We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Visit during the week” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zona Arqueologica Teotihuacan

Zona Arqueologica Teotihuacan
Book In Advance
More Info
$113.00*
and up
Teotihuacan Light and Sound Show with Dinner and Optional Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Pyramid of the Sun and the Pyramid of the Moon dominate the ruins of what was once the sixth largest city in the world.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
950 reviews
362 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 619 helpful votes
“Visit during the week”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

We went early and avoided the crowds. One of the great places to visit in the world.

There are way too many vendors inside the site. This is against the rules, but this is Mexico and someone is getting bribed and taking a piece of that souvenir! It takes dignity from the site and it takes business from the vendors outside paying rent and following the rules.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Starviagera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,739 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,918
    719
    91
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Magnificent....Rich of History!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

It was great to visit the National Museum of Anthropology first then visit the Teotihuacan pyramids to better understand the pyramid of the sun and the pyramid of the moon. Nevertheless one can read about these before visiting.
Approaching the pyramids gave me goosebumps.. It is a massive site. Very different from the Egypt Pyramids. These pyramids are solid, one cannot enter from underneath like the Egypt pyramids. The climb seemed overwhelming at first but it is at an angle and side ropes are placed in the middle of the stairs. Breathtaking view when reaching the top. A better understanding of the alignment of the temples around both pyramids.
We booked our tour with Viator tours, picked us at on time at our hotel and our guide Alejandro Morales was very clear, knowledgeable and welcome our never ending questions about the pyramids. it costs US$71.98 for 2, including entrance fee of 57 pesos =US$ 5.00 . Booking with a guide is worth every dime. Teotihuacan is approximately one hour north of Mexico City.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Topaz2911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freshwater, Australia
Level Contributor
554 reviews
191 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
“No other word but extraordinary!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

Having visited Machu Picchu and the many amazing Egyptian sites, we assumed this would be somewhat less - however, we were simply blown away by the size, accessibility and presentation of this site. Not just the two enormous temples (as they don't refer to them as pyramids) but the whole site is beautifully presented and requires a good deal of time to truly appreciate. The fact that you can climb to the top of them and not simply stand back in awe is sensational. Don't try to do this without a guide as you will likely miss the true meaning of the site.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jrandsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

We wondered how this excursion would turn out, but in the end it was a fantastic experience - make the effort and go! The pyramids are breathtaking, and the climb to the tops (there are 2 pyramids) is well worth it. Our tour group organised for us to have lunch at one of the restaurants nearby - I think these little restaurants probably exist to cater to busloads of tourists like us - but the food was surprisingly good, the beans and guacamole were among the best we had. An ice cold beer after climbing pyramids is a well deserved treat.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank WannaBeEverywhereNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
122 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“You may want to be in shape for this breathtaking visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

Sure you can just walk around and look up at the pyramids, but climbing up them makes a huge difference! There are some tours that go up to Gate 2 where the main temples are easily accessed, but if you can just take the public bus to get there and explore on your own time for as long as you want.

The ruins are the main attraction, but there is a garden and a museum on site. There are lots of little shops and no shortage of vendors inside the ruins. (To make them seem less annoying just think of it being the same way back when this was a mecca for early civilizations.)

I'm not going to lie, I was out of breath and tired by the time I got to the top! I walk everyday, but I do not climb big, steep steps. Take your time, most people are just as out of breath as you are.

Sundays are free to Mexican Nationals, so it can be more crowded. Crowds are also bigger in the mornings. I was there in November and I was still sweating pretty good. If there is sun, it is warm. If you are fair skinned use sunscreen and a hat.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Chelsea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zona Arqueologica Teotihuacan also viewed

San Juan Teotihuacan, Estado de Mexico
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Zona Arqueologica Teotihuacan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing