We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Restaurant!”
Review of Gran Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gran Hotel
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Patzcuaro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2011

Being well-located in town and having parking right in front of the hotel gave thumbs up for its location.

Our room had window facing outside while our friends' rooms were facing inside corridor. So if you need a lot of privacy, the inside rooms may not be for you.

The rooms were basic but clean. Exactly what we were looking for.

We were tired by the end of the day, so we decided to eat in the hotel restaurant. I was skeptical at first but glad we did at the end because the food was quite tasty. The menu had a large selection as well.

Remember at least to visit la Casa de los Once Patios. Beautiful structure, murals and good artisan stores that you could shop for souvenirs.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Emeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 48 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2010

We rented two rooms each with two beds for a couple of nights. The rooms were great, they each had a balcony facing the small plaza. The rooms size was great. I couldn't believe how clean the rooms were! They were truly impeccable. Between the rooms was a small living room area where we'd hang out, this also had an accessible balcony.

The hotel is located just walking distance to the plazas, churches, mini markets and mercado where there are many places to stop and eat. We ordered room service several times and this was the best I've ever seen. The service was very quick, the presentation was great, the food portions were just right and delicious.

I'd stay here again without a doubt. It's centrally located in the heart of Patzcuaro. Be sure to do the Trolley tour, the boat trip to Janitzio (you will need a taxi to take you to embarcadero for this) and then at night, the plaza in front of the hotel comes alive with ambience.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mendez99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2009

Yeah, the rooms are small and there is no elevator.... But, the place is immaculate and the staff is extremely attentive. The restaurant has a dozen tables on the covered sidewalk outside which makes you feel a part of any activities in Gertrudis Bocanegra square which is right across the street.

Parking is reserved right in front of the hotel and is rarely a problem, even on Day of the Dead weekend. Would not hesitate to go there again. Hope you will too!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Noodlebrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2009

Gran Hotel is located on one of the main squares in Patzcuaro, but it's not an all-night party kind of town so the noise is not a big problem. There are rooms of various sizes - as a single mine was on the small side room, but pretty and very comfortable; they even provided a filter coffee machine and hairdryer which you don't usually find at this price. Same day laundry service at bargain rates. Front desk staff were always helpful and friendly even though the hotel was packed and they were kept busy. The restaurant has tables under a portico right on the square - a great place for breakfast. There is a nice terrace on the top floor as well as comforatble inside seating areas on each landing (useful when it's pouring with rain outside!)

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LonewolfNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2007

We stayed here for one night after rolling into Patzcuaro late in the evening via bus from Zihuatanejo. While the Gran Hotel looks very nice and has a marvelous lobby, the room was barely big enough to turn around in and had no windows . . . well, except for windows that faced the hallway in both the room AND the bathroom. This made it a little weird and quite loud.

A few nights later (after staying at yet another hotel on the square) we moved to the Casa Encantana and were blown away by how much more you could get for $40 a night . . .

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ElTarasco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2007

~$70/night US for 3 people- 2 beds including daily breakfast
hot water all the time
polite front desk who helped us to hire a taxi
located on Plaza Chica-Gertrudis Bocanegra
made reservations by calling the number listed as a fax number on the website--actually the phone line
got locked out when we came back at 12:30 one night, but someone let us in when we banged on the doors loud enough

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank potato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patzcuaro hotels
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Posada De Don Vasco
1 mi away
Hotel Posada de la Basilica
Hotel Posada de la Basilica
#21 of 30 in Patzcuaro
44 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mision Patzcuaro Centro Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Mansion Iturbe
Hotel Mansion Iturbe
#2 of 30 in Patzcuaro
141 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel la Parroquia
Hotel la Parroquia
#17 of 30 in Patzcuaro
34 reviews
0.7 mi away
Los Escudos
Los Escudos
#20 of 30 in Patzcuaro
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel

Address: Plaza Gertrudis Boca Negra 6, Patzcuaro 61600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Michoacan > Patzcuaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Patzcuaro
Price Range: $31 - $36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gran Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Patzcuaro, that means in Purapecha language: place where they raise and they lower the Gods, is a constructed colonial city in century XVII. Considered by the Mexican government one of the 23 Magical Towns of the country. It has the virtue to be near two beautiful lakes (Patzcuaro and Zirahuan) and to count on a great variety of indigenous localities with a great artisan tradition, which combines indigenous techniques and design, Spanish and even Chinese. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gran Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing