We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Hacienda del Sol
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Casa Abadia(Guadalajara)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Armonia(Tlaquepaque)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (83)
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveler rating
35
33
10
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
35
33
10
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssecure parkingsunday markethacienda del solmarket dayswithin walking distancerooms were very cleanmexican hotelking bedconvenient locationexcellent locationstay there againhallwaypetscraftlobbyshoppersguadalajara
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 83 reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2014

The hotel itself was nice and clean. The staff who attended us upon arrival were very friendly and made an effort to help us even though there was a nagging customer in front of us. The parking lot was really big, safe and kept us out of the rain, which was great. However, I have two big complaints. Our room smelled of the sewer. It was really really really bad. They either have a serious problem in their plumbing installations or something else is going on. We had to buy a candle and matches to make the smell dissipate. The other issue we noticed was the fact that the hallway is tiled and the walls to the hallway are really thin. We could hear kids running up and down the hallway at night and people arriving late with their suitcases click-clacking all the way down the hallway. Note that there was serious construction in the street in front of the hotel that has closed down that street (in December 2013).

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We always stay here since it's on the side of Guadalajara we like and is near the craft markets. They also accept pets, so it is our go to place when traveling with our little dog. We appreciate the indoor secure parking as well. It is quite basic, but very clean and the staff is friendly and helpful. The tv's have been upgraded since our last stay and I think the matresses have too. They have a small coffee shop/snack bar in the lobby for a good burger for dinner. This place books up quickly for market days, so if you plan to stay on a Wenesday or Saturday (day before market) make yuor reservation early.

Room Tip: No elevator, so if you need to, ask for a ground floor room!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scronk0413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This is where we stayed in Tonala. It is located next to one of the best weekend markets in Mexico, all within walking distance. Great food in the market area, all different types. If you go left out the lobby door, and across the street you will find the best small bakery! In the market they sell the best potato chips I have ever eaten! The markets sell anything you're looking for, bring a good pair of walking shoes! As an extra bonus, if you buy an item too large to carry, tell the shop owner where you are staying and what room # and they will deliver your purchase to the hotel! For free! I loved this place. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel had a small bar and resturant that were also excellent. Off street secure parking with security and cameras. Great place!

Room Tip: Get air conditioning! Not that $$$
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We always stay at the Hacienda del sol when we are shopping in Tonola. This small clean boutique hotel features Mexican charm and wares of the area of artisans. 3 floors with tile floors and only 1 1/2 blocks walking distance to centro Tonola where all the artisan shops are. Market days are Thursdays and Sundays. Be sure to book in advance as this hotel books up fast. average price is 35.00-45.00 US. Secure parking is available as well as a small resturaunt.

Room Tip: Book the main floor as it is a little cooler on hot months
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2013PlayaVida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We arrived in Tonala very late one night to find our first choice of hotels closed. Our taxi driver suggested this hotel and by doing so did us a big favor! The staff couldn't have been nicer or more helpful, the little restaurant opened early and had a good breakfast, tours could be arranged for, there was even a special area in the lobby assigned for storing extra packages. I never would have stayed here without the taxi driver's suggestion. The outside is very plain but the inside was very nice....our room was small but very clean and was tastefully decorated with local art and furnishings. The popular shopping area of Tonala is quite close.....Just a few blocks away. We enjoyed our stay there and will book a room again next time we are in the area. I do not hesitate to recommend this hotel....

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews