We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Time for Another Visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Rincon del Sol

El Rincon del Sol
Ranked #2 of 16 Restaurants in Tonala
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
447 reviews
259 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
“Time for Another Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

One of us had lunch there twice and I only had lunch one time this trip. We had a bit of excitement on our joint visit on a Saturday when we found a very large table with city officials and numerous members of the police force. The disconcerting aspect was the separate table with three bodyguards with high powered assault weapons at the ready. Just another interesting Mexico experience!

We ordered chicken fajitas and Chamorro along with a couple of Sol cervezas. Timely service and good food!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    28
    15
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The Chile en Nogada was the best meal we had on our three week vacation in Mexico.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Rincon del Sol was the food bright spot in our first visit to Tonala. The diningroom was charming and picturesque. The service was warm and friendly. We ate breakfast there twice and had tasty, satisfying, and not especially memorable meals. What was a real stand out was the dinner entree, Chile en Nogada. This is a traditional food,known for featuring the colors of the Mexican flag - green, the meat and fruit stuffed chile poblano; white, the nutty Nogada sauce; red, a sprinkling of pomegranate seeds. I would return to Tonala to have that meal again. Highly recommended.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fromthedallesOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
171 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Good place to go in Tonala. Very friendly restaurant, breakfast is good, the rest okay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Charming restaurant with a super friendly staff and owner. You can feel the pride of being part of the community in this restaurant and they love to have you as a customer. Lots of local folkart and quaint. A tourist favorite for its reasonable prices and wide range of options. I went there for breakfast everyday while I was on a tour and the breakfast was classic. Not gourmet outstanding but good and basic fresh food. The decor is very nice, like a garden. Handwoven tablecloths and dishware. Very pleasant relaxed place to meetup with friends and hangout. This place definitely caters to tourist and offers good options at fair prices. For Tonala a very good stop. Not much in area for restaurants so I think you will find this a good reliable place. The owner can even point you to places to have some of the artwork you buy packed. They go out of way to be helpful at this place.
As for the food. I liked the Mexican eggs with tortillas or bread for a lovely breakfast with coffee served in traditional clay cups. I had lunch one day and it was simple okay traditional Mexican cuisine. Tasty. I will definitely go back. Great reasonible shopping all around.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sirenanathalieNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012 via mobile

Very good service and food. Live music wonderful. Tonala has more good restaurants but this is one of the best.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joquinmurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
447 reviews
259 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
“Pleasant suprise after a 6 year hiatus.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

We first went to El Rincon del Sol back in '98 or '99. In those days, they had a very limited menu but we got to know the manager and he always took care of us. Many times, he suggested items not shown on the menu and we found his suggestions to be good. At any rate, he left this establishment in '05 or '06 to open his own restaurant and we followed.

This was our first visit to Rincon del Sol since '06 and we were pleasantly surprised by the expanded menu. The restaurant was clean and well maintained, the wait staff was attentive and the entrees well presented. We had lunch there on two consecutive days and were pleased with all meals ordered.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Rincon del Sol also viewed

Tonala, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Tonala, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 
Tonala, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Tonala, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 

Been to El Rincon del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing