We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eco-hotel Ixhi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Eco-hotel Ixhi
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Patzcuaro
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
1 review
“Wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2008

I stayed here with my family in one of the suites, which was very comfortable and well furnished. The staff are delightful; very helpful and accommodating. The views from this hotel perched up on a hill are just beautiful and well worth the short distance out of town.We especially enjoyed a tour led by Michelle into the villages around the lake where we could see the local craftsmen and women at work.Another highlight was the language evening on Wednesdays , when locals and visitors meet to improve their English or Spanish as well as make new friends over a cup of tea. We will definitely be back!

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank tphill05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    22
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
34
69
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2008

Opened in 2007, this hotel stands out from the rest with its nicely appointed rooms and suites on beautiful grounds and its location. Perched on a hill, the Eco-Hotel offers a stunning and peaceful view of Lake Patzcuaro and the surrounding mountains. Its effect is instant relaxation.

The staff is friendly and very helpful and makes you feel at home. Your accommodation comes with a welcome booklet with detailed info about the hotel, the town, the lake and surrounding areas as well as ample suggestions for places to eat. If that is not enough, just ask Michelle, the manager, she will be delighted to give you extra advice and tips.

The hotel is not far from the centre of Patzcuaro. Driving will take you five minutes. Walking would take you 15 to 20 minutes or, for a few pesos, you can take a taxi from the taxi stand at the bottom of the hill. Actually, if you are going from one hotel to another touring the colonial cities of Mexico, you will find that staying at this hotel is a breath of fresh air!

  • Liked — View and quiet setting
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank danhec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rubelstilskin
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2008

This is an amazing place to stay if you are looking for incredible views, great service, friendly people, and the opportunity to exp[lore one of Mexico's nicest towns and regions. This hotel is a great base from which to explore Indian villages specializing in different crafts to volcanoes, a gorgeous Mexican town, picturesque lakes, a lot of outdoor activities, etc. etc.
I was here for a week and loved every minute of it.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rubelstilskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erongaricuaro
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2008

This was the most comfortable room my parents and I stayed in while we traveled around the Lake Patzcuaro area. Right outside our room was an amazing view of the lake.

Great breakfast and friendly staff!

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
Thank verymarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneaolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2008

The grounds, rooms and view are spectacular! One thing I especially liked is the decor - ANYTHING but cookie cutter!! The staff is very friendly and accomodating. Rooms are supplied with luxury, organic spa products, a very nice touch. I would definitely recommend this hotel and hope you enjoy as much as we did!!

  • Liked — uniqueness of facility
  • Disliked — difficult to find
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank romeoMinneaolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2008

We have visited Mexico more than 25 times; mostly on West Coast (Puerto Vallarta y environs) & Cancun area. This geography by far surpasses all other in Mexico. We had planned
to visit the charming town of Patzcuaro, & decided to stay at Eco-Hotel. Our communications w/Michelle Roos (manager) prior to
and during our stay were flawless & exemplary. The property is
brand new (opened Fall 2007) & is impeccable in every way. A
local architect designed & built the facilities which rival some of
the most beautiful and luxurious in Italy & Europe, where we also
travel extensively. Eco-Hotel is situated on top of a small mountain with breathtaking & stunning views of Lake Patzcuaro and mountains for 50 miles around. Michelle and her staff are welcoming, professional, courteous, enjoyable, and good sense
of humor. We have been [are ] exceedingly pleased beyond our
expectations with this delightful, beautiful, and friendly lodgings.
Not to be missed !!!

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Francine12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2008

Patzcuaro is a magical place and this is the most magical spot from which to experience it. Just a short walk from downtown, the hotel is perched on the edge of a hill (the estribo grande) from which you can see fisherman on Lake Patzcuaro and the island of Janitizio sparkling in the night. Outside, campesinos drive their cows and goats up the street. Inside you will want for nothing. With it's beautiful grounds, deluxe facilities and a staff that will pamper you, you will think you died and went to heaven.

  • Liked — the staff; the location--a $2.50 taxi ride from anywhere in town
  • Disliked — taxi drivers can't find it --you'll need to learn the directions in Spanish
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Howiehawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patzcuaro hotels
0.1 mi away
Porton Del Cielo
Porton Del Cielo
#12 of 33 in Patzcuaro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Mansion Iturbe
Hotel Mansion Iturbe
#3 of 33 in Patzcuaro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Pueblo Magico
Hotel Pueblo Magico
#2 of 33 in Patzcuaro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Posada De Don Vasco
0.9 mi away
Hotel Mansion de Los Suenos
Hotel Mansion de Los Suenos
#19 of 33 in Patzcuaro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Posada de la Basilica
Hotel Posada de la Basilica
#33 of 33 in Patzcuaro
3.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eco-hotel Ixhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eco-hotel Ixhi

Property: Eco-hotel Ixhi
Address: Subida al estribo grande no. 48, Patzcuaro 61607, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Michoacan > Patzcuaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Patzcuaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eco-hotel Ixhi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Patzcuaro's Eco-Hotel is an environmentally friendly luxury hotel overlooking the famous Lake Patzcuaro. As the only hotel perched along the road up to El Estribo, one the highest points in the area, we offer great views of the entire region by day, and amazing star gazing by night. Tranquil and serene, you'll feel on top of the world, while staying just a 10 minute drive or a 20 minute walk to the Plaza Grande. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Eco-hotel Ixhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eco Hotel Patzcuaro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing