-crowned hummingbirds, yellow-billed cuckoos, plain-capped starthroats, rufous-browed motmots, ferruginous pygmy owls, and so many more. In addition, our casita, Palo Santo, was beautifully appointed, clean and air-conditioned, with two nice bedrooms and one bathroom. The grounds are beautiful, with lots of local plants and a view of the mountains. On top of all this, the breakfasts are incredibly delicious, with fresh local fruits, granola, yogurt, sweet breads, and various egg dishes - my favorite was the huevos rancheros! Our hostess, Jennifer, was the sole of hospitality and graciously accomodated our special requests, and arranged for two mornings of excellent bird trips with a local guide. Just a perfect stay, all around, and we are eager to return!! We flew to Ciudad Obregon where we rented a car to drive to Alamos. This is a very easy drive!

Room Tip: We loved the extra space in the Palo Santo casita, which has two bedrooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank k-wren1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenmack, Owner at El Pedregal Nature Lodge and Retreat Center, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
hola amigos! finally getting around to replying to your very nice review. it was great having you boht here and hope you can come down for another stay soon. since then we've seen you on our durango highway-san blas trip...and hope we cross paths again soon! xoxo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Our whole family, from folks age 73 to a seven year old enjoyed the casita and the grounds . The youngest just loved the dogs! The food at breakfasts was excellent and the peace and quiet of the environment will bring us back as often as we can . The thirty and forty year olds did hiking and especially enjoyed the great photo opportunities of the grounds. We will remember the visit as just right and the hosts as wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ardie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenmack, Owner at El Pedregal Nature Lodge and Retreat Center, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
it was great to have your whole familia here! sorry for the slow reply...but thanks so much for your review and hope you can come visit us again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Our family was planning to go down for the Alamos Film Festival in March and we had only one place in mind to stay- El Pedregal. We have been to Alamos numerous times and stayed at other hotels but El Pedregal can't be beat. It combines everything that I love - care and commitment to the local ecology and culture, great food, privacy when desired, attention to detail, hospitality and convenience. The location sits right on the edge of town so you feel that you are in the middle of amazing tropical deciduous forest but in fact you are just a short stroll from central Alamos (no car required)! Jennifer was gracious as always and she and her staff, Angela, always make us feel like we are special friends. If you want a very comfortable stay, in beautiful surroundings with hosts who are part of the local community then El Pedregal is your place.

Room Tip: I've stayed at El Pedregal twice and both cabinas were top notch! You can't go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenmack, Owner at El Pedregal Nature Lodge and Retreat Center, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
It was great to have you guys back here! So glad you enjoy your time here...and look forward to having you back here soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

We have been to Alamos several times over the past several years. Usually for the music festival. This was our first experience at El Pedregal. It is a wonderful retreat with beautiful grounds and private well appointed casitas. Jennifer and David are wonderful hosts. The gourmet breakfasts are a real treat. There are acres of hiking trails and natural Sonoran landscape on the property. A great place for birding or just hanging out. David and Jennifer also organize tours and bird watching expeditions all over Mexico. While staying at El Pedregal they organized a wonderful day long river trip, including lunch, exploring an ancient rock art site and bird watching on the Mayo River near Alamos. Highly recommended! You will not be disappointed. Close and within walking distance to downtown Alamos but quiet and secluded.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenmack, Owner at El Pedregal Nature Lodge and Retreat Center, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Glad you had a good stay with us and hope you can return again soon! Saludos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alamos hotels
0.8 mi away
Alamos Hotel Colonial
Alamos Hotel Colonial
#2 of 6 in Alamos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hacienda De Los Santos
0.7 mi away
Casa Las 7 Columnas
Casa Las 7 Columnas
#3 of 9 in Alamos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Luz del Sol
Hotel Luz del Sol
#5 of 9 in Alamos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices

Been to El Pedregal Nature Lodge and Retreat Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Pedregal Nature Lodge and Retreat Center

Property: El Pedregal Nature Lodge and Retreat Center
Address: Calle Privada s/n | Barrio El Chalaton, Alamos 85760, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Sonora > Alamos
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Alamos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Pedregal Nature Lodge is set on twenty acres at the edge of Alamos. Our five individual casita guest rooms are beautifully appointed, very comfortable, private and peaceful. The central lodge provides delicious breakfasts, other meals by prior arrangement, a library, wi-fi and great hospitality. Outdoors, we have a spacious open air palapa, a beautiful salt water pool, fire pit and 2 miles of walking trails. Yoga classes are offered Tuesday and Thursday mornings (November through April). Massages are also offered by prior reservation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
El Pedregal Nature Lodge And Retreat Center Alamos, Mexico - Sonora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing