We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming!”
Review of Posada Mandala

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Patzcuaro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Posada Mandala
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Patzcuaro
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charming!”
Reviewed February 6, 2012

I agree with pretty much what everyone else has written. Enrique is a warm and friendly host. My room was spacious and clean with a shared bathroom. Plenty of hot water for bathing and cold water for drinking. The nicest surprise was the linens - good cotton sheets and plush towels! Great location, an easy walk to the town's main plazas. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alsacesf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    32
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
46
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, VA
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

I am the kind of person who checks out a lot of places to stay before I pick one. Posada Mandala was a very good pick. It is small and charming. I stayed in Rm. 5 on the 2nd level for 4 nights. I am in my mid-50s w/a bad knee and I had a bit of a hard time navigating that narrow spiral staircase to the upper level. But when Enrique asked me if I wanted to change rooms, I decided not to do so, because I just didn't want to give up great the view from the rm.

I had a sweet cat that came to visit me each evening, she came over the rooftop next door and right into my open window. This place really grew on me. I loved using the little but very functional kitchen, and I made a few meals there. The place is quiet and safe, right across the st. from the st. where Once (11) Patios is. Perfect location. Everywhere you will want to go is in walking distance. Price is very good for the ambience and it is kept spotlessly clean. The bed was comfortable, not too hard or soft.

Enrique is a very sweet man. We talked in half English and half Spanish. He keeps tabs on who is coming and going, he can see that from his room, and this helped me feel safe as a woman traveling alone. But he is not intrusive at all. I love this place and want to go back and stay a lot longer. One of my favorite places in Mexico and I have been traveling in MX for over 30 yrs.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice. Small rm. on 1st floor is least expensive and has a bathrm. a few steps outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eileend10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2011

I stayed at the Posada Mandela for two nights and would have stayed longer if time permitted. The location was perfect just one minute from the main plaza, but set back so that you are not disturbed by too much hustle and bustle.
I felt that the rooms corresponded well to the different price ranges. The views from the top are stunning, but even the cheapest room 200-250 pesos is worth the money. For those wanting to keep costs down, there is a fully equipped kitchen area for you to use.
Posada Mandela felt like a home from home. There is a lovely courtyard filled with plants which is perfect to enjoy your morning coffee or read a book. I enjoyed chatting with the other international guests and the host Enrique was charming. If you are travelling alone or with others, I would strongly recommend Mandela.

Room Tip: Try to get a top room for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpelier, Vermont
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

A terrific place to stay in Patzcuaro, very close to the Plaza Grande so you can pop into your room at any time for rest and renewal. I was lucky to get Room #5 with a fabulous view and nice light. I could see El Estribo from my window and went up there one morning - a lovely walk. And then my view meant even more for having been in it. Enrique was kind and helpful and very available. The Posada is very clean and welcoming and afternoons on the balcony in the late golden light were tranquil and restorative. Good value and lots of character.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OliviaEleven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PVR
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Patzcuaro is a wonderful place where you can relax and enjoy the landscape, culture, people, flavors, etc and if you want a nice place and feel like home, come to Posada Mandala, you will remember the experience.

Nice staff, great service!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarceMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexico city
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2011

After many years of travelling to patzcuaro for all the feast days this town has ( not just the famous day of the dead) i have found that posada mandala is the best one. It is near the two main plazas without the traffic and noise, the owner, Enrique is one of the nicest people you would ever want to meet, and the house is fantastic. You can feel you are really living in a " magic town" and not just another modern hotel. The terrace on the sécond floor has a beautiful, relaxing view, perfect for snacks and drinks in the afternoon. It does not have a restaurant but with so many great restaurants blocks away, it's not necessary. Plus, the kitchen is fully equipped and available if you want to cook. I highly recommend this hotel .

Room Tip: Definitely the top floor with the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alice2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Very nice hostel for a good and correct price. Feels like home with a nice courtyard and very nice owner...
We hope to come back soon!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patzcuaro hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Posada De Don Vasco
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pueblo Magico
Hotel Pueblo Magico
#2 of 31 in Patzcuaro
128 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mision Patzcuaro Centro Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mansion Iturbe
Hotel Mansion Iturbe
#3 of 31 in Patzcuaro
129 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Meson de San Antonio
Hotel Meson de San Antonio
#9 of 31 in Patzcuaro
76 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mision Patzcuaro
Mision Patzcuaro
#18 of 31 in Patzcuaro
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Mandala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Mandala

Property: Posada Mandala
Address: Calle Lerin No. 14, Patzcuaro 61600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Michoacan > Patzcuaro
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Patzcuaro
#3 Romantic Hotel in Patzcuaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience traditional Mexican colonial architecture while relaxing in the peace and quiet of this charming house and the friendly atmosphere created by your hosts. Located in the heart of the historic colonial city, Posada Mandala features 6 rooms and three on the ground floor that open onto an inner courtyard and three on the upper floor with a picturesque view of Patzcuaro's rooftops from their terrace. Welcome to La Posada Mandala. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Posada Mandala Patzcuaro
Posada Mandala Hotel Patzcuaro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing