We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice to eat at Teotihuacan”

La Gruta Restaurant
Reserve a table
2
Sat, 3/2
8:00 PM
Price range: $28 - $34
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Underground restaurant located in a natural cave, since 1906. Behind the pyramid of the sun in Teotihuacán. We want to take our guest on a unique and entertaining cultural experience. Reliving the gastronomy, legends and traditions of teotihuacán"s culture. Our goal is to take you on a journey trough the flavors of Mexico, it's ingredients, recipes and culinary techniques.
Reviewed July 13, 2016 via mobile

If you go to Teotihuacan ask where is located this magnificent restaurant that serves traditional Mexican food inside of a cave !! The ambience , music and service of the staff is perfect after you spend few hours walking around the area

Date of visit: July 2016
2  Thank maracay2504
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,539)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

330 - 334 of 1,539 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2016

My wife and I have eaten here before, we ate dinner here on June 6 & 7, 2016, and we'll eat here again. Fabulous.

As you may know, this restaurant opened in 1906. And while it is popular with the tourists who visit the nearby archaeological zone of Teotihuacán, it is not a tourist trap. The food and drinks are delicious. The service is uneven. On June 6, our server was César, and he was fabulous. On June 7, our server was so-so, and I even forgot his name. The difference? On June 6, we visited during an off-hour, and the restaurant had few guests. On June 7, we went during the afternoon, when the tour buses from Mexico City arrive, and the server was distracted by a large tour group. The service should be the same at all times. but it isn't.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alberto B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 4, 2016 via mobile

Never imagined l would be dining in a cave. This place issue finitely unique in its setting. Just a few minutes walk from the Teotihuacan pyramids, this place is a must see and eat. The food was delicious, server was great and the price was really good. You have to see it to believe it so I strongly urge you to pay a visit

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 30, 2016

There is no place on or in the earth as this restaurant. The food choices are exotic as is the location. Service could be better but they try to please.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 14, 2016

Eat in a cave? And the food's good? Yep, it is. You gotta go. I tried the mole and it was excellent. A trip to the pyramids in Teotihuacan is not complete without La Gruta.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dustin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travelers who viewed La Gruta Restaurant also viewed

San Juan Teotihuacan, Estado de Mexico
San Juan Teotihuacan, Estado de Mexico
 
San Juan Teotihuacan, Estado de Mexico
San Juan Teotihuacan, Estado de Mexico
 

Been to La Gruta Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.