We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware of the Avandaro Hotel Personnel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Avandaro Club de Golf & Spa
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Valle de Bravo
Buffalo Grove
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beware of the Avandaro Hotel Personnel”
Reviewed November 23, 2011

Our travel company placed a group of customers in this hotel. Unfortunately one couple cancelled the trip because of health problem. They notified us more than a month before the check in. We notified the hotel immediately and requested refund for the customers' stay at this hotel. The hotel rep did not object and promised to wire -transfer the refund immediately. To make the long story short, the hotel's accounting rep did everything to avoid meeting our manager on their site: she did not come over to the meeting that was set up and did not do anything in order to transfer the refund. Other people who had been in a similar situation also complain about the Hotel Avandaro management that actually steals money because does not return it.
I would not strongly recommend anybody to ever show up at this hotel because of the management's obvious desire to cheat. These people are not trustworthy.

Gregory Mirsky,
Milavia International

Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
7 Thank Margarita T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    102
    38
    21
    20
See reviews for
96
121
6
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Avandaro Hotel and golf has one of the finest courses in Mexico and the hotel is like staying in the alps..

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedroarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2010

I found this hotel to be in a delightful location. The grounds are unbelievably beautiful! But there has not been any remodeling done in the rooms since the dawn of time. Our room had no hot water and once it was fixed there is an obscene amount of time for hot water to start running out of the faucets (the waste of water is atrocious).
I tried to use the spa installations and booked a massage and when I showed up the therapist never did (and no one bothered to tell me).
It is overpriced for the kind of rooms one gets and the prehistoric installations. The spa may be good if the therapists show up or if they decide to give any kind of quality service.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico, DF
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2010

On our first visit to Valle de Bravo, we followed the signs to the hotel. Our first impression was very favorable -- the grounds are beautiful -- golf course, heated pool, lawn areas and the cabanas all seemed wonderful. Once we were in our room, however, we were quickly disappointed. Our room was part of a three room cabin suite, and we were assured the two adjacent rooms would remain empty as they were usually booked for family reservations due to the lack of privacy -- noise is easily heard from adjacent rooms. We encountered neighbors in the adjacent room, who played music/tv loudly, and we were serenaded with their 'romantic' yelps as well! Do not recommend for the price!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tica96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEXICO CITY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2008

Our family with 2 kids (7 and 4) spent a weekend at Hotel Avándaro.

Despite the distance to the city center of Valle de Bravo (aprox. 8 minutes by car), we just loved the location of the hotel. Avándaro is quiter and we found a great bike shop and a nice restaurant closeby.

The junior suite was comfortable and had immediate access to the lush gardens. For colder evenings you even have a fire place.

The kids very happy with the pool and the gardens / golf course offer plenty of space to run around. Also the mini golf provided nice entertainment.

Make sure you try their lovely breakfast buffet during the weekends.

  • Liked — GARDENS, VIEWS
  • Disliked — NOTHING
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MTBFAMILY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ca
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2008

The Avandaro Golf and Spa Resort is situated in a beautiful area. The grouds are superb and the pools is lovely. We ate at the restaurant and the trout was excellent and so was the service. The real issue are the rooms. The bathroom was full of mildew, the carpets were dirty and things were really falling apart. It looks like there has been no maintenance for a long time. Too bad

  • Liked — the grouds
  • Disliked — the room
  • Stayed March 2008
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ciaomondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexico df
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2007

Be careful, the villages are beautiful, but there are 2 kinds of villages. Only the main complex has a pool, the other one requires -for the simple fact of going to the pool- climb about 103 stairs and drive (you don't really want to walk up a hill under a 98º sun) about one mile to access the pool. The stay was not too bad, but we kept our swimming things in the bags. FInal recomendation: look for any other option.

  • Liked — the villages are beautyful
  • Disliked — the long long way to get to the swimming pool
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank alfido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valle de Bravo hotels
1.6 mi away
Mision Grand Valle de Bravo
Mision Grand Valle de Bravo
#4 of 14 in Valle de Bravo
381 reviews
3.9 mi away
El Santuario Hotel And Spa
El Santuario Hotel And Spa
#6 of 14 in Valle de Bravo
375 reviews
2.5 mi away
Meson de Leyendas
Meson de Leyendas
#3 of 14 in Valle de Bravo
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Loto Azul Hotel & Spa
Loto Azul Hotel & Spa
#8 of 14 in Valle de Bravo
137 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Rodavento
Hotel Rodavento
#5 of 14 in Valle de Bravo
191 reviews
2.4 mi away
Las Luciernagas
Las Luciernagas
#1 of 14 in Valle de Bravo
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avandaro Club de Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avandaro Club de Golf & Spa

Property: Hotel Avandaro Club de Golf & Spa
Address: Calle Vega Del Rio S/N | Fraccionamiento Avandaro, Valle de Bravo 51200, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Estado de Mexico > Valle de Bravo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Valle de Bravo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Avandaro Club de Golf & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its recently renovated 81 rooms are distributed in several categories, from a cozy cabana to a junior suite. All rooms have satellite TV, internet, telephone and chimney. King Size and double beds are available. On premises are: Terrazas Restaurant, featuring international and mexican cuisie, with emphasis in local dishes. Spa Avandaro offers massage, therapies, jacuzzi, a steam bath and a mineral water cascade. The gym features cardio and weight lifting equipment. The pool is heated and you can enjoy a nice cocktail or delicious snacks in the pool bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Avandaro Club de Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Avandaro Club De Golf And Amp; Spa
Avandaro Hotel Valle De Bravo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing