We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A slice of heaven!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Pedregal Nature Lodge and Retreat Center

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alamos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Pedregal Nature Lodge and Retreat Center
Ranked #1 of 9 Alamos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A slice of heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

We spent three nights at El Pedregal in March 2012 and adored it. David and Jennifer welcomed us warmly and were the consummate hosts. David leads birding trips all over the world, so we paid him to take us on a morning birding trip at a nearby creek where we saw an amazing array of tropical birds. El Pedregal has lots of nature trails and a wonderful ramada with tables and chairs where guests can watch birds at feeders/baths.

Our casita was spacious, clean and beautifully decorated with Mexican folk art. The bed was comfy and made up with top-notch bed linens. Purified water was supplied daily. Among her many amazing talents, Jennifer is a professional chef. So breakfasts were bountiful and healthy: fresh baked muffins, yogurt and fruit, sturdy coffee, and an egg dish.

El Pedregal is an easy and pleasant walk to the center of Alamos. We didn't drive our car the entire time we were there.

El Pedregal was definitely our favorite part of the visit to Alamos!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laurielizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
34
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

We have visited Alamos several times and will return for sure in the future. We will not return with out staying with Jennifer and David. They are simply the best. Accommodations are very clean and well kept, food is excellent but the best is the wonderful friendship of Jennifer and David. This is a must experience for anyone who travels to this area. They are reason enough to travel to this area!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosillo, Mexico
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

Last weekend we took a much needed vacation to Alamos. We had heard that the town was a must see. We brought our 1 year old who absolutely loved hanging out with the resident dogs and hiking on the nature trails. Jennifer and David are wonderfully accommodating hosts, who made us feel welcome each time we saw each other despite the busy nature of running a b&b. We are making plans for a return within the next month. Families: please note that I rated El Pedregal as excellent for the nature experiences and outdoor imaginative play.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Etrevathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

We visited Alamos during the 2011 Christmas Holidays with our 6 year old daughter. We stayed 2 nights, but really wish we could have stayed more. El Pedregal is nestled in the quiet hills on the edge of the pueblo. We felt so welcomed by the McKay family that our daughter did not want to leave. Our "casita" was cozy and beautifully built. Photos do not do the property justice. We enjoyed the trails in the Pedregal property. They make for a perfect relaxing walk. We enjoyed a generous and deliscious breakfast each morning in the main house where we were able to connect to the outside world via WiFi. The yoga barn/studio is yet another beautifully placed and aesthetically pleasing part of El Pedregal. Our visit to Alamos was made better in may ways by the numerous suggestions offered by our hosts. The McKay family helped us find a wonderful local restaurant and a great local guide. Their thoughtful suggestions helped us engage our surroundings like we were locals. We cannot wait to return to this special place.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank GGeorgeSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

We had visited Alamos before - in fact, had once stayed at the inn they ran previously, Solipaso, and had met both Jen and Dave before, so we knew that we would enjoy the experience. Nevertheless, our expectations were exceeded. Our casita was well-appointed, and very comfortable. Jen's breakfasts were outstanding - she is an excellent and creative cook. The setting is beautiful - nestled up at the base of the mountains, so great walking or just sitting on the porch watching birds and the leaf cutter ants, and the light on the hills. But also close to the center of town, so a relatively short walk to buy a (fabulous) baguette at the local panaderia. We also spent a day with Dave going up into the hills to visit some of the areas that are now being preserved as conservation land, and spent a morning bird watching with him, which was amazing. And I joined in Jen's yoga classes, which were excellent. All in all, a fabulous experience.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

We traveled to Alamos to get a taste of colonial architecture and a more authentic taste of Mexico than the border towns we've visited previously. What an amazing place. El Pedregal was one of the highlights! We only stayed one night, but we wished we had more time to enjoy the relaxing nature of this little gem! The casitas are situated on a piece of property that makes you feel like you are in the middle of no where (even though you are just a short drive from the town square). They are very nicely decorated, and we loved the thatched roof and real adobe walls. We also like feeling like we had our own little apartment (not a typical hotel room). The breakfast was fantastic, especially because we ate under their big palapa surrounded by the amazing birds that live in the area. We can't say enough great things about this place. If you are going to Alamos, stay at El Pedregal. If you have no plans to go to Alamos, but want a very cool place to take a vacation, then go to El Pedregal.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LetsDrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2011

We were enveloped in peace the minute we arrived at El Pegregal. The casitas are cozey and super clean. The bed was soooo comfy. You wake up to the singing of what seemed a thousand birds. We were the only ones there as it was July. Even the owners were gone, but we were well taken care of by Angela, who cooked huge wonderful breakfasts, and because most of the restaurants in town were closed for the season, she also cooked us a few dinners, which were simple and delicious. The 2 resident dogs were great company. The monsoons started with a downpour the first afternoon we were there. The second afternoon it poured again and the electricity went out, not to go back on until we were closing the door of our car to leave 2 days later. It says everything about El Pedregal that in spite of no light and schlepping buckets of water to make the toilet work, we would go back in a minute. We loved it here!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joankjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenmack, Owner at El Pedregal Nature Lodge and Retreat Center, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay despite the lack of water and electricity! At least you got to witness the first monsoon of the season...and enjoy total peace and quiet at El Pedregal. Thanks for being such good sports and understanding guests. We would have happily offered you alternative lodging in town...glad you were happy to stay here! Hope you can make your way back to Alamos and stay with us again. We'll do something nice for you to make up for your last visit w/o power! Saludos, JM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alamos hotels
0.8 mi away
Alamos Hotel Colonial
Alamos Hotel Colonial
#2 of 6 in Alamos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hacienda De Los Santos
0.7 mi away
Casa Las 7 Columnas
Casa Las 7 Columnas
#3 of 9 in Alamos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Luz del Sol
Hotel Luz del Sol
#5 of 9 in Alamos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices

Been to El Pedregal Nature Lodge and Retreat Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Pedregal Nature Lodge and Retreat Center

Property: El Pedregal Nature Lodge and Retreat Center
Address: Calle Privada s/n | Barrio El Chalaton, Alamos 85760, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Sonora > Alamos
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Alamos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Pedregal Nature Lodge is set on twenty acres at the edge of Alamos. Our five individual casita guest rooms are beautifully appointed, very comfortable, private and peaceful. The central lodge provides delicious breakfasts, other meals by prior arrangement, a library, wi-fi and great hospitality. Outdoors, we have a spacious open air palapa, a beautiful salt water pool, fire pit and 2 miles of walking trails. Yoga classes are offered Tuesday and Thursday mornings (November through April). Massages are also offered by prior reservation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
El Pedregal Nature Lodge And Retreat Center Alamos, Mexico - Sonora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing