We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, but that's about it.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Villas Arqueologicas Teotihuacan
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good location, but that's about it.”
Reviewed January 16, 2011

Stayed just one night and it is a fabulous location, a 10 minute walk from the bus. The rooms are OK, but a couple would want a two bedded rooms, otherwise one of you would have to clamber over the other to get out of bed. Good showers, but wifi does not work in the rooms or dining room. We had to sit by reception, which is partially open to the elements to get a signal.

The food is adequate, we took the meal plan, and to be honest eveything was mean, portion size and variety, but there are no other options. Bring a sweater, because it was chilly and their was no heating in the restaurant.

The ruins are fab, you can easily do it in a full day. They open at 7.30am, so it great to get their early, particularly to climb up the Sun Pyramid before the sun gets too high.

We caught the bus from Mexico City, it took about 1 1/2 hours and was only 35 pesos - easy to do, felt totally safe and people were very helpful. Buses leave every 15 minutes.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wildgoose221260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    94
    48
    6
    6
See reviews for
89
96
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 7, 2010

I had been wanting to explore Teotihuacan for a few years and the opportunity came up for a trip with my cousin. I had already decided that the Villas was the most convenient place due to location and price/amenities for what I need. I am easy to please, needing cleanliness, affordability, descent food and internet access. All was delivered better than expected. The whole place is very nicely put together including artifacts from the Teotihuacan site all throughout the facility in glass cases, almost as good as a museum. There is a nice playground in back for kids, indoor and outdoor dining areas, salon, massage parlor, gift shop, well kept pool and a small unearthed ruins site on the grounds. It is about a 3 block walk to the nearest entrance to Teotihuacan. It would help to learn some basics in Spanish, but not totally necessary. I had a great deal of fun brushing up on my on Espanol with the bartender and waitress. I would stay again no question. The hotel can also arrange for a ride back to the airport, we however had a cool taxi driver we hired from the airport and had him pick us up when we were departing. I would never, ever try to drive in the city, it is madness. I felt like I was in good hands with our guy.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brianooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2010

This is an attractive, well maintained hotel, and the room was quite nice, though the walls were quite thin and we could hear late night arrivals. It is rather isolated, so the on site restaurant was our only choice. Unfortunately, the menu options were not particularly appealing (why so few Mexican dishes?) and the food was mediocre and overpriced. The piped-in music consisted of a Mexican singer singing old American standards (Sinatra, etc.) in English, which did not contribute to the atmosphere.
There was a charge to use the computer, something we did not have to pay extra for at much less expensive hotels. The shop was not open during our stay. If you do not speak Spanish, you may have trouble communicating with the front desk staff, whose English is very limited. I do not usually expect the staff to speak English when I travel in Mexico, but since this hotel does market itself to international travelers, it could be a problem for some.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alm711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2010

The hotel itself is fine and the location can't be beaten, but man, do these guys need to up their game.

We stayed for 2 nights and basically the place was a ghost town while we were there.

Here is a list of the things that went wrong during our stay:

- No hot water on arrival or the second morning. Even after we asked for someone to look at it, nothing could be done. So, you guessed it; 2 cold showers.
- Extremely limited food and drinks choice. Most of what was listed on menu was unavailable.
- Free internet; great. Except wireless reception is so limited you'll be hard pressed to get online for longer than a few seconds at a time.
- No attendants at Breakfast either day; had to go and wake up the receptionist to get any service, and when it came, took over one hour to be served with the most basic meal.
- Checkout took almost one hour; receptionist unable to work out how to use either Amex or Visa terminals. Refused to do a manual zip-zap transaction. Only decided to resolve situation when we threatened to walk out after 45 minutes without paying.

You can check my other reviews and see that I'm normally very generous with my praise. I hate to give a bad review, but this seriously was one of the worst experiences we've had anywhere...and we travel a lot...

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OutdoorFreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arturovillasenor, Gerente at Villas Arqueologicas Teotihuacan, responded to this review, September 24, 2010
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for giving us your feed back of your experience in our property. We are sorry that you could not enjoy your entire stay in our Hotel, our mision is going to take the proper measurements to avoid this to happen again. We hope to have the opportunity of being your host in the near future. It’s important to mention that we already have actions on the specific areas that you told us about, so this won’t happen again in the future.

The technical problems with the hot water, the service at the restaurant and all the time it took to do your check out; because a busy line with bank, has been taking care so I truly hope you will give us another chance to make you feel at home on your next visit to Mexico.

We wish to have the opportunity of hosting you again.

Sincerely

Arturo Villaseñor R.
General Manager
Hotel Villas Arqueologicas Teotihuacan
avillasenor@villasmex.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Harwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2010

This is a fantastic little oasis where from the end of the road the Pyramid of the Sun can be seen. It has a small clean outdoor pool, a lovely little outdoor seating area and inside the rooms are like small cool caves with little niches where the beds are. All in all we had a fab stay - Don't hesitate, book it !!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arturovillasenor, Gerente at Villas Arqueologicas Teotihuacan, responded to this review, September 9, 2010
Google Translation
I would like to thank again each of you who have contributed to this channel of communication for the valuable and appropriate feedback.

Muchas Gracias !!!!!

Arturo Villaseñor Ramirez
Gerente General
Hotel Villas Arqueológicas Teotihuacan
avillasenor@villasmex.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2010

Nestled among huge palms filled with hundreds of singing birds and an aura of serenity, within walking distance to the ruins, the Villas Arqueologicas is the epitome of paradise.
Quiet, peaceful and a staff eager to make your visit a meaningful experience, this hotel is a must to have as your base to explore Teotihuacan. This was our second visit and will not be our last. The person making your trip memorable is Victoria, who manages the hotel and goes that extra mile to make sure you have a happy visit. The restaurant and staff are excellent, as well, with a variety of choices plus tempting Mexican dishes. You will love coming to this oasis -

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andalusia78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arturovillasenor, Gerente at Villas Arqueologicas Teotihuacan, responded to this review, July 11, 2010
Google Translation
Thank you for your opinion.

I will share your valuable comments with Victoria and the service staff.

Kind regards,

Arturo Villaseñor Ramirez
General Manager
Hotel Villas Arqueologicas Teotihuacan
avillasenor@villasmex.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, NC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2010

As the other reviewers have noted, this hotel has a great location. We found the staff to be very nice and the bartender Hector was fun and poured the drinks with a heavy hand. The food in the restaurant was delicious with some surprises, like the green juice "el verde" that was juice of spinach, celery and cactus. Our room was quaint with some nice charm. We were there during a festival, right before the equinox and Benito Juarez's B-day, so the surrounding areas were madness, couldn't be helped. My favorite part of my stay was a massage in the Hot House out back. Loved it. For mexico, it was fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MsApropo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arturovillasenor, General Manager at Villas Arqueologicas Teotihuacan, responded to this review, March 30, 2010
Google Translation
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your time in sharing with us your experiences during your stay at Villas Arqueologicas Teotihuacan.

I definitly will share your valuable comments with our staff.

Thank you again for your time.

Best regards,

Arturo Villaseñor Ramirez
General Manager
Hotel Villas Arqueologicas Teotihuacan
avillasenor@villasmex.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan Teotihuacan hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Quinto Sol
Hotel Quinto Sol
#3 of 7 in San Juan Teotihuacan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
2.5 mi away
Posada Colibri - Hotel & Spa Temazcal
Posada Colibri - Hotel & Spa Tem...
#2 of 7 in San Juan Teotihuacan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Teotihuacan
Hotel Teotihuacan
#4 of 7 in San Juan Teotihuacan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel y Restaurante Teoticamp
Hotel y Restaurante Teoticamp
#5 of 7 in San Juan Teotihuacan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.6 mi away
Posada Jade Teotihuacan
Posada Jade Teotihuacan
#1 of 13 in San Juan Teotihuacan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Ollin Teotl
Hotel Ollin Teotl
#6 of 13 in San Juan Teotihuacan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Arqueologicas Teotihuacan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Arqueologicas Teotihuacan

Property: Villas Arqueologicas Teotihuacan
Address: Periferico Sur s/n Zona Arqueologica, San Juan Teotihuacan 55800, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Estado de Mexico > San Juan Teotihuacan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in San Juan Teotihuacan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas Arqueologicas Teotihuacan 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas Arqueologicas Teotihuacan stands at the end of the Calzada de los Muertos (Avenue of the Dead), an ancient road at the center of Teotihuacan's archaeological site, one of the most important and beautiful in the world. Over the same roadway stands the magnificent Piramide del Sol (Pyramid of the Sun), arguably Mexico's most recognized landmark. Teotihuacan is located 26 miles northeast of Mexico City along the Mexico-Piramides highway, an excellent toll road built specifically to provide direct access to Teotihuacan from the city. The typical drive time is approximately one hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Villas Arqueologicas Teotihuacan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Arqueologicas Teotihuacan Hotel San Juan Teotihuacan
Hotel Arqueologicas Teotihuacan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing